Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

My son is on this medication for schizophrenia. My son has been on this shot for about 9 months now and it has helped his symptoms considerably; he is more communicative and is resting better on this medication than any other he has tried recently. He is also on lithium as well. He still talks to himself some and paces around the house at times but considering how poorly he was doing on some of t...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

This is the most obsurd medication maby in this whole entire earth. It lasts for 2 years from one shot and will make you a vegetable. I took one shot of this and it had me wanting to commit suicide all the time. My family thinks it has made me retarded and i am forced to live under the care of elders because of what its effects are every day. I have personnaly been messed up on one shot for 7 mont...

Shared reviews and ratings

Raul | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Invega sustena is easy to take once monthly. I would recommend a stronger dose than 117mg for someone looking to reduce auditory hallucinations.appetite increase is tolerable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/27/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Miserable from several side effects often. Mentally blank or poverty in thoughts. No emotions. Restless. Weight gain. Dead sex drive. Poor memory, focus, concentration, and learning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Britt | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/19/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed with Schizophrenia in 2016. Have been prescribed Invega for approximately 3-4 months. It has helped with my symptoms. I've gained a lot of weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/27/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused me to gain weight, affected prolactin levels in the chest area. Haven't been able to lose weight at 34 due to severe injuries. Wouldn't recommend this medicine to anyone. At first it worked like a miracle drug then suddenly stopped working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/12/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on the medication for over a year and felt like I had been given a miracle. Then one day it stopped working. Tried other medications that did not work. I am currently on clozapine which has stopped some of the symptoms but not as good as invega. Does it happen often that invega stops working?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jbonk | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a psychiatrist named Joshua Simon put me on Invega Sustenna injections while I was a patient at Pima Pain clinic in Tucson, AZ. I was put on these injections for a cerebral vascular accident I was in when I was 14. I am 27 now and 25 at the time of the heart attack. At the same time of these injections I was prescribe lisdexamphetamine and oxycodone. I was also receiving steroid spinal injections in my spine. I do know that Invega is engineered to help from bone structure. The Invega gave a heart attack and I was left with no use of my genitalia anymore. Marana Health Center had nothing to say about the situation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TwistedT | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has made me hate life... I feel hopeless no energy or motivation I’ve been bed ridden for alomost 5 months. Only had the first two shots. Please don’t accept this shot you will turn into a lifeless zombie with not goals/motivation. I pray for a full recovery ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nate | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/18/2019
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lay in bed for 20 hours a day and care about nothing. I don't even want to get up and cook or eat. I do though, and have gained 50 pounds. This drug has been a nightmare for me and I'm stopping it next month. I just hope I can get my life back afterwards. Depression has been a big issue and I feel dead. I don't see how anyone else can tolerate being on this medication. In the beginning it was not bad, but the side effects just kept on getting worse and worse. Today I'm a shell of my former self. Id rather have hallucinations and delusions than live like a zombie. If I was forced to take this medication then I'd rather be dead. I will quit cold turkey next month and I expect a wild ride. Maybe some day ill experience happiness again. Until then, I'm absolutely devastated and miserable.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spawn | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2019
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 40 yrs old, I always used illegal drugs most of my life to self medicate. I have been thru a lot including prison a few times and was always scared of doctors and medications. I was on Gordon and zyprexa and over the last year and a half all my medically treated fears came true. Apolypse hallucinations, paranoia, damage to my home and property, and this last episode I was committed to the pschward for 2 weeks and now that Iâ??ve been on this shot my life has made a 180. Iâ??m responding to other people reasonably, no hallucinations. Iâ??m not angry and paranoid anymore. Itâ??s only been a month, but it has made a huge difference in my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juno666 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2018
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good. So many negative reviews, I’m assuming these people probably haven’t lived with Schizophrenia and are probably misdiagnosed because I’d give my left arm to finally feel like a functional part of society again. It’s only been a week o The injection and after the initial pain of the injection sites subsided I felt and increase in hunger thirst restlessness and insomnia or lack there of. There is pain at the injection site a few days after the injection but after that pain subsides and get back to feeling normal within about five days Still fighting every day with delusions and regular schizophrenic things that tend to happen with schizophrenia but I am starting to realize that not all of them are actually real I’m starting to finally feel like the cloud is been lifted and I can finally differentiate between what is real and what is imagined.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juno666 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2018
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had first shot about 3 days ago. Shot didn’t hurt and was fine alll day. Day 2: arm really hurt and I only got 2 hours of sleep Day3: arm super hurt and am very sleepy, groggy and dozzy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2018
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained 50 pounds in 4 months of injeçtions at the age of 29. Slowed me down to sleep all the time and increased appetite. Do not take. Have never had a weight problem. Now fighting to lose and off drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SeAndonahue | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/19/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible. Nothing to say anymore, dumber, fatter, weaker, loss of emotion. Heart pain, hurts to stand on feet, back pain, constant runny nose, sneeze all the time..memory is so shot. Sometimes I lose balance, had some painful acne. Hospitalized because I went blind with white light whenever I stood. Almost got lost in the parking lot because I couldn't see anything. Also sometimes have trouble putting words together, and I have brain farts where I forget the numbers or facts even though it was a couple seconds ago. Can't learn new materials no matter how many times I go over it. All I want to do is sleep, work is such a chore and I do barley any hours. Now I forget my dreams minutes after having them. Floods your brain receptors and stops them from firing, so brain dead is a literal statement. Also I developed such anxiety, I always think the worst is going to happen. Never had it before the injection. Can't swim anymore my arm doesn't contract and retract on the left side. As well I got OCD like it's so annoying, I always count like 2,4,6,8,10...all day. The only time I don't is when I sleep and I can't help it. Parents and psychiatrist forced me to take this since day one I never wanted to take it. Violated for life! It has a long half life but that's just blood not fat any your brain is %60 fat so I feel the dumbness lasts forever. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay L | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2017
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is nice, kicks like a mule where I get the shot, am much surprised insurance covers it, but no stinger in the neck, the folk, were juicers, be careful, but they don't stick around, though

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boggledoggle | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/24/2017
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having been tormented for 16 years by drugs, I found out that there was something better. It is called the Walsh Protocol. Dr William Walsh made it, and there are some online doctors that can save you from the dark times that we live in using the walsh protocol. You just got to have some money for it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
irale | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/28/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tranquilcow | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/22/2016
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 234mg injections for a year now. I'am having a negative experience. Weight gain, drowsiness, no sperm production, and low mood. This medicine takes away motivation and slows me down. no one agrees with me but I would be healthier without taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rich74 | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: Schizophrenia With Mood Changes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a GREAT med for me. It has taken away my hallucinations, delusions, and paranoia. Only thing you need to be careful about is gaining a little weight---other than that, I have not experienced any side-effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not_Psychotic | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/20/2016
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drugcompnysdie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/24/2015
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is a living hell.If you are on for some time expect permanent severe cognitive problems,serious health disorders,20yrs average of your life.Funny how leading shrinks are now saying theres no such thing as schizophrenia only pyhcosis that clears itself.No scientific proof these drugs work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More