Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

89 People found this comment helpful

My son has been diagnosed ADD for since age 6 and is now 8. At first we tried working 1/1 with school psychologist and made many action plans, rewarding him when he focused most of day, also eating good diet and vitamins fish oil and ADDED Attention. But throughout 3 years of school, it was obvious he needed more. My husband and I were so scared of starting him on meds, especially stimulants, s...

Most voted negative review

27 People found this comment helpful

Bad bad bad. I see a lawsuit. No reputable doctor should have the gall to say a child needs this.

Shared reviews and ratings

France41 | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
8/24/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 12 year old son has been on adderall for many years, and it helps greatly with his focus at school, but did not address his social/emotional challenges that are part of his ADHD, and in fact seemed to make his moodiness worse, especially at the end of the day. The MD had us try this to help with his emotional regulation and the adderall caused mood swings. It has been very effective with his emotional regulation, arguing, and social skills. He agues much less, is much more flexible if plans change, can do homework without crying, and seems to be off to a better start this year socially. Only side effect he has had is wet the bed 2 times which is completely out of character, but just getting him in habit of going to the bathroom before bed like he use to when he was younger. I do think it makes him sleep deeper. He says he can tell the med is making him more "chill". He use to hate taking the adderall and now he doesn't complaint about that either because I think it is lessening the side effects of that. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josh | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/20/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My parents put me on this drug when I was 8 years old. I take 4mg. I am now 20 years old. I always accepted it for what it is. I was on a high dose of adderall till about 15 years old, so it was fairly balanced the stimulant and non stimulant (intuniv which made me sleepy) and the adderall that made me awake. It was like doing cocain in the morning then taking a xanax before going to bed. Once I went off adderall I gained some weight iv always been insecure so I never let myself gain too much and I stopped myself from eating by taking the adderall. Before I was 8 I remember being a very skinny kid and when I started the meds from what I remember I gained weight I do believe this drug does something bad to the body to cause weight gain, like slows metabolic rates or something. Overall the drug is meant to lower the bodies blood pressure, it's what its most potent for. I never felt like it never actually helped me focus it always felt placebo. But I will never know that because I have never not taken it for 12 years. I take it everyday, if I miss a single day I get awful withdraws. Now I am in college living in a dorm room and I am going to try and get myself off of this medication, slowly. I'm excited to see how life will be off the drug and I am also excited to see how it affects my body. The drug made my teen years suck also because It gave me jelly legs and made me weak. Never put anyone on this drug its useless, unless you take aderall but it just ends up causing more problems in the long run. I could talk about this drug forever. If you have any questions about how it affected me or changed my life email me [email protected] In 45 days I will be off of it and I will have answers to what my life is going to be like I'm very excited.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blu | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A huge part of my ADHD experience is the intensity and speed of my emotions, and Intuniv has really helped to give me a couple of seconds to think before massive waves of emotion crash into me. It hasn't helped my focus in any noticeable way, but that's what the Concerta is for, so whatever. It doesn't make me feel numb or anything, but now I have a small amount of emotional armor that hadn't existed before, despite all of my attempts to will it into existence. I take it at night and find that it helps nudge me towards sleep, so that's a bonus. It does seem to amplify evening hunger. The Concerta hands the brain keys to the Inuniv and suddenly I want to eat all of the things. Especially the salty things. Mmm pickles. Anyone who expects this to be their one and only ADHD medication is likely to be sorely disappointed, but it can be really helpful with the emotional regulation issues that can be a major concern for ADHDers. If you're a parent considering putting your kid on this, please give reviews from patients a higher weight than those from caregivers. The subjective experience of using a mediation yourself is so much deeper than outward signs of improved focus and general compliance. ADHD affects inner life in endless and frustrating ways, and medication should improve the quality of life for the patient, not just make them more tractable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Surprise | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has made me be able to focus on daily thinking. Though it does make me sick to my stomach. 9/10 will continue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rng | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/5/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reading these reviews, it's clear to me that Intuniv is not for everyone. For my 18 year old son with ADHD and Oppositional Defiant Disorder, Intuniv has been helpful. It's not a miracle. Intuniv simply gives him a slightly longer fuse, and allows him to react to everyday situations (that used to put him over the edge) with a modicum of thought and reason. His overall mood is brighter and calmer. He is still forgetful, frustrated by losing things, unaware of time, etc., but showing greater self-awareness He gets along better with peers and teachers in the moment, although he still feels the burn of any perceived criticism. His delayed reactivity is a huge step forward, and hopefully over time will translate to an openness to coaching and systems that might improve his executive function, and thus his self esteem. For my son and our family, ADHD is a persistent presence and while medication is no silver bullet - this one has been extremely helpful in opening up more doors. Patience is by far the most important tool in our kit. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drew | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug to take in addition to Lamictal 50mg and Vyvanse 50mg. I started taking this drug a few days before visiting my parents for Thanksgiving. I was overtaken by spells of obsessive thinking and was so tormented by vivid memories of childhood that I was unable to sleep. After I came off the drug, I got better within a few days. Not worth it for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zcrew | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/27/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG. I appalled reading the reports of children taking this drug, I took it as a 20 year old and I was unable to even get out of bed without blacking out. I am a fit person and couldn't even ride a bicycle a few miles without then sleeping for 18 hours straight. This drug also gave me chest pains and really drained me of my personality.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As soon as I took this medication, it made my heart rate slow down dramatically, to the point that I was weak and dizzy. I could barely get from a chair to my bed, I practically fell from one to the other. I tried to keep taking it, but after the second dose, I was terrified my heart was going to stop. I called my doc and stopped taking it. I couldn't tell if it did anything for my ADHD because I was too busy feeling like I was dying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/18/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
11/4/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has been on this medication for years. She is now 9 years old. She has ADD and the 3 mg has helped her focus in school. She has no trouble sleeping and she takes this medicine in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/3/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My step-son just started Intuniv 1 mg. He takes Vyvance 50 mg in the morning, and now the Intuniv tablet in the evening. While we saw instant results, he cannot sleep!! Anyone have similar experiences? Any info would help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jul-77 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/9/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This side-effect drug is a life saver. I am 21 year's old- this medication is not just for young children- it has taken away the side-effects of my ADHD medication. The only side-effect I was aware of was auditory! When I took the 1st 1mg pill, my hearing was heightened and exhaustive (sounds dragged out) for an hour or so. When I increased to 2mg the same thing happened: a noticable difference in my hearing for just a short hour or so. My doctor prescribed this drug to me when the side-effects of Concerta did not leave me; I had anxiety that was clearly not situational but from the drop-off of Concerta in the middle of the day as it is not a steady released drug but a ADHD medication that releases a dose twice. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hailey17 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
2/27/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 10 year old daughter has been on Intuniv for a few years they started her on 2mg now put her on 4 msg I am upset because she gained about 25lbs in just 3 mos her doctor just told me that the meds do this on high doses we r now looking for a new med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Awesome parent | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
2/24/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son was taking this with concerta. He was not himself, low energy, depressed, mood swings. He had feelings of worthlessness. He had anger issues at school. We weaned him off of the Concerta, Prozac and Intuniv. He now takes a small dose of generic Ritalin. He's doing great now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/17/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 6-year-old son started taking Intuniv 1mg about a month ago. He was already on Concerta 54mg, and was having a huge struggle in the mornings getting ready for school. He has continued to take the Concerta, but it was not helping in the mornings. He is now able to focus in the mornings, and is much better behaved. We are going to try to wean the Concerta now that he has stabilized on the Intuniv. He has had trouble with weight loss and insomnia since being on the Concerta, so I am hopeful we can wean it down for enough that the side effects aren't as severe. So far, we have been very happy with the Intuniv. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worried about my son | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/17/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is 10 yrs old and has been taking Intuniv 2 mg for a week. He has had stomach pains everyday and is sleepy all day long. He started taking it in the afternoon, but we switched to taking it in the morning today. He hasn't been on it long enough to tell if it is helping with his school work, but the way he is right now I know it isn't helping because he can't stay awake long enough to do anything. I had asked his doctor if he was on the lowest dosage there was because he is like a zombie most of the day and he looks pale and his eyes are glazed over and looks too medicated. His doctor didn't tell me that there is a 1 mg. I now know that from here. Thank you! It has changed him with his mood swings, arguing, and behavior. But he has no energy to do anything. This is not how I want him. I will be calling the doctor in the morning and telling her to change to 1 mg. I think he will be much better off. He was on Vyvanse before this and that was not good at all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worried mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/18/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my 9 year old son has started taking this medicine for about a week now n the last 4 days has started to wet the bed. i tryed to give it to him in the morning and still wets the bed. he is on one mg for 7 days. has anyone else had this problem with this medicine?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tucker | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/2/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad bad bad. I see a lawsuit. No reputable doctor should have the gall to say a child needs this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missmisty | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/4/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son's behavior has changed, he no longer has any energy, he has anger control issues, depression and has had self injury thoughts. My son is 7 years old. I do not recommend this medication. My normally happy, energetic child has become a very unhappy, angry, child. I am hoping the effects of this drug are not permanent, as I am in the process of getting him off this med. Looking for a natural way to help my son.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dkop2206 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/6/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 8yr old has been on stimulants for his ADHD since he was 4 - they were awful for him - weight loss, slow growth, little sleep, anti-social. Our doctor moved him to Intuniv and while not perfect, I feel his is a more normal 8yr old. He eats, sleeps and plays with others - his outbursts are few and far between and he has grown an inch and a half this last month! So far love intuniv!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More