Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

I am 42 and have had psoriasis since I was 12 years old. Tried Enbrel , methotexterate , humira (which hurt so bad I thought I'd die ) every cream known to man.....2 months after 1st shot of Stelara 100% clear....been on it 2 years no side effects at all....truly can say it's been a miracle for me

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

My wife died from using Stelara on April 1st 2014. She developed Melanoma due directly to the use of Stelara. Run, run away from this drug. 30 months after beginning the use of Stelara she is gone.

Shared reviews and ratings

NoMore biologic | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2yrs on Stelara I developed bronchitis after each injection was in the ICU for 5 days. I have ps for over 50 years used Humira for 10 years then developed terrible headaches after stopping use of Humira took 8 weeks to resolve the headaches. Changed to Stelara skin improved but after a year I started to get bronchitis after each injection did not realize the side effects until I was hospitalized. I will not use another biological Period!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prince2411 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/24/2020
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried all treatments possible and nothing was working. Stelara wanted to make a difference I felt it but just didn't seem strong enough. I was sent to SDSU to be seen by 1 of the top doctor's for my condition he too knew I didn't have much of anything left to do. This was after around of trying it for 1yr he decided to test my levels and if low have another initial dosing IV infusion and inject 4wks instead of 8wks 4wks after initial dosing 1st time since2011 zero massive amounts of blood and 28 plus daily br visits to 2. Its time I've taken a road trip in 8yrs with no accidents. I know that it took me going thru several GI docs in my hometown to finally find my NP wanting to learn more from Dr S in finding me some type of relief and thank God for Dr Popek my surgeon out of network to get all these doors open. Within my first 5min of our1st visit she said stop you've suffered for far too long time to get you on a plane to 1of4 best of the best less then 24hrs she had my insurances approval to fly out my med approvals take longer. So stelara at the not too common dosage is what made the 4star do NOT do without a Dr.approval best of luck. Now it's on to trying to repair the aftermath I want to just be able to smile and take photos with my kids graduation yes I am down to 5 teeth and pieces it does effect from mouth to anus in severe cases the crapper keeper and the trapper keeper it's a pooper ð??¯ð??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
greggkm | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/7/2020
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

began treatment in spring of 2012, after a year my skin and my athritis was id say 90% inproved. however, a few months later they found i have tumors on both kidneys. not sure this drug is really worth the risk, epecially being an expensive drug. i would highly tell you to not take this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jane | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/22/2019
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't know I had Crohn's along with plaque psoriasis and arthritis. I am doing much better since Doctor gives me the shots every other month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gbtaylor | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
11/29/2018
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like some others have stated RUN!!! Our family watched our mother slip from the woman she once was to a woman who can only say a hand full of words. We watched as each time she was administered the drug her soeach was effected more and more and as she neared the end of the cycle her memory and soeach improved. Of course the doctors say it's not from the drug but we find it I treating since we took her off it she at least hasn't regressed like she was. Two years in this drug and a shell of a woman that lived and loved talking about life and now she can't put two words together. Very frustrated and disappointed and we try to discourage as any people as possible to stay away from this drug!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2018
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For severe Crohn's. Started Stelara as second choice when request for Entyvio was denied by insurance. Seven days after first infusion, noticed symptoms beginning to improve. Ten days after first infusion, ALL SYMPTOMS ARE GONE. Went from liquid bowel movements to formed, no blood, no puss, no urgency. I am very happy and shocked with results so far using Stelara. Thought I would have to wait longer to know whether or not it would work for me. Results are absolutely astonishing. I am reviewing this because I was unable to find information on the Internet from individuals about how long before I might see results after starting this medication. TEN DAYS! I am looking forward to being able to go to church this Sunday and a family event next weekend! I hope you will also find success using this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Billb | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/6/2017
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked, but developed non alcohol fatty liver and rash over 80% of body after one injection. I have tried multiple things like everyone with psoriasis. At first, this stuff cleared me up fast and basically 100%. The effectiveness was great. Then two years in, abdominal pain paired with a crazy rash resulted in CT scans and dermatology appts which resulted in nothing to do. But it was enough to stop Stelara. Humira did not work and reduced my immune system really bad to where I was hospitalized. Otezla barely worked and had psychological side effects. This was by far the best results and I may risk the side effects to continue as it worked that well. Just be careful as the effects are not 100% known but Psoriasis is really tough to live with that the quality of life it gives may be worth the trade off. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ray-ray | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2017
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Stelara has cleared my skin up almost completely (my scalp still bothers me though). The one thing I have found is that I am getting more depressed/anxious and I get random bouts of EXTREME fatigue that my regular MD cannot figure out the cause of. My dermatologist says it is not from the Stelara, of course, but I have to disagree. At my next appointment, I am going to request a different medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sparkplug23 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/29/2016
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Stelara 10 mths ago to treat 90% coverage of my body by psoriasis. Have received inital injection with 2nd injection 4 wks later. Since then, one injection every 3 mths. Within the last couple of months, I have experienced Adult Acne, mostly on the back of my neck with one or two appearing on my face from time to time. I did have acne as a teenager, but it has been long gone. I am a 40 yr old male. The dermatologist that is administering the injections has been pretty adamant about the acne not being a side effect of the Stelara. I'm not sure I agree. Luckily, I have had no other side effects to date and the Stelara has cleared a majority (80%) of my psoriasis not only on my skin but also my scalp & finger/toe nail beds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jcep | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/23/2016
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on enbrel for 10 years. In the last year of use, it wasn't working quite as well anymore. Doc switched me to stelara. I cant say it has improved the psoriasis. In fact, spots on my legs that disappeared with enbrel are returning with stelara. Three month spacing doesn't seem to work with this medicine. Disappointed. Going to ask doc for another biologic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luluplus2 | 35-44 | Female | Patient
2/22/2016
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 16 years battling severe psoriasis on my hands and feet, I was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis too. I started on 45mg for the first 3 shots then jumped up to the 90mg. It has changed my world. The psoriasis is almost completely gone, a few light dry spots on heels, and my arthritis is manageable, nothing like last year. I'm so greatful the nurse worked and worked to find a place that would bill it the right way through my insurance. Hyvee Specialty pharmacy out of Omaha finally got it covered for me and I don't pay but $10 every 3 months. That's cheaper than all those creams I used but never worked. So So greatful for Stelara, I never expected it to work this well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SB425 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/25/2015
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had psoriasis for 20 years. I had a bad experience with photo therapy (the dermatologist gave me 2nd degree burns)and since then I have not been able to get my psoriasis under control. I was on remicade at the time and it was working until the break out hit from the burn (I was also on Methotrexate). I have been on stelara for a few months and it started to clear after the loading doses but after the second shot following the loading ones it came back full force. I have experienced slight depression and fatigue. Not very happy with this treatment. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2015
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works better than Humira or Enbrel. Would be more convenient if you didn't have to go to the doctor for the injection. However, concerned about possible side effects. Considerable joint pain after use. Especially knees. Also constant nasal drainage/congestion. Wonder if anyone else has noticed these possible side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AlyssaD | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/17/2015
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been Stelara for a little over 2 years now, and I am so thankful to say I've been completely clear for those 2 years. It took about 2 weeks for the medication to take effect, but I haven't had any issues or side effects at all. I have been on absolutely everything and have had psoriasis since I was 9, so finally finding a medication that has worked, I'm going to hold on to this one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/29/2015
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent effectiveness with no known or apparent side effects for this user. Much more effective than Enbril or Humira. After 30+ years of multiple and various failed therapies, I believe Stelara has proven to work quite effectively for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lily Jones | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2014
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although it initially seemed to help the inflammation associated with my psoriatic arthritis, it wore off after two weeks for the first two injections. Also, I developed persistent nausea and colitis while on this, which by now I believe is a side effect. Since I am stuck on it for three months, there's nothing I can do but wait for it to wear off so I can try something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2014
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried Humira first, it worked on my skin psoriasis but not my psoriatic arthritis. Started Stelara. After my initial dose, I've had 3 more doses 12 weeks apart. After each injection my knees got steadily better for a month, plateaued at "pretty good", and then got steadily worse until a couple weeks after the next shot. I am worried that my knees are going to give out and I'll be in a wheelchair. Hoping for better results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/22/2014
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had severe guttate psoriasis since I was age 8. I've tried so many things from over the counter to various prescriptions including steroid injections, methotrexate, humira and now finally stelara. I've been taking stelara for over a year and a half with no problems. My skin cleared up within the first few weeks of beginning treatment and the injection has never been painful (like humira). I'm so happy I have finally found something that works for me! I hope many of you can find similar results as well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lost | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
4/14/2014
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife died from using Stelara on April 1st 2014. She developed Melanoma due directly to the use of Stelara. Run, run away from this drug. 30 months after beginning the use of Stelara she is gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richard | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/4/2014
Condition: Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wonderful drug for my psorasis. Completely cleared after 40 years. Only drawback is I am always tired, but the benefits far outweigh this problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More