Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

Experienced weak neck muscles for about 5 days after the injections. Felt like I needed a neck brace to hold my head up. I had a very stiff neck prior to the inj, the inj loosened the cervical joints up. Very pleased with the reduction in migraines. I have gone from 4/wk down 1/wk in 1 mointh.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I had tried many medications for migraines with no relief. Over the years I had gone from a couple migraines a month to one migraine every day. Botox injections were painful (after 20+ injections). There was numbness and soreness at the sites. Was told that this may or may not work. It is like any other thing out there...I feel like a guinea pig. I just really hope that someday I can get bac...

Shared reviews and ratings

Krissy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will have to agree with a lot of people on here. I had 2 treatments. This last one has been hell. The injections weren't that bad but the side effects have been horrible. Heart palpitations, nausea, dizziness,chills,pressure in head, bad burning headaches, sharp pains in head and muscle weakness. Got injections 09/27/22....just now feeling some kind of relief. I'm hoping in another month this stuff will fully wear off and I'll be more than happy to go back to my regular headaches....NEVER AGAIN!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rhea | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had migraine injections around four months ago no difference at all now I have severe anxiety and panic attacks my blood pressure keeps going really high then drops really low when I stand my heart rate has gone a lot higher the dizziness I experience now is awful ten times worst than it was before headaches are still awful everyday honestly think before you have this treatment it’s literally a toxin and I feel so much more I’ll since having it done!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abdulla | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've done the therapeutic botox for migraines, they inject it in the head, neck and shoulders. Within the 3rd week i noticed neck weakness and that weakness soon developed into pain and difficulty swallowing and breathing, face and tongue numbness, sore throat. Visited the emergency dept several times where they said they can't do much about it. If you have plans for botox, keep in mind if you get those symptoms, you will suffer until your body clears that toxin! 3 months minimum. I do not recommend it and will never make that mistake again at any cost. Do not be fooled by the doctors.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tven | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Face and tongue numb hours after still have no feeling and i also had and allergic reaction to this treatment. Still have a burning sensation on scalp and lungs, leg weakness fatigue. Pain in head feels worse than having a concussion. Dr was horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lifted | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2022
Condition: Eyelid Twitch
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thank goodness for Upneeq! I got Botox to my eyelids and forehead and I got some eyelid droop. Upneeq helped so much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Queen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have my first dose of Botox about a month ago my doctor said I did great like I was a pro sitting there while I got 31 shots to my face head and neck I'm not afraid of needles but I do have a problem with pills I was on so much medication for my migraines none of it was working all I was doing was wasting my money on pills that didn't help me at all when I have a migraine as you all well know life is hell I'm sitting in a dark room all day by yourself being nauseous having vertigo I can't even go to work so getting the migraine Botox medication I was hopeful that things would work for me cuz I try so many different medications so far so good the first pinch was in the middle of my forehead but like I said I have no problem with needles so I didn't bother me at all my doctor was great she educated me well on the procedure I had two nurses there with me as well everyone was great I go back in two more months to get my second dose of Botox I look forward to it I'm optimistic that things will get better for me and I want you guys to hang in there as well dealing with migraines on a regular basis like we do it's so hard and makes for us to have a horrible day and we don't want to do anything so all I can say is I'll put prayers out for everyone going through this chronic migraine that we deal with it and hope everything get better for everyoneRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Floridagal | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prior to this treatment, I was having up to 15 day long migraines. I was taking you name it and nothing worked and the side effects from the drugs were terrible. I am now on my second dose of botox and I can say it has given me my life back. I will say after the treatment for the first 5 days my neck was tight, but a discomfort I would gladly have for the relief I am getting. I still get migraines but the frequency, intensity and duration has dramatically decreased. If I do feel one coming on, I take medicine and it works vs before the medicine didn't work. I am so happy I was finally able to get approved for this treatment. I feel like a normal person again who can do activities, work, and socialize. Even if it may not work for everyone- based on my experience I'd say give it a shot! (pun intended)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sb8905 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am going for my 5th round of Botox this week. I usually struggle with side effects from the shots with flu like symptoms a couple days and a severe migraine for a full 7 days after. There is nothing I can to do relieve the migraine after and it is the most challenging part of the process for me. At 2 weeks after the shots the medicine kicks in for me, I can feel the relief of pain and even my energy picks up because I am not have as much daily pain. The Botox has changed my life and how I can live with chronic migraines. I am able to function through a migraine, like work or work out when all I could do was be in a dark room before the Botox. There are risks with these shots and it’s important to educate yourself. For me the risk and the pain of 1 week sever migraine is worth the benefits I get from the shots. I know people that have some 5 or so rounds and their migraines don’t return. I am hoping for the same. Good luck to everyone here and hang in there. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebatownsend | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got my first set of injections right before Christmas of 2021. A week after I kept getting sinus headaches and chalked it up to being a sinus infection. Went to the ENT got antibiotics and didn’t feel better after completely those. Went back to the ENT and he looked up my nose and down my throat, with no sign of infection, and no tumors. I have been dealing with severe and I mean SEVERE migraines and nerve pain in my forehead ever since I got the injections!! My neurologist didn’t even inject the Botox into the muscles above my eyes due to the chance of droopy eyes. I’ve also been dealing with horrible scalp sensitivity to the point I can’t move my hair, brush it, or even put it in a low ponytail. I’m now having to wait 3 months for this pain to go away. This is AGONIZING!!! NEVER EVER AGAIN!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2021
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 32 botox injections for chronic migraine in my head, neck and shoulders. It has so far been the worst decision I have made in regard to my health. I could barely hold my head up for two and a half weeks after treatment, and have been in terrible pain for an entire month. It has increased my migraines (didn't think this was actually possible) and I have a constant tension headache that I cannot get rid of and pain at the back of my head/neck and shoulders. I feel exhausted, completely fatigued, and not well enough to do even simple house work. I was advised by my neuro that I wouldn't see the full results until I had three treatments, there is no way I will go back after the horrible side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Saskia | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had headaches for years but they evolved into migraines much more recently. I can't take triptans so my neurologist decided that Botox was a good choice. The injections are painful but each one is quick. I did have some relief after the first set but it wore off after two months. I had much more relief after the second and am due to have my third set in a week. I was in urgent care two nights ago for pain and dullness on the left side of my face. I was worried it was a side effect of the Botox as I had a similar feeling the evening I got my second round and some people have expressed similar concerning feelings in reviews. I found out that I have an ear infection on that side and let my neuro know about that and the dullness. It may very well be the Botox wearing off because I got this dull feeling a lot before starting it. Another reviewer here mentioned that a lot of people who come to these review sites are coming to report negative experiences. Their experiences are valid and should definitely be taken into consideration. However, keep that in mind when using these sites to make medical decisions for yourself. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sgbelverta | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried it 3 times with 3 different physicians. I had a fantastic result with 1 provider, and complete failure with 2 providers. The provider that followed the protocol dictated by my insurance was a complete waste of time. The fantastic result was by a plastic surgeon working on my wrinkles. The other failure was by plastic surgeon who admitted her experience was for cosmetic results, not migraines. The 2 plastic surgeons costs were entirely out of pocket.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WitchHaxel | 55-64 | Female | Patient
12/5/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3rd set of injections, I acquired tinnitus, and increased anxiety and irritability prior to headaches. I had moderate to severe headache prior to Botox. After Botox minimal to moderate. Side effects don't outweigh the relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobbie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was.injected botox into the junction of stomach and.small intestine to relax some muscle there. This is for gastroparesis..dunno if it is.gonna work yet..time will tell..was injected 2-14-2020

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/6/2019
Condition: Deep Lines Between Eyebrows
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible fatigue,Headache ,nausea,Confusion ,pstosis, dizziness irregualar heartbeat, anxiety, and depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 |
11/2/2019
Condition: Deep Lines Between Eyebrows
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time 20 units for “11’s”. The day after the injections, I had a sudden onset of extreme nausea. During the following month (3-6 weeks after injections), I experienced dizziness, occasional vertigo, headaches and nausea. Week 6, my left arm went completely numb for several hours, and my headaches started to feel really unusual, like a pressure behind my eyes. Week 7, my headaches got worse and I started to develop a slew of other symptoms…a neck pain that radiated up and around my neck in waves, a continuous dull headache, along with waves of head pain and an intense pressure that radiated up the sides and around the front part of my head, plugged ears and ear/jaw pain. Some milder symptoms: on and off pain/weakness in my right leg, on and off tingling in my left arm, trouble swallowing, tinnitus. I have had a CT scan and MRI, all tests came back normal. Currently, (14 weeks) I am dealing with a mild dull headache, less intense waves of nausea and dizziness, and the waves of pressure in my head/ears/jaw. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2019
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ddf619 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2019
Condition: Eyelid Twitch
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ally | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/29/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Botox treatment in Jan 2019 and have had 3 treatments as of now Aug 2019. At first I was very satisfied with the migraine relief I was feeling. It is such a fabulous and strange feeling to be almost migraine free. But while I was experiencing relief the side effects creeped up on me. The shots were easy to tolerate so no pain for me there. But the feeling of not being able to hold my head up with my neck and all of the muscles in my entire body becoming weak. Along with joint paint and shortness of breath and heart palpitations brought me on a journey of seeing many specialists. I saw my cardiologist and everything was fine. Same with Primary Care, Neurologist, and Rheumatologist. I was told it was hormones, fibromyalgia and osteoarthritis when I now know its the Botox and not one of these specialists would even discuss this as an option. I have been brought to tears most mornings unable to move and scared of what is going on. My anxiety is through the roof. I of course did my own research and only through patient reviews did I find what the problem has been. Itâ??s the Botox. I of course will discontinue the treatment and see where I end up with my migraines again. I am taking Ajovy as well so I hope that between Ajovy and Rizatriptan as needed I can remain migraine (almost) free. Please be careful when you decide to use this drug. The Drs in my opinion donâ??t really listen or care. Itâ??s up to you to be diligent and do your own research. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drob1367 | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: Anal Fissure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After surgery and the next couple of days the pain was unbearable just like before the surgery. The nurse called it pressure I felt a knife being pushed out. It was so bad that the Percocet they prescribed did not relieve the pain. Within 3 days after surgery, there was no pain. I couldn�t remember what it felt like to use the rr pain free, I was stunned with the effectiveness. The spasms and pain were gone, it�s been 4 months since my surgery still no pain! I was desperate I had been on Proctosol,lidocaine, stool softener,hydrocortisone cream, rectiv, trulance, diltiazam compounded ointment and nothing had worked. Took 6 months to diagnose then another 3 of medicationsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More