Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

Have had problems getting thyroid stabilized after digestive issues following gallbladder surgery. Thought Tirosint might deploy in my body better and my doc was kind enough to let me try it. (Went from 100 MG Levoxyl to 100 MG Tirosint). The first 3 days I felt like a new person: had energy, hair stopped falling out, even grew a couple of eyebrows! Middle of the night day 6 I woke up with chest p...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I just started taking this 3 days ago, so no reaction yet.

Shared reviews and ratings

MyThyroidSucks | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/15/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive taken just about every thyroid replacement drugs out there over the past 40 years. About 15 years ago, something went haywire and it seems the meds just dont work anymore. (Ive had RAI so I no longer have a functioning thyroid). I thought Id try Tirocint brand. Firstly, its expensive, but if it works Id gladly pay to get my quality of life back. Sadly, i felt no improvement in my debilitating fatigue. Two very UNWANTED side effects I did get were extreme hair loss (NEVER had hair loss before on ANY brand!) and insomnia. I took it for a full three months. The hair loss was a deal breaker. Its awful! I have about half the thickness of ponytail now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dorie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 5-6 different thyroid medications since I was 6. I also have a pituitary tumor which messes up my hormones. Last year in Oct. 2021 my levo meds stopped working and my TSH was over 150. I was very sick. My doc put me on 125 Tirosint and I started feeling much better. Then this May, I started feeling bad again. I put on 15 pounds, feet swelling, exhausted, depressed and my doc did blood work. My TSH is in range. I am having spasms in my feet, legs, chest and my tongue is swollen again. My doc referred me to heart doc, I go tomorrow. Is this medicine to blame? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tirosint | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme intestinal issues. Stomach cramping. Horrible night sweats and headaches. Will discontinue asap!! Plus it’s too expensive!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disgusted | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/27/2022
Condition: A Progressive Disease of the Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know whether to pass out or throw up. I've been on nearly every thyroid medicine and none of them relieve Hashimoto's side effects and only cause debilitating cardiac, pulmonary, and neuromuscular side effects. Tirosint is no better. I can keep myself sick more cost effectively on generic levothyroxine. I've lost 7+ years of my life taking thyroid meds that have made me sicker than the disease itself. The doctor's are completely ignorant. All they know is to normalize TSH and act like I'm the only person they've ever seen with continuing side effects. Apparently, they don't have enough ambition to even visit thyroid advocacy sights or reviews like this one as the discontent is clear. It is beyond ridiculous. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

RAI treatment due to Graves Disease in 1992 I have taken almost every thyroid medication prescribed but I was recently prescribed Tirosint after being unable to get Nature-throid and due to the inconsistency of compounded NDT. No problems for the first 7 weeks and then began BP issues, all over itching, restless legs, tingling which would not stop and unable to sleep. I had blood work testing for my upcoming dr appt and my levels were all within range but the side effects are miserable. Stopped taking it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/3/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take tirosint but i had stop then the do tor prescribed me the tirosint agaun for my thyroid condition Hashimoto and i regreted taking it i been having nightmares, legcramps, fatigue, depression and my heart keeps on flattering like if it stops...is a horrible feeling i have no energy all i want to do is stay on bed i have no motivation to get up and do stuff or not even shopping wish i love shopping ?? i dont know what else to take cause armour makes me feel worse and the only thing it really helped me was the nature throid but is on recall. Any suggestionsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never felt better great product

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dtsm05 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/27/2021
Condition: Enlarged Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made a huge difference in my hair, nails, eyes, monthly cycle and bowl movements.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mlw58 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/24/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took a long while, but this medication finally started working in a big way. My hair feels thicker, though still sort of brittle/dry, and I have lost about ten pounds. I didn't really need to, but I sure feel leaner and better! I have more energy and better bowel movements. I do have dry eyes, but that could be related to the many surgeries I have had for detached retina. Overall, very happy and my levels are back on track, too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from Synthroid and feeling like Hell. Sleeping all day even though dosage increased. Have dry eyes and they are terrible even though on Xiidra eye drops twice a day. Does not list all ingredients and I am horribly allergic to yellow dye as gives me asthma which I now have and usually only have when ill. They just say amber color, is that yellow, hello! Will call my endocrinologist tomorrow as this is a dangerous drug in my opinion. I take thyroid medication as I had a goiter removed so part of thyroid gland removed. Thank God I can dump this stuff. I have taken thyroid meds for 32 years fo not an armature. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve experienced diarrhea, irritability, sweating, constant bowel movements, belches, terrible stomach discomfort (like my gluten reactions if I eat wheat), Uber dry skin and more. Sent info. to Food and Drug Administration and await their reply. WORST medication I’ve ever had!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Titi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was colder than ever and gained weight like crazy. Not to mention the hair loss. Summer in Florida and me withba jacket. Doctor thought I had taken nothing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Snookie | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Endo doc put me on Tirosant when I switched to him. MAJOR mistake. Serious heart pains - two trips to the ER, admitted the second time - had full heart work-up, including radioactive stress test. Endo doc said the issue was not an adverse reaction to the drug, but my PCP advised I stop taking it immediately and wait two weeks for the drug to clear my system, and as it did the pains in my chest, left arm, and shoulder have subsided, as have too, the anxiety of waking in a cold sweat, and crazy irrational thinking and panic I had thinking I was experiencing a heart attack. This drug robbed me of two months of my life and caused me to take radioactive tests I NEVER would have but for being desperate trying to understand why I was having heart attack symptoms. Two cardiologists indicated the cause likely to be the Tirosant. I am going back to the natural desiccated thyroid meds, and the endo who kept telling me that we are not pigs and should not take a desiccated thyroid from pigs is no longer going to be prescribing me anything because I will not be going back to him. I realize our chemistry makeups are all different, and this drug may, indeed, work for some; however, for me, the reaction is NOT worth the risks. Read the manufacturer leaflet prior to taking and weigh the risks to benefits for yourself. I wish I had done so in the beginning instead of blindly following the endo's direction. Find an endo who is open-minded to know not all synthetic drugs work, and sometimes we need options - your life may depend on it. The thyroid function is not something to dismiss, and it controls MUCH of our well-being.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gravesux! | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on Levothyroxine for 6 months with zero positive results, my doctor prescirbed Tirosint. In 3 months my TSH was within range and in 5 months my doctor considers my level optimal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/7/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my expectations have been met. It is a pure, additive free form of this rx. Very necessary for some pts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2019
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this medication since October 2018 and have experienced an increase in my afternoon energy levels. This was a low point in my day and have complained about it to my Endocrinologist for years. I finally feel great, no hair loss some weight gain, increased energy. I however have had high cholesterol since age 35, I am 60 now. Just had bloodwork done and my cholesterol numbers are through the roof, highest ever. Not sure if this is a side effect of this medication but from what I have read it can be especially female and my age group.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bonnie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/7/2018
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Get your ADrenal glands checked.Read the insert!! Tirosint works well for my underactive thyroid. However after being on it for two years , my Adrenal Glands STOPPED working , hospitalized for 11 days, was dying until they figured it out. Was it the Tirosint?.. after I read the insert in Contraindiction: uncorrected adrenal insufficiency may precipitate Acute adrenal CRISIS!. get your adrenals checked NOW.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tirosint | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2018
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on 50mg of Tirosint for 3 years now and have been very consistent with my blood work, For the past 8 months I've been losing my hair. Is this a delayed reaction to the drug?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Agada | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2017
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started with 175 ug Tirosint , didn’t sleep for a week!! Horrendous headaches. Dr. Dropped dose to 75 ug. Can sleep a bit, still have bad headaches. Had same allergic reaction to Tirosint as Synthroid. Who made the price up for this med? I have hashimotos.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Iva | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/2/2017
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Hashimotos disease and celiac disease and this pill works great has no fillers in it. I was reacting to generic synthroid bcs of gluten and lactose and colorings . Tirosint 75 mcg is working great except is very expensive since is not generic version, even with the insurance it was $75 co pay. Someone needs to come up with the generic version, or stop putting crap preservatives and gluten and colorings in synthroid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More