Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I was put on Yasmin back in 2002 for severe.painful periods. I went to generic Ocella then Zarah within the past 5 years. I have been very satisfied with this pill. I no longer have severe pain during periods, and I am very regular to knowing the specific day and about time of day I will start and stop my period. I do not have acne breakouts. My weight is regular. When I switched to Zarah, I did h...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I agree with the other comment 100%

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this drug for acne about two months ago and have had nothing but a good experience. Unlike some people, I did not experience an initial breakout, in fact my skin began clearing up almost immediately. Not only has this pill helped me improve my self esteem, but it has also helped regulate my periods. Nothing but good experiences with Zarah

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/27/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The packaging is a big chunchy plastic that is horrible and to make such a thing it uses a lot of unnecessary resources where as the Yaz packing is so nice and simple, good for carrying in purse. I saved my Yaz pack covers and now I have to pull the zarah package apart and cut off the top of the pill pack so it will fit in the Yaz packaging. I hate this pill because of all this. Going to call my Dr. to get something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/26/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Zarah to regulate my period and I was only on it for about a year. Once I stopped using it, I started getting major anxiety/panic attacks and it's been 2 months and I still get them. Research your birth control before you decide to use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ArtShark | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Either my doctor/insurance company/pharmacy switched my prescription of Ocella to Zarah. Results? Awful. I have painful acne around my chin, and been having stomach aches for the past month (they recently changed it). Ocella treated my acne perfectly, and I really miss it. Zarah makes me feel awful and gross.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control is great. I have never had a problem with it. Clear skin and maintained my same weight. Also, I'm not pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A. | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/1/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this birth control however, I never got a period with this birth control. My face was clear. I took this all throughout high school. I ended up switching only because I have sex a lot and me and my bf agreed I should switch because I wasn't getting a period and it's not normal for a woman to not get a period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AliMills | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/30/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for 6 months now - best birth control pill so far! This is the third brand/type of birth control I have ever been on and it has worked really well for me. My acne, which was getting bad on my other birth control, is now all clear on Zarah. After my second month on Zarah, my skin became clear and glowing. I am 25 years old, 5'6" tall and now weigh 124 lbs. Since being on Zarah for the last 6 months I have gained 2 lbs, which is normal for me since I fluctuate. I do get horrible headaches when I take the non-hormone pills. I try to drink a lot of water and take ibuprofen. Also, during my period I am very emotional and cry at anything - even sad TV commercials. However, I am way less emotional through the month than I used to be. Once I was 5 hours late to take my pill. Even with the pills being 19 hours apart, I got extremely sick and dizzy after I took the next pill the following day. So, my advice would be to always take your pills on time. Also, my insurance doesn't cover this birth control so I pay $56 a month which is slightly high. However, I was paying $15/month for bc pills and then another $15 for acne pills and another $15 per month for over the counter acne scrubs/face wash/anything that never actually worked. Now, Zarah is the only acne medication I use it and it works perfectly so far. Also, my period is regulated and of course, I have not gotten pregnant. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kath | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking the pill at 11 years ago to help with dysmenhorrea (really painful periods) and after trying a few different pills to find one that worked for me I started using Yasmin. I used Yasmin for many years and it worked very well for me. Recently my insurance company decided that they would cover Zarah but not the Yasmin so my pharmacy switched me and told me that they were the same pill. When you look at the monograph included with the pills the only noticeable difference is with the non-medicinal ingredients so I agreed to the switch. I wish I hadn't. When I first started Zarah I was nauseated on and off for about a month. Then I noticed that I was getting quite bloated. My weight has gone up 2 or 3 pounds which doesn't bother me but what does bother me is that I now have a really really bloated abdomen. I also seem to have some vaginal dryness I didn't have before and my breasts are noticeably larger and often tender. While my periods are not as painful as they once were, my biggest complaint is that this pill doesn't seem designed for continuous use. I was instructed by my MD to take 3 packs continuously then have a period then 3 packs and so on to cut down on the number of painful periods. Unlike when I was on Yasmin, I have painful breakthrough when each period should be (at the end of each pack) as though the dose tapers towards the end of the pack. This defeats the purpose for me taking it and actually makes me question its effectiveness as birth control (which is the secondary reason for me taking it). I've also found I get down and depressed feeling much more easily on this pill than ever before. I've given it a 6 month trial already at this point and when my last 2 packs are done I'll try to switch off of it. I was really satisfied with the Yasmin and will find a way to pay for it instead of the insured Zarah. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hican | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/13/2014
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took me getting off Zarah in order to truly appreciate it. Ocella is just not the same. I have no idea why, it's just not. On this pill, I had a high sex drive, easily got wet, little acne, and my bleeding issues were resolved for the first couple of years. After about 4 years in, I began to have breakthrough bleeding again which was the reason why I began birth control in the first place. So I went to a new doctor and she gave me natazia. Did not desire sex, was very dry, my hair began falling out. Breakthrough bleeding again in month 2. Switched to estrostep fe, did not desire sex, was very dry, my hair fell out in heaps in week two, I broke out in tiny pimples everywhere, I freaked out and switched back to Yasmin. The damage is done to my hair, but I have a sex drive and I get wet again. (!) I don't need lube anymore. And the tiny pimples are almost 100% gone within 3 days. Never again will I switch. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C0202 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/13/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I starting taking Zarah after ocella was giving me an bad discharge with an odor. At first I thought I loved Zarah. I went out of my way to go to a Harmon's pharmacy to get it rather than another grocery store. I recently changed insurance and I can no longer get Zarah. I've began taking a new pill which I cannot remember the name of but I have now realized how many PROBLEMS I actually had with Zarah. I've learned that Zarah was causing weird breakouts around my chin that were just hard painful bumps that never turned into actual zits. It was causing my breasts to lactate, by the way I am 21, have been on birth control since 15 and have never been pregnant. After reading another review I have noticed my sex drive go wayyy up as well. My new pill immediately changed my vaginal odor and discharge and at first I hated it but after about a month of using it the odor has gone away quite a bit. I am no longer breaking out, my breasts stopped lactating (Which I was starting to worry about before) and I haven't noticed anything else abnormal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Input needed | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/16/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on birth control since age 16. I went from Yasmin to yaz, to ocella to now, zarrah. I am 24 now. Every time that I have gone off the pill to have a period I experience these crazy night sweats. It happens for the first 3 days on average. I went to a new obgyn, he said that I didn't have to have a period and the night sweats were from the hormones. It has been almost 3 months since my last period and I have been recently experiencing severe breast swelling and tenderness.. What does anyone think I should do? It's not serious enough to go to the doctor about. Has anyone had a similar experience? Other than that it's fine. Okay I smoke cigarettes.. I know I need to quit. Less than a pack a day. Thank u all.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Countrygirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best birth control pill I've ever been on. I'm in my 40's and a few years ago started with Yasmin and then moved to the generic Ocella. Now my insurance company has moved to Zarah and it agrees with me the best for clear skin, weight regulation; mood, and libido. All good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FinallyHappy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2013
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 34, haven't been on birth control since I was 20 and I only took it for a year then. I asked my doctor for birth control because my periods were 7 days long and PMS started 2 weeks before my period. My moods were unbearable. I was so fatigue. I was angry, crying, aggravated for at least 2 weeks out of the month and cramping the 3rd week so I only had one good week a month, where I felt like myself. That was not good. After turning 30 I would break out the week before my period and acne became a big issue. My doctor recommended Zarah. I have been on Zarah for about three months now. The first 30 days were the worst with the nausea, moodiness, depression, constipation and bloating...but I read the reviews and a few women said to give it 30 days. They were right. After 30 days all of the ugly went away. I don't have 2 weeks of PMS, I'm never angry for no reason anymore, my period went from 7 days to 3 days (HALLELUJAH!!) and the cramping was minimal. I can enjoy my life again, and my daughter has a happy mom for more than one week out of the month! I even got fuller breasts...tee hee hee! There wasn't really any weight gain, just occasional bloating, but not the usual 6 months pregnant look! I prayed before I started taking it, and I pray when I take it because I don't want the cons of the medicine, just the pros. So far...it's working :-) Now I did have low to no sex drive...but it's not consistent...and I'll take that over everything else!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nclady | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/30/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Recently I quit taking Zarah to try to get pregnant, and I noticed my libido went way up immediately, and suddenly sex wasn't painful anymore. I didn't realize it was causing dryness until I quit. I had been on Yasmin and Ocella before I starting taking Zarah and had no issues with my sex drive or vaginal dryness before. Same partner, nothing else really changed. It definitely affected my enjoyment of sex. Good to know it was an easy fix, I just quit taking the pills!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pdubbs | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/13/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this pill. I have taken a few before I was put on Yasmin, and this has been the only pill that works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Airforcewifey24 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/5/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could have not recommended such an amazing birth control such as Zarah or Ocella! I NEVER had a problem and I'm so upset that my doctor had to change it :( I couldn't complain about anything...life was great always knew when my period would start and end!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ALLERGICTOZARRAH | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Zarah to help with heavy periods, ovulation pain, acne, and moodiness. I've actually had a tubal ligation so don't need the pill for actual birth control. I've fought my doctor for over a year about starting BC pills. Needless to say, I decided to give it a try. Day 3 I broke out in hives all over my hips. Thinking it was extremely rare to have this kind of reaction to BC pills I continued taking them. By day 10 the hives began appearing on my fingers, wrists, and upper arms. I immediately stopped taking the pill. All the hives are going away (slowly on my hips). I have recently discovered it is not so rare after all to have allergic reactions (such as hives) to hormones (especially artificial hormones.) Most reports say that if you are allergic to one then you are usually allergic to most, if not all. Thought it was worth reporting on this site in case anyone has the same kind of reaction. I was prepared for the side effects, but not an allergic reaction! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2012
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this about 4 months. Prior to that, I was on Yasmin for years, but I had to switch to the generic Zarah due to me not being able to afford Yasmin anymore. Well, I have suffered a thick discharge ever since I began taking it. I thought I had an STD or bacterial infection, but I have been tested for everything and have been negative. So, I blame it on the Zarah. Uncomfortable constant discharge. I am switching to Loestrin and hoping to get some relief... Everybody is different, but Zarah is a no-go for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worksforme | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/10/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Yasmin back in 2002 for severe.painful periods. I went to generic Ocella then Zarah within the past 5 years. I have been very satisfied with this pill. I no longer have severe pain during periods, and I am very regular to knowing the specific day and about time of day I will start and stop my period. I do not have acne breakouts. My weight is regular. When I switched to Zarah, I did have some nausea the first week while my body adjusted to it, but no more after that. In regards to birth control, it has done great. Very happy with this pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellynn99 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2011
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I actually broke out worse taking this after my pharmacy discontinued Ocella. Also I experienced mood swings and depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More