Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

51 People found this comment helpful

I'm suffering from DDD, Scoliosis, Shoulder Injury x 2 and neuropathic pain for 10 years (since age 21). Over the years, I've been prescribed Hydrocodone, Oxycodone, Codeine, Tramadol, Neurontin,Lyrica.....and finally something that works, the BUTRANS patch. Wow, I actually have control of my life again! My pain level went from an (8) pre-patch to about a (3) post-patch. I apply a new patch ...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I JUST STARTED THIS MEDICATION.

Shared reviews and ratings

Marc | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2023
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately it's not helping me I would get better help for my pain if said I had a drug addiction I went to local methadone clinic

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Valonna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2023
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on Butrans 10mg, did nothing, I called the mfg to inquire about how long it takes to began working? 4 days, I was asked what medication did I take prior? After informing him I was told 10mg would have never worked, my previous out powers the 10mg patch by far and to call my doctor. After speaking with her I was put on 20mg and still waiting for some type of relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marc Beauregard | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butrans' patches 15 removes 95% of my pains caused by spinal hernia (L3-L4); no side effects. Functional rather than in bed. Recommend highly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You might as well just stick a band aid to u cause that’s all it is… no relief whatsoever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charsweb29 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication help me tremendously with the pain. But it also caused me to flatten during surgery as it was mixed with anesthesia. After that I had a severe depression anxiety isolation. Memory loss. Even though I've been off the medication now for approximately 5 months, and still having the negative effects from the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy Kerr | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication and nerve blocks have changed my life. I was on Percocet and oxyneo for over ten years and my body grew tolerant to them. I have so many problems with my upper and lower back I was bedridden. Now I take 10mg of morphine 3 times a day and the butrams 20 patch for 7 days then change it. I was getting nerve blocks every week, now it’s every two weeks. I don’t feel foggy anymore. I can walk 2 km. And I have lost 45lbs. I’m not in bed all the time anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessie mac | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this patch. Its the only medicine that has worked for me. Been on morphine and Percocet before that, it stopped working.makes me a little sleepy but it's worth it for pain relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pain is gone. Do not feel drugged at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not for me sadly! Prescibed this after major surgery on my leg..was on low dosge morphine and co codamol at first. No longer want morphine. Dr. Decided on these patches aswell as codeine tablets and they and they are doing nothing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fed up | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on 10 mcl tried going to 15 couldn't handle it the first week I was on it I thought a wonder drug been 4 weeks and pain has gotten worse I was doing 8 10/325 norco a day tapered to only 1 1/2 was so happy with increased pain I am back up to 6 pain management and Dr want me to continue it myself it's useless. Half the time I wish my left leg wasn't there so I won't feel the pain. I also have worse sleeping problems and mouth dry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miseryandpain | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/2/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine comes in 2nd to LAST place. Nucynta takes first place and butran patches comes in 2nd. No relief severe nerve compression and impingement in l4 l5 and s1. For the first time in 5 years I was doing ok on oxycodone and belbuca. Well we all know the stories about how your life can go from rich to poor over a medicine that isn't covered anymore by insurance. Exactly my case. I had to quit softball and my work productivity has suffered immensely. Absolutely no relief. Like the one guy said its like putting a sticker on your body for no good reason. Belbuca doesn't have a generic so its like a ridiculous 800$ a month. I was finally getting a little bit of my life back and its now ripped away again. I think I got more relief from Tylenol then this crapRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tabitha | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/10/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cervical spinal stenosis, degenerative disc disease, bulging/slipped disc, sciatica, Rheumatoid arthritis, nerve damage, and a few other diagnosis. I was on 300mg morphine a day ( 100mg every 8hrs) & 10mg Norco 5-6x a day. I got down to 200mg of morphine and 10mg Norco 5x a day and realized the drop to 200mg in morphine didn't make a difference. I'm tired of taking pills and I kinda want to live... So I asked my Dr to be taken off the morphine. By time we got to 150mg morphine my neck, back, and legs were hurting so bad I was crying everyday. So I asked about the patch. I started the patch at 10mg two months ago. The first month I took it I was taking 75mg of morphine a day and 4 10mg Norco. This month 15 mg patch, no morphine, and 10mg Norco 4x a day. It does help my upper body pain, especially my neck. But my legs are hurting so bad and nothing but cutting off circulation helps. I won't go back to morphine because it's just not healthy. I'm starting pt 3x a week next week so hopefully that helps. But I would say the patch works. Definitely helped with withdrawal symptoms from morphine. I think everyone's different and our bodies react differently to each med. I would definitely recommend trying it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/2/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started off with the 5mcg, but have since moved up to 15mcg. I absolutely hate these. They're completely useless and provide no relief whatsoever. I'm also being prescribed Oxycodone and that does so much better then the patch. I honestly feel that whenever it comes to the patch, I'm just putting a sticker on my body for no good reason. That's just how useless it is for me. Just my experience though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did 10 days of 10mcg with no pain relief. Finally removed the second patch after developing hives and terrible itching under the patch. Now I have to depend on my small dose of meds for breakthrough pain. Going to be a very long, torturous month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Quinn | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/20/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking low doses (5 mcg patch & 7.5 mcg patch during winter) for Functionality Goals rather than complete pain coverage. I'd rather balance some pain and have a clear head & be safe to drive when I can (rarely, but treasured). Many days the pain is lower, but there are still severe breakthrough pain at times or during flareups (weather related or overdoing it). Taking Gabapentin for neurological pain as well. Low dose allows me to do light chores & housework more consistently, take stairs a few times per day vs rarely/at all, bathe myself consistently, and draw & take my pets on walks during warmer months. Sleep has improved. Mood has improved. Cognition is sharper (less pain fog). Far fewer weeks/days bedridden during winter. Side effects were dry mouth, constipation, and seeping/weeping horribly skin sores (itched worse than Chicken Pox) that shed the patch early by oozing pus from the application site. Applying Flonase to the skin & letting it dry before applying Butrans patch helped greatly. However, it still leaves scabs & scars. Good skin was on of the few things chronic illness left, but scabs & scars are worth it vs. being bedridden, immobile, unable to take stairs, or draw at all. Getting some of my mobility back, ability to assist around the home, and doing art again has been a miracle.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JulianneT | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Morphine for 6 years and couldnt get my levels below 7.Iam on the Butrans 10mcg and my pain levels have been the lowest they have been in years. My pain management doctor told me I do need to increase the dosage because it isnt being effective for the full 7 days, by the 6th day it starts wearing off. Overall, I am pleased with it. The side effects I have is weight loss, chills and headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Boo boo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I throw up just about every day , so then I quarter them .. then I go through chills , shakes , glittery ... does anyone else have this ? Is there something else I can take to keep me off pain pills ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried both the 5 mcg and now the 7.5 mcg. The patch does nothing to relieve pain. I get more pain relief with my oral pain medications. I would never recommend this medication. It is totally useless

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/29/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a while I was using tramadol 50 mg 3times a day. I did not hepl much. Even norco couldn't heepl enough. So I was put on Butrans. 20 mgs/h. The pain relief came after 3 days! But it came. After a month my dosage was increased to 40 mcg = 2 patches at one time. And switch after 96 hours. My pain is constantly low. 2/10.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/10/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes this has helped me not need the regular pain pills. But the withdrawl is really bad. I had to cancel my regular appt due to a COVID scare and I had my last patch on but my Dr couldn't get me in until way after I had to take it off. And I was miserable. I think it's worse than withdrawling off regular pain pills. Need to talk to my Dr about something else. I wouldn't wish that on anyone. And they say Ins companies want the Dr's to use this instead of giving out pain pills. You still can get addicted to this patch. Like I said it works and helps but if you can't get them like your suppose to it horrible trying to deal with it. And the withdrawl is longer than with regular pain pills. And it's probably because of it being a continuous release into your body 24 hrs everyday unlike pain pills you can just take them as needed. So I think I'm going to ask my Dr to switch back to my regular medication because I do not like this at all. And my Dr tries to tell me this will be better for me, I'm thinking he's wrong. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More