Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this medication on July 1, 2014. On July 4th a rash developed on my face and neck. I phoned into the advise nurse who told me to stop taking the medication and they will make a call to my doctor. I found out a rash was one of the serious size effects. It has kept my sugar levels down though.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/12/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for a year with terrific results. A1C dropped 2 points. Couldn't be happier and now my insurance doesn't want to cover it. I am very nervous to try anything else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tamimy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/14/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have switched from Forxiga 10mg and I have completed 6 months, but no real effect on Diabtes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
al | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after 3 months the side effects have caused me to discontinue this expensive drug that gave me sore throat,cough,muscle pain,severe pain in abdomen spreading to my back to difficulty sleeping due to pain.Calling DR. NOW!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having mid back pain when sleeping, it goes away after I get up. Has anyone else experienced this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D Newman | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/5/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paw | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seemed to help during first 3 months and not lowering my glucose now.having lot of congestion.i wouldn't start it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harry | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As my doctor has been increasing my dosage my diabetes has gone up. I was doing well at 7.0 but doctor changed me from Actors to few alternative drugs in the name of improving. Now I am on Trajenta and he recently increased the dosage and it has now shot up to staying above 12.5 on an average. I don't this this is helping me at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pippin | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a two week trial my blood sugar readings were very good so it was used instead of taking insulin before each meal. Once a day Trajenta and one shot of long lasting insulin and things are fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JeffM | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My numbers have only gone higher! I have been on Tradgenta for 6 weeks, now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D J Thomas | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medicine for 3 months. My glucose test results have over 200 the entire time. Even fasting in the AM. My Doctor continues to insist I take it and I cant understand why. I am changing Doctors

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itschelle28 | 25-34 | Female | Patient
10/9/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine for a month and a half. My heart started racing, shortness of breath lightheadedness and tightness in my throat I also was sweating like crazy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/19/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've notied that my glucose have been higher since taking this. I've also been starting to have abdominal pains. Not effective at all in my opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harry Balz | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was pleased when my pcp recently added this to my metformin and lantus (insulin). I'm almost surprised that I'm getting it as it's very expensive. However my glucose numbers have been way above normal lately. I guess that I wanted to believe that I could get away with being less strict with my diet. From what I can see this drug is not what I would call highly effective. You would be better off spending the money on a gym membership than this expensive ineffective medication, in my opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clemson#1fan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for a month. My levels have been in the lower 200's in the am and 197's in the afternoon after I eat. 150'S after I walk 2.5 miles a day. I am very active. I've lost 13lbs with diet and exercise. My levels do not seem to be going down. I have had some abdominal issues too. Concerned I am seeing my doctor this Friday for a follow up. Anyone else having the same problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brasolo | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for a week and a half before fulling my prescription due to the 'few' potential side effects. I rarely have any but was sure that this was enough time for me to have started showing symptoms. I was very wrong. I had not met my deductible so I paid nearly $400 for the prescription. By the next day I had abdominal pain and within three days pancreatitis. I never even opened that bottle of pills. My doctor is another issue but I will NEVER take this medicine again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Testy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/30/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It never worked. I am now sitting on a 9.8 A1C reading after a couple of years of use. This is expensive medicine in which I have spent a fortune on with no results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angelic365 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to stop taking metformin due to explosive stomach issues. Doc put me on this med instead. After 1 1/2 months there are no side effects and my blood sugar has risen considerably. Expensive medication that does nothing for me .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sugar levels in am 89-125. Been having lots of phlegm never thought it was because of tradjenta, until I was going thru the revues. Very expensive though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BGa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking for almost 3 weeks. Experiencing GERD, Diarrhea, and nausea. Almost too sick to function. Have lost appetite. It wasn't working yet anyway.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/22/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had skin rash and face swelling plus neck swelling. Choke easily. Some of the places that covered my arms and face were like whelps then in a couple of days they oozed a clear liquid. Then they became sores. One of the sores has been on my arm for 5 months. I showed my diabetes doctor, reg doctor and went to dermatalogist. Dr put me one prednisone three times. it is like no one knew what causes this. I used cortisone creme and another one that is gem...something and none help. I have kept taking the trajenta with metformin like the Dr says. Numbers never went down and I gained weight. Face still swelled and still itch so bad I can't sleep. I guess I should stop taking it awhile to see if that helps. Until I read on here I never dreamed it caused this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More