Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

As long as its taken the same time EVERYDAY, this drug has stopped my period.. (takes up to 3 months sometimes for someones period to stop) after the 3-4months, my stage 3 endometriosis slowed down and gave me back a chance to live life without hemmoraging from periods, or the gigantic ovarian cysts I was getting. But if you miss a dose it feels like all hell. I reccomend setting an alarm on your ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I began taking amethyst two months after i experienced a miscarriage. My periods without birth control are very painful and heavy. About two weeks into taking the pill, i had some brown spotting followed by period like bleeding. Its been a month now and I am still on my period. I am seeking medical advice soon. Ive read that this generic has side effects that lybrel does not. This may be were i tu...

Shared reviews and ratings

Kat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/30/2021
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Amethyst originally Liberel since 2008, 6 month after giving birth to my daughter. The reason was to control extremely painful periods with growing endo. It has changed my life. I dont have any side effects. I gained only about 5lbs which I attribute to being over 45. I remember initially I had some spotting which disappeared over several months. I dont suffer every month from horrible pain that would make me miss my life. I'm thankful my doctor recommended it to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/18/2018
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First month of taking it was great my second month was horrible i had acne i had never had before and bleeding for 4 weeks straight i stopped taking it . Worst one yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenny | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/15/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got prescribed lybrel (amethyst)in 2009 . April 2018 im still on it , i have never stooped, I had the worst periods lasting 9 days of extremely bad bleeding then I'd have 3-4 days of spotting. This went on for 5 years , and it controlled me I couldn't stand it anymore and talked to my doctor begging for help and a solution , I got a job as a fire fighter and was not going to have change a pad while hiking up a hill! This pill has changed my life , I am free I can camp and swim whenever and not be scared of when my period will come , I do get random spotting throughout the year but it's nothing compared to the hell I went through when I used to get my period. I have recently thought of going off just because it's been so long. But then I think about bleeding in all of my clothes and the cramps and I just change my mind. If you're suffering from horrid periods don't hesitate to try this you won't regret it! It saved me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Baltimore mom of two boys | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/16/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Give it time-I love this pill! Before taking this, I was saturating a tampon and maxi every 30 min, and I was done. GYN suggested this, but warned me that it could initially start prolonged light bleeding and eventually nothing. The first three months were miserable-bleeding every single day (not as bad as my heavy periods, but still needing maxis. I decided to give it six months and then I was going to quit. By month four, every bit of bleeding stopped, and I had no bleeding or period until I hit the one year mark and then the bleeding started again for about one month, and then it stopped until I hit the two year mark, and then it was light bleeding for about three weeks. Fast forward to five years later, and I have not had any bleeding since the second year mark-no period, nothing! This has been a blessing. Yes, the first three months were miserable, but it eventually faded and I no longer have a period. I have checked with my GYN and she said there is no reason to stop taking this (even for a short time) just for me to have a period as I am getting proper estrogen/progesterone levels. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jgon | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just finished month four and have been spotting the entire time its brown and ugly I am considering stopping my migraines went away I switched from Ortho tri cyclo lo and so did my mood swings but I have acne I never had before.I haven't got pregnant so it does it's job I guess

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Victoria8310 | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/22/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for about 7 months. I switched to this from Ortho Try Cyclen. The Orthro worked PERFECTLY. I had no side effects, no spotting, no acne, no nothing. The ONLY reason I switched was because out of no where I would get these excruciating pains in my lower abdomen that would last a week before my periods were to start. I got an X-ray exam but they didnâ??t see anything. So I said since it only hurts around my menstrual I want a BC pill that stops the menstrual all together and thatâ??s how I began taking this Amethyst. My experience has been perfect. No side effects, I just recently had light spotting with absolutely no pain and it lasted 1 day. Very light but others than that as soon as I started taking this my periods stopped immediately and so did that pain I was having. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
misselise | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2018
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control has been...the worst. Truly. My doctor put me on it after being on Lo Loestrin Fe for about a year. Lo Loestrin Fe worked well for the majority of the time I was on it, until it was clear I needed to be on a higher dose to manage my symptoms of endometriosis. Within weeks after starting this pill I began spotting, and by the second month I was bleeding heavily every single day, with cramps. I felt fatigued and horrible for weeks. I've just switched to Microgestin 1/20 and I already feel better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Masmith82 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2017
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have annovulatory PCOS, so I'm no stranger to periods that go on for months, but they're not super heavy and they don't usually hurt. When I decided to start this medicine, it was primarily to "turn off" my period for a year while I focused on losing weight and getting in shape to get pregnant, but it has not been helpful at all. Within a week, I went from a weak flow to the heaviest flow I had ever had, plus cramping. I soaked through overnight pads every 1.5-2 hours, and ended up in the emergency room. The doctors were shocked by the volume of blood and tissue I was passing, but when they checked the drug details out they found that very heavy bleeding is a NORMAL SIDE EFFECT for 3-5 MONTHS. I have been told to keep taking the pill for 3 months to see if it gets better, but for now I am wearing a Depends diaper with the strongest available incontinence pad because it is the only way to keep from bleeding through my clothes. ð??­Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to this from Ortho Tri Cyclen Lo and I bleed for the first 4 1/2 months. So my OB just took me of completely

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel' | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I asked my doctor to be put on birth control, I knew that I'd might face some issues because Your body reacts differently on medication. I wanted to be on the pill because when I get my period I have horrible cramps and heavy bleeding. I started Amethyst the day I got my period, the first week in a half I was fine. Then, out of no where I started to have breakthrough bleeding that turned into a full blown period with cramps. Needless to say, six weeks later ... I'm still bleeding with horrible cramps and I stopped taking the pill A WEEK AGO. I am upset that this happened, I'm going through pads like crazy and Im so uncomfortable, I mean what girl wouldn't with having almost their heavy period for two months ? The pill wasn't the greatest and I'm hoping in a few months I'll be able to try another one. Everyone's experience is different but mine was horrible. I hope the bleeding stops and I can enjoy being "free" ! And also intament with my serious boyfriend. I am also 22 years old and a first time user of BC pill. GOOD LUCK !!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yogini | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken amethyst since Autumn of 2013 after switching from seasonique due to cost and effectiveness. Having tried seasonique for 1-2 years, I found I was very frequently spotting brownish. Switching to amethyst has been very advantageous. No period since I can recall. No pregnancies; though, I practice withdrawal method in combo with pill. No cramps or spotting. My migraine headaches are nearly extinct unless triggered by outside factors. It's difficult to know fully if my baseline emotions have been altered significantly, but it doesn't seem to influence much differently than I always was. This may not work with all bodies but I struck gold with this contraceptive.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
notforme | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Amethyst 3 months ago after being diagnosed with PCOS. I have now had a period for 2.5 months straight. It has ranged from extremely heavy to brown "spotting" but has never disappeared. I'm not sure if it's related, but I have also lost a lot of hair from my head, probably like a third of it, but have noticed an increase in hair growth on my face and body. I've also noticed feeling weak and tired more often than not since starting this bc, as well as being more emotional. It did help in clearing my skin somewhat, so that is one positive I have experienced. Thankfully I am being switched to a new bc, and hopefully it will be more effective. This is just MY experience, so don't let me completely deter you. There are a lot of people who have had Amethyst work beautifully for them!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happybc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/23/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've always had bad periods. In the last year or so, they never went away. I was bleeding every single day for about 3 months, and not only that but also had really bad cramps to the point where I was missing work regularly. I was placed on a different birth control and my period continued. I started taking Amethyst, I continued to cramp and bleed badly for about 5 months into it. My doctor told me to just keep taking it at the same time every day. It has now been about 4 or 5 months so I have had a period. It is ABSOLUTE HEAVEN! I was in pain every day, it was making me depressed and isolated. Taking this birth control has dramatically changed my life for the better. The only problems I have had is around Christmas, I didn't take the pill at the same time everyday and I did bleed for about a week after that. But I no longer have cramping or bleeding at all. Like I said, it has been absolutely wonderful. I have not noticed any side effects, it does not seem to have effected my mood or sleep at all. I would recommend this drug to anyone who has tried other birth controls to regulate their period and has not been successful. I am very grateful to have found this product. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/25/2014
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amethyst has helped tremendously to ease my endometriosis. I no longer miss Weeks from work and school when ever mother nature send me my present, if I even get it!! Very effective as long as its taken at the same time every day.. I recommend setting an alarm on your phone and always have it with you!! Just like with all other hormonal birth control form though, it has its side affects and how one woman reacts to taking it can and most likely will be different from every other woman taking it.. My doctor and I have tried every thing from the shot, to the implants, and a majority oftthe other oral contraceptives.. This was my last hope before the doctor decided he need to do something more serious. I am only 22. I had been suffering with double you over, cry for your mom periods since I was 12.. This medicine has really changed my lifeRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jamielou | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Amethyst for 3 1/2 months. My regular periods stopped immediately and I dropped 10lbs in a matter of weeks. My only problem is I'm still "breakthrough" bleeding. I bleed out a brown almost black color all day everyday and its really effecting my sex life. I hear this is normal up until the 6th month but I'm getting tired of it already. Other than that I would recommend this to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/10/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first started my period at 14, my cycle would last 3 weeks out of 4 weeks instead of only 1 week out of 4 weeks. Whenever I wasn't bleeding, I was lucky. I also had severe pain with my cycles as well. I tried a low-dose birth control, and it didn't even phase my menstrual cycle. I also tried the Mirena IUD, but that caused serious complications for me. Within 1 month of the IUD insertion, my body had almost completely pushed it out of me. It also caused liquid build-up in my uterus, so I looked like I had a little baby bump. I have heard wonderful things about Mirena and do not knock it; it just didn't work for me. Then I started taking Amethyst (generic for Lybrel), and have loved it! I have been on it for approximately 6-7 years and almost never have a period. I have occasional spotting for 24-48 hours every few months, and I may have actual bleeding for a couple of days once or twice a year. It has been a life-saver! And as far as I can tell, it works wonders as an birth control option; I have never gotten pregnant on it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/21/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Lybrel for years before switching to Amethyst. I love the idea of not having a period, but I could never go more than 4 months without spotting and severe cramping. I also still get ovarian cysts which cause a lot of pain (especially when they burst!). I've been spotting for a month now even though I took my pills religiously. My doctor is switching me to a different pill. The problem with Amethyst is that the dosage is simply too low to maintain the uterine lining for more than a few months at a time. I don't remember having these side effects with Lybrel, but that's unfortunately no longer being produced. I love the convenience of Amethyst but it needs to come in a higher dose. If and when it does, I'll gladly switch back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DEBBIE | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/8/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HAVE BEEN ON THE CONTINUOUS CYCLE FOR ABOUT 5 MONTHS AND HAVE HAD SPOTTING FOR THE PAST 30 DAYS CONTINUALLY!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/11/2014
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stopped having monthly migraines around menstruation. No more clots the size of my hand. No more aching all day. Sex became a pleasure again. No pain afterwards.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hazel42 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2013
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially Amethyst made me a bit nauseous in the morning, but it was tolerable. I wanted to try it for at least three months to see how it adjusted with my body, since that's what was recommended. By month three I had became extremely anxious about school despite normally having a mellow demeanor with more stress. Social scuffs became way more emotional and I was more impatient with people. I decided to get off this pill and felt better. I had spotting once or twice throughout, but thankfully had a regular period two months later. I wouldn't want to deter other women from this since it may work with their body, it just wasn't a pleasant experience for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More