Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I'm writing this due to the fact my husband was addicted to this drug from 1977 until he passed away in 1992. The druggists would refill the prescription over and over without anything from the doctor. Everytime we moved (4 times) he had it transferred to the that drug store and they would continue to refill w/no questions asked. I've always suspected he took an overdose because he would take 3...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

does anyone know if there are any lasting side effects of abusing soma compound?

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UniquleyMe | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/6/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I was taking this medication the spasms where better it didn't cause any interactions with my other heath problems and medications, I slept a little better ,I was able to do more house hold chores. I was to move. However, due to changes made for patients on Medicaid it was stopped abruptly and everyone of the preferred medications interfered with a health problem or other medications I take regularly. So now I am being woke up because of the spasms after 45 minutes of sleep and I can barley get around.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/4/2013
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this med for years & I desperately depend on it. I was warned by my Dr that because of abuse of this med by others, the co is considering removing it from the market. It's unfair to punish me for what people out there chose to do without thinking. for Good sake, if you can't control yourself, don't mess with it. This med can hurt as much as it can help. Please realize that your actions have an effect on others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2013
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2012
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Soma has worked so good for me it works really me with my pain medications that i take

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SOMA | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/1/2012
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carlos | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2012
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ALL medicines have a major impact on my system, not that i am elegiac to them but my body is very acute to them. 87mg of SOMA is equal to any other persons 350mg dosage

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lil | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/29/2011
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has helped

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rhonda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2011
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pain managemant--Physical Therapy,Muscle spasms

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/4/2011
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication does work. I've had to take it because I broke my back from L1-L4 and have had serious muscle issues since. This medication is effective, can make you sleepy at first but it does pass. This medication can be addictive, but that does go along with other medications as well. People will continue to abuse all sorts of medications, and those are the people who make life harder on the others who really need these types of meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/4/2010
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this in the past, and it helps with pain in my back alot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

depression and to help me sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/11/2010
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lilliekm | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this med for 10yrs and have had no side effects from its use. It has helped stop muscle spasms in my back more than I had hoped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia and suffer with pain throughout my body. I have been taking Soma for about 2 years and it really makes a difference. I spent 40 yrs in pain. I take the smallest dose that I can as I don't want to be sedated. As for side effects, the chronic pain made me moody, Soma helps my moods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mama T | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/2/2009
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm writing hoping to warn potential users to PLEASE BE CAREFUL! I've had severe,chronic pain-5+yrs & several serious medical problems with no hope for cure. I've had signifigant relief with Soma, but at the expense of my family's sanity at times. My husband & kids have threatened to leave me if I don't get my sometimes misuse of this med under control. I've taken Methadone,Morphine,Oxycontin...now Opana,Actiq(fentanyl)suckers, Lyrica & more. I;ve been under control with all, but Soma will sneak up on you quick. By the time you feel anything you're well on your way to trouble. Along with other meds it can make a difference(+ & -)& insomnia can make Somas attractive. Just remember they don't call it a Soma Coma for no reason. With Soma...Less really is more.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2063robyn | 45-54 | Female | Caregiver
1/18/2009
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

does anyone know if there are any lasting side effects of abusing soma compound?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momsrule666 | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/28/2008
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
musette dupre | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/5/2008
Condition: Sudden Uncontrolled Muscle Contraction with Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is in fact far more dangerous than an opiate. It causes parkinsons like tremors, a stupor, seizures, drug seeking behavior, which is in itself familial destructive , i would suggest taking a 5 mg valium before taking even one of these. I know someone that has taken over 15 of these at a time continuously and walked around in a idiotic stupor for 24 hours driving and everything . This drug should be banned completely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coreena | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/19/2008
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great medication, however, for me, it's like taking a sleeping pill. Have to fight to stay awake, but that side effect is worth the alternative, pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More