Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

Much to my hubby's delight, since being on this medication, my breast size has developed from a size A to a large B. I take the medication every evening, with food, to avoid upset stomach. I've found that I spot at least once a week during the three months w/o a cycle, however my period is light, almost non-existent. If you've had a laprascopy, as I have and are looking for something to a) decre...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I started this birth control two months ago and the first few weeks were fine. Once I completed the first month, I began to develop unsightly acne. It's a problem I continue to battle as I begin my third month. Worst of all, I've gained about 15 pounds. My normal weight is 100-105. I am nearing 120. No changes to my diet. I hope this is a short term side effect, but in the event it's not I will ce...

Shared reviews and ratings

Adrien345 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2021
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor recommended this Messi one because of the ovarian cysts that were reoccurring. One month in and I’m having the longest period I have ever had and heavier than normal. I understand it takes time to adjust and was trying, but I have also gained 10 pounds. I love to run and haven’t felt like running due to lack of energy and super emotional and anxious . My last birth control was way better and I didn’t have the horrible cramps that I am getting now!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alli | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on it for about two months now. The acne has healed wonderfully, the migraines are okay. However, I wanted to kill myself last night. I can't sleep anymore, I can literally stay up all night long to stare at the walls and then I'm so mentally drained and tired I can't function the next day. I've been bleeding for 3 weeks straight now. And having cramping from Hell. Also I'm having huge blood clots come out. I even took a picture of one and sent it to dr because I thought it was a miscarriage and she said no that's normal. I've messaged her again telling her that I'm still bleeding and I'm having panic attacks, and again she said, "hang in there, it takes the body a couple months to get used to a new birth control." I literally wanted to end my life last night. For NO reason. So, as I laid there in bed I googled this birth control and found out this is the generic brand of Seasonique... The one I Specifically told her I had been on in the past and did the same thing then!! After googling the reviews, about 80% of the people using it have the same side effects!!! Even suicidal thoughts. There's even one study on there that suggests that there was a higher percentage of suicide rates with women on this birth control than not on this birth control. I will not be taking this anymore, I'll probably just won't go back on one at all and just deal with the migraines and pms. I mean I literally had my suicide all planned out.It's awful fighting with your own mind. And husband don't understand what I'm going through so he just fusses and cusses me when I lash out. I literally can't help it. It's like something comes over me and takes over my mind. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fedup | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/22/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have now been on this pill for a year. The idea was to reduce menstrual pain by reducing the number of periods, but it has not reduced the pain at all. In fact, I PMS for weeks at a time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jessleigh1017 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for almost 2 months now. I had to switch over from a pill I loved because my new insurance wouldn't cover it. The first two weeks were good, since then I've had my period non-stop, I have the cramps, back pain, and headaches along with it. I am taking this medication to relieve those symptoms, but it is not helping at all. I definitely want t to switch from this pill, I cannot go any longer with these symptoms!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to this birth control because I started to develop hormonal migraines from the birth control I had been on for over 4 years. The first month after the switch was fine, but I have now spotted heavily everyday since. Very frustrating and at this point would rather just deal with the migraines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
L4U | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this birth control two months ago and the first few weeks were fine. Once I completed the first month, I began to develop unsightly acne. It's a problem I continue to battle as I begin my third month. Worst of all, I've gained about 15 pounds. My normal weight is 100-105. I am nearing 120. No changes to my diet. I hope this is a short term side effect, but in the event it's not I will certainly change my birth control method.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M. alves | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this birth control because I was getting my period twice a month for the last 2-3 years which was abnormal for me. So my doctor at first gave me Loestrin but that made me crazy. Then I was put on Seasonique Lo, the generic version is Camerise Lo. The first month was great! But then I got my period in the second month but it didn't last too long, my body was trying to adjust to the new medication. So the period went away after like 6 or 7 days but now all I have is brown spotting which I hope will go away. I am almost done with the second pack. But I can say it did wonders with my skin and I have even lost a couple of pounds with this medicine and it also altered my mood. When I wasn't taking this I felt like I was constantly pmsing and crazy cause of getting my period twice a month. over all I love this pill, just waiting it out to see if the brown spotting will go away. That's the only downside right now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adelaide | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The was absolute hell on earth for me. I decided after I started bleeding irregularly the second month it was normal and would just decrease over time, but no I have my period constantly and it's been five months. I'm now stopping the pill because it's such a nusense and there's no point in taking it anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
centauriununoctium | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this birth control in order to clear up my acne, it did nothing to clear it up. I also constantly had bleeding, and when I had periods, they were very very heavy. Typically, I do not get periods due to sports. I also gained about 5 pounds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
y4123 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2013
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

previously used nuvaring, switched because of insurance plan cost (free vs 90!)i followed directions for switching from ring to pill and have noticed no difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissMeBoHa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Instead of having a period once every three months, I had a month long period the first quarter. Now 6 weeks into my second quarter I am "spotting." It's light, but constant. I am quitting because I refuse to have another hellishly long period. The first time I thought I was just getting used to it, so I gave it another chance. My body should have adjusted by now. Since it hasn't, I quit. I have been on several different birth control pills. I choose this one because I suffer from menstrual migraines, thinking that only 4 bad ones a year would be more manageable. Instead, I have opted to get treatment for my migraines and go back to using a pill where I cycle monthly. Too bad, having to deal with visits from Aunt Flo just 4 times a year would have been awesome!:(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started having even more irregular cycles. I am at the end of my second month of using this and I have had four periods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first 3 month cycle went well with bleeding only in the last 3 weeks which I expected. After I had a period I went not even a full week and started spotting. Stopped after 28 days to reset my system and havent stopped bleeding ever since. My hair also started to fall out. Other than that I have no side effects but will be switching because of all the bleeding. And I always take my pill at the correct time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/21/2013
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was switched to camerese lo so i only would have painful periods and headache 4 times a year. everything went great for the first 3 months. it was by far the best pill i have been on...but the 4th month i noticed a severe loss of my beautiful long thick hair...it was sudden and i was scared. i wasnt stressing.i was exercising and taking care of myself. everytime i ever so slightly put my fingers on my hair id get a handfull of hair. wet or dry. i stopped the pill on thursday and now its sunday and i just lightly put my fingers through my hair and not one hair came out..i even had it in a hair tie..iam so happy. i hope this horrible side effect has totally disappeared for good. i will not be going on the pill anymore. id rather have cramps then lose my hair. hair loss is considered a "less severe" side effect..but for me its serious. thank you Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
2/23/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my first experience with taking birth control, I gave it 6 mos so I could really get used to it. I never had problems with pain, but the last 1 1/2 - 2 mos I had on and off period. It has been very bad for me as for only having a period every 3 mos.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2012
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was hard at first to always remember to take a pill when I wasn't going to be home but now it's Normal and my boyfriend is very happy he doesn't need to feel uncomfortable during sex anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/31/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a brilliant wonderful BC for me so far. I have mild endo with pain severe enough to cause me to vomit and pass out. I am currently using this pill for 6 month cycles. So 2 packages back to back with some light spotting. The dosages in most BC pills is too high for me, this has not been the problem with camreseLo. No side-effects except for some breast tenderness the first few weeks I was on it. Other than the fact that I need to take it at the exact same time every single day to prevent spotting, I've had no issues with this pill. Accept no substitutes. I have had extremely negative experiences with other generics of this pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Much to my hubby's delight, since being on this medication, my breast size has developed from a size A to a large B. I take the medication every evening, with food, to avoid upset stomach. I've found that I spot at least once a week during the three months w/o a cycle, however my period is light, almost non-existent. If you've had a laprascopy, as I have and are looking for something to a) decrease the pain and heavy flow of your period or b) keep endometrial tissue at bay, this would be the medication I recommend. From someone with sensitive skin and a fragile stomach, I hope someone else finds this review to be quite helpful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2012
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced very slight spotting and my acne (which wasn't so bad, only flaired up when I was on my period) got really bad. My whole face became covered with large unsightly blemishes. I've only been on it for three weeks, so maybe it'll get better but if it doesn't in the next two weeks I'm stopping, which is terrible since the 3 month pack cost me a little over $100.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JAYVDL | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2012
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two weeks after taking Camrese, I have been on my period ever since! The bleeding never stops. Some days it extremely light and other days its medium and heavy. I took this medication thinking I was going to have LESS periods but in fact, it is the opposite. I have read other reviews online and many people are in my same position. What gives?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More