Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

Was very pleased with this drug at first. My blood pressure was good but after being on it for almost 3 months I started having severe shortness of breath and severe back pain. I couldn't walk from the kitchen to the bedroom without shortness of breath. The pain in my upper back made it hard for me to do any outside work.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Doc replaced Valsartan with this drug. Took 1 pill in the morning along with other BP meds. At 6pm I was incoherent, fainty, wobbly legs and my fingers were tingling. I took no more!

Shared reviews and ratings

AliC. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/13/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only med that actually decreased my BP! I went from ~140/100 to ~110/70 in about 2 weeks. I experienced no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy camper | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/26/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had resistant Hypertension for 30 years. Tried literally everything. This worked within 2 weeks. BP dropped like a rock. Only side effect was occasional dizziness when it dropped too low. I can live with that. Much better than being too high for so long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BG3 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this medication a week ago. So far so good. Only negative is tired arms, but dr said I would feel that. I am satisfied thus far. I have plenty of energy and remain active.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried diovan,losartan,olmesartan and amlopidine. My best BP on these was 165/100. Been taking edarbyclor 2 weeks and my BP is already down to 145/90. Im so glad I change doctors and try put me on this!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David L | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/20/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had hypertension for many years 160/90 was the best control my Primary Care MD I could find.I had tried every hypertensive drug and combination of various Rx. My MD suggested I try something new. When I started with Edarbi and a small dose of HCTZ my BP had dropped to an average 130/70. My cost is $40.00 a month for a one month supply.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Okie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ithought Amlodipine was the worst pill I had ever taken for High blood pressure until I took Edarbiclor. Amlodipine just made my legs swell up as big as an elephant's and my hair fall out, but Edarbiclor, which I thought was going to work well on lowering my blood pressure, made me have an irreglar, very fast heartbeat and my blood pressure rise to 225/110 and I spent the night in the hospital where they finally got my blood pressure down and my diastolic reading was down to 35. They put me on Valsartan and I did very well on it... till they recalled it and now I can't find anything that really keeps it down. I am on Hydralzine, 3 of them three times a day. Still looking for something that works but have been messed up ever since taking Edarbyclor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/20/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this for about 8 months and had bad side effects. Never again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WoofboyX | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched because hyzaar was having decreased effect. First week results were volatile. Be careful, as my bp fluctuated from 140/100 down to 70/60. Stabilized eventually. I later decreased to 40/12.5 as the diuretic was too strong and my bp was too often coming out low and I was dizzy when first standing. Even at the lower dose I sometimes am. Working on losing weight now to go back to Hyzaar as this stuff is more expensive ($100 for 3 months compared to $4 for 3 months of generic hyzaar). I also think in general I felt better when I was taking only hyzaar, so if I can lose weight I'd rather take it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has given me extreme stomach pain, weakness and body pain, Now they say after being off it for three days . Maybe gallbladder, strange! I didnâ??t have any problems before I started edarbylor 40/25 , doctor also said not due to medication, I find that strange I have not taken any of this crap since Monday, today being Thursday blood pressure 115 / 63 pulse 76 with no meds since Monday : BP great with no other meds. Appears it still is in my system .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
avonraft | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/16/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have very stubborn high blood pressure. I have tried Benicar, AZOR, lisinopril, losartan, valsartan-hydrochlorothiazide, Plus others. Blood pressure is 170/110 without meds. About 140/90 with above. With Edarbyclor and Bystolic it is 130/80. Finally under control!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects and excellent results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave Wilkinson | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/25/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with stage II hypertension since 1992. It was stubborn and just would not reduce despite having so many medications prescribed over the years I have lost count. My BP was average 186/118, with high creatinine level and poor GFR. I am 71 years, prognosis not good! I was prescribed Edarbyclor six months ago, my BP is now 135/90 with much improved creatinine and GFR readings. The only noticeable side effect for me has been slight constipation. which has been easy to deal with. Edarbyclor for me has been a magical fix for my hypertension. I can see fro many other comments on this post that it does not suit everyone. My experience with hypertension drugs over 25 years has been awful for side effects of so many prescribed drugs. I feel fortunate to have found a drug that significantly reduces my BP and improves kidney function, I was cynical about prescribed drugs for years and had almost given up with it all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bajo! | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/23/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was administered in an emergency situation form a sample package in my doctor's office as my blood pressure was taken at 190/100 after 30 minutes my pressure steadily declined and leveled off at 140/80. This was a miracle! I have a history of HBP, STROKES, DIABETES and M.S, allergies galore nothing has EVER controlled my HBP with the help of Metoprolol Tartrate

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ATR3 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have stubborn high BP. Doctor switched me from Valsartan & HTZ to Edarbyclor 40/25 mg.(He described this as similar modes of action and slightly stronger). 3 weeks later, BP has gone down a little. So far so good. Maybe some tiredness (not that I read all the other comments)...I'll see how that goes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLyle | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doc replaced Valsartan with this drug. Took 1 pill in the morning along with other BP meds. At 6pm I was incoherent, fainty, wobbly legs and my fingers were tingling. I took no more!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tinkerbell | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Toprol XL and not the generic for over 10 years. Take 100 mg in morning and 100 mg in evening. BP went up to 198/105 this past wed. and went to ER. Then was told to see my primary doc within 2 days. She put me on edarbyclor 40 mg cut in half and take in morning rather than my Toprol. Big mistake since I can't take diuretics. It kept me from peeing. Also had many other horrible side effects. Went back to my usual dose of Toprol XL and feeling better already. Calling doc tomorrow. Took this awful new drug for only two days.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brian_in_AZ | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/8/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking up to 100mg of Metoprolol a day and it did NOTHING. Tried Lisinopril and Amlodapine; nothing but nasty side effects. Started Edarbyclor and my BP came down withing days. You really need to give it two weeks. My BP before Edarbyclor peaked as high as 199/100. Now it's typically 125/80. I don't notice the side effects others mention.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JLS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Always had low blood pressure. Got extremely sick, blood pressure was 244/166. Went to emergency room was giving a shot and pill and sent home. Family doctor seen the next day in stage three kidney failure. Was taking 5 different a day eleven times. Brought it down, but was consuming my life. Was put on edarbyclor and bystolic pressure is now 106/64. Do have the muscle weakness bad. And heart doing that hard flop feeling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rifleman52 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is terrible. After two days, I felt muscle weakness, heart palpatations, extreme dizziness (the worst side affect). This morning my BP reading was very high, 225/95, and I just doubled up on my old medication to bring it down. I already feel 100% better than when I took the edarbyclor. I'm currently on Metoprol 25mg twice a day. Maybe all I need is to increase that dose. Seeing doctor tomorrow for another consultation and will return the free samples to him.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More