Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

Alyacen has been great. I was switched after Necon was no longer available and have had the same great results. I've never experienced any of the side affects associated with some birth controls and I have been on it for 6 years.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

TERRIBLE! Would comment on its effectiveness but I had to stop after ONE WEEK. I was having allergic reactions to the patch so my Dr switched me to Alyacen. Much like several other reviewers the depression, anxiety, and mood swings were just too much for me. I wouldn't wish those feelings and thoughts I was having on my worst enemy. It's taken about three weeks for me to chill and be able to mak...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Alyacen for almost a year now in an effort to help my symptoms from massive (and multiple) uterine fibroids. Mood-wise, this pill is great. It has cleared up my skin - finally, at 36 years old - and I honestly think it has calmed my anxiety a bit. However, my bleeding is HORRIBLE, if not worse, than I was before. And that was the reason why I went on this. Terrible clotting, cramps, you name it. My doctor told me to take 3 pill-packs back to back and then use the placebo pills. I've done that twice so far and I am spotting more often than not with cramps. I'm not sure if this is the pill itself or the uterine fibroids. Other side effects include a very high platelet count on my bloodwork, elevated blood pressure, my boobs have increased in size, and I swear I've gained a few lbs. This can honestly happen with any birth control, though, so you need to expect all that. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 4 months postpartum had a baby in July since then I’ve been on tri-prefivem (switched since cvs stopped carrying it), I was then put on esteryalla (believe that’s how you spell it) but had to stop due to breakthrough bleeding, and was recently switched to alyacen 1/35 11/4/2021. I’ve had small spotting here and there since I’ve been on it, I was supposed to start 11/25/2021 but have not. I’ve taken two pregnancy tests one 4 days before I was supposed to start, and a when I was supposed to have gotten my period, both were negative and I still haven’t gotten my period yet I have 2pills left…?? needless to say I want my tri-previfem back it and I’m unhappy with this pill. Not bleeding is great don’t get me wrong but after being pregnant and getting my period to not having it at all because of this pill my anxiety has been through the roof, and I keep thinking I’m pregnant I just want my period back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moon | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking this for a month i just finished the last week and i feel so terrible, ive been so dizzy, nauseous to the point where i cant stand without feeling dizzy and like im about to puke. Ive been super depressed and anxious and the worst part is all of my cramps are 10times worse than they were before. Terrible ive thrown up 7 times this week and i am calling the doctor tomorrow. I am so upset that it isn't working as i have a job and school and clubs i cant miss. But ive been having to stay home because of how dizzy i am.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
madmurray | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for less than a month and I have gained almost 7 pounds. I am very fit and workout out 6 days a week and had lost almost 15 pounds right before going on Alyacen. My metabolism has slowed down so much also and I get very bloated after I eat which has never happened to me before. I have become so much more emotional as well. For example, today I got so upset that my towel fell off the towel rack in my bathroom. Like full on crying on the floor and everything! I am switching off of this immediately and I recommend girls do the same if they have the same symptoms as I do!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/28/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to Alyacen after my insurance stopped covering my preferred bc. The first two months were hell, breaking out, dizziness, moodiness. But my doctor told me to stick with it for at least six months to acclimate. It just got worse. My periods became unpredictable and I had breakthrough bleeding all month. The acne got worse, I gained weight, and the general dizziness became vertigo. One month switching to another pill and I feel so much better. If you get those initial side effects on Alyacen, don't wait. Switch. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mommy Of 2 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/26/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Necon 1/35 since 2008. For some reason a year ago i could no longer get Necon. So my doctor switched me to Alyacen 1/35. Im very unhappy with this new pill that i have now been on for a year. I start sweating for no reason, im emotional, i get dizzy, i have gained 20 pounds! I have never gained weight like this in my entire life! I'm thinking about getting off this pill sooner than later...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sydney3three | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/9/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this because I had very heavy periods while taking other birth controls, but this made them normal :) the only problem is that it caused me to have such bad cycstic acne . I just took minocycline and it cleared that all up . Other than that, it’s been effective and not caused any other bad side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just Toni | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it for 2 days and have been feeling like I have a thousand bees inside of me stinging me and my hands and feet feel the same I’ve been nauseous and my va-jj hurts for no reason! I do not like this bc at all! I can’t sleep at night when I take it I’m all jittery ! Definitely going to switch bc ASAP

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Omc | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/15/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffered two heart attacks from clots. Doctors saw no other reason th a birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hoottootboot | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on blisovi Fe 24 for a year before I started this, I had started BC for acne bc I never had cramp issues or excessive bleeding (jfyi). Blisovi did nothing for my acne and it made my cramps worse, ignored it for months but I then got to the point where standing w my cramps was impossible. I had almost passed out when I finally decided I needed to try something else. Dr gave my alyacen 1/35: my acne has finally cleared. Should mention that around the time the cramps got worse my acne became ridiculous, I was doing everything humanly possible to stop breaking out but would wake up with more and more acne that would never fully go away. The first month on alyacen I broke out with red tiny white heads allover my chest and face which terrified me, but I followed through. Just started my second pack and my face has never been this clear! I still get occasional break outs but now when I actually wash my face it helps instead of seem pointless and do nothing. I haven't had my period yet on this bc my Dr recommended skipping it entirely since my cramps had become so bad. Besides the heavenly help it's been for my acne, only con is my boobs have grown and been very sore( only a con bc I'm back to a DD none of my bras fit and it's hurting my back aka enjoy ur manageable small breasts those are gods gifts). I haven't noticed any mental changes except for some extra anxiety the first pack but I also had just moved and applied to jobs so that could explain the anxiety more. Just saying just encase anyone else felt that. Either way always give ur new BC at least one or two packs, if you still have problems don't wait like I did with blisovi. There's so many BCs and u will find the one for you so don't waste ur time on one of its doing nothing good for ya Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa041224 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2017
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ended up in the e.r. lasr weekend. I was bleeding extra heavy like never before. Almost a week later and my bleeding has decreased. Dont take it on an empty stomach. I suggest taking it at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jibjab93 | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/10/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Alyacen for over 3 years now, and have had no issue with it. It works; it's easy. I haven't had dizziness or nausea. I can't say my moods don't swing, but who's to say that's from the medication. I haven't had any depression nor increased anxiety. Any weight gain has been minimal and from my own laziness and/or bad habits. Overall, I've thought this has been an effective birth control that has not caused me distress and does its job. I will continue using it for the foreseeable future.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bribri9 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would not recommend this pill I took this pill to help with my acne and it has never been this bad in my life. My doctor switched me to yaz so hopefully it will be bettter then this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PPARSLEY | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first week or so definitely took some getting used to. I have been very dizzy and nauseous but if you are new to any birth control, these are common side effects. I have had a bit of a mood difference but nothing too abnormal. Weight has remained the same due to increase in fluids, exercise, and watching what I eat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yikes89 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/12/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

TERRIBLE! Would comment on its effectiveness but I had to stop after ONE WEEK. I was having allergic reactions to the patch so my Dr switched me to Alyacen. Much like several other reviewers the depression, anxiety, and mood swings were just too much for me. I wouldn't wish those feelings and thoughts I was having on my worst enemy. It's taken about three weeks for me to chill and be able to make it through the day without crying because I'm anxious or paranoid about something that hasn't happened. User beware. Wish I would've read reviews before subjecting myself to this. Thankfully my boyfriend was very supportive. Honestly, I didn't use this long enough to say the effects wore off but what I went through that first week and the following weeks was enough for me to say no thank you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SayNoToAlyacen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Alyacen 3 days ago. I took it the first night at 10pm - and by the next morning, I felt terrible! I had extreme nausea with vomiting urgencies, I couldn't eat, I couldn't drink anything - I would just want to vomit it back up. By 8pm that night, I was able to force myself to eat something. At 10pm, I grudgingly took the 2nd dose, and by the next morning, I felt the same. My stomach felt awful and was in pain. I had my doctor call in something low dose (I had previously taken ortho tricyclen lo without any issues). She called in Junel - I took Junel last night, and I am back to my normal self! Alyacen needs to be taken off the market. It is an awful medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MichiganGirl | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my second pack right now and I've had my blood pressure checked twice since I started it and it's through the roof! I'm normally just below 120/80 but just yesterday it was 159/98. About a week ago I went to the med stop and it was right around the same thing. I've also gained weight and been very moody. I'm calling my doctor in the morning because the blood pressure thing scares me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kellik0251 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is month two taking the pill. My doctor prescribed me to stop some postpartum bleeding.. Though it stopped for few days it came right back again.. I have been bleeding now for 3 months straight. It will stop for a few days and come right back.. I have been extremely dizzy, light headed, have headaches. I went grocery shopping and started sweating really bad and got dizzy like I was going to faint. My heart felt like it was beating out of my chest. I also have been extremely depressed, angry, emotional and retaining and obscene amount of water and got a rash of red dots all over my legs, neck and arms! STAY AWAY! This is the worst I have EVER felt! I am going to Essure!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heyannaa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/8/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Alyacen has been great. I was switched after Necon was no longer available and have had the same great results. I've never experienced any of the side affects associated with some birth controls and I have been on it for 6 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wickedaj87 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/17/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took 3 tries on this pill for me to figure out when it worked for me. I have pmdd and my periods last 7-10 heavy for about 5 days w/o birth control. Taking it right before bed works best for me. when I tried morning or lunch it made bloated and nauseous. I have noticed though that I forget 1 active pill by just 4 hours I start spotting within a couple days amd it lasts a couple more days which sucks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More