Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I was switched from Aviane at the pharmacy. The pill does work but I have been getting acne a lot more than when I was on Aviane. They have left acne scars on my face.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I am prescribed Aubra normally but when I get refills of my BC when I'm home from college Rite Aid always gives me Falmina and it is honestly the bane of my existence for the pay two summers I've been on Falmina I have had THE WORST ACNE OF MY LIFE it's terrible cystic acne all over my chin it ruins my whole day every time I wake up and see them DO NOT TAKE THIS BC it will ruin your skin!!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Stephanie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 49 & taking this because perimenopause has been hell in terms of mood swings & anxiety. I’ve been on this a little over a week & already feel so much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/15/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My periods got lighter and shorter but I’ve had a major increase in appetite and anger issues. Besides those I haven’t had any noticeable side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ana | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/28/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Falmina about 10 months ago. The first 2-3 months I had bad nausea and lingering migraines (which im already prone to). Now i'm happy to say that i have almost no issues with this drug. I have gained a bit of weight (mostly in my face) because it causes INSANE water retention!!!! I know thats normal with any estrogen intake. I also work out and have built more muscle which could be a cuprit to looking bulkier... Periods will sometimes start before placebo week but usually fine. My skin hasn't changed much, maybe a bit clearer. Libido and mood is fine! Everyone is different, and everyone needs time to adjust to a new medication (:Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/30/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have become so depressed and anxious on this medicine, I am not acting like myself and I cannot wait until my doctor prescribes me something else

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1234 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to leave a review because I feel like a positive one has been hard to come by. I was worried about starting Falmina because of all the bad reviews. Iâ??ve been taking it for about 5 months and Iâ??ve been very pleased. My acne is nonexistent, my period is lighter ( predictable), and I havenâ??t gained weight. I am 18 years old. Of course I have had mood swings (but what 18 year old female doesnâ??t)! This pill will be different on every body, but if you are thinking about trying Falmina I would recommend it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLN | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control has failed me on what it was meant to do! I have taken this pill religiously for 1 1/2 years and I am currently 3 1/2 months preggo with our third child! Obviously, we want a happy healthy baby. But this came as a huge shock. Like I said I took the pill correctly, set an alarm on my phone and never missed a pill. Surprise!! If you are considering this pill for birth control, I would highly recommend you seek an alternative pill. Like most, I trusted my doctor to recommend a pill for me, now I am by no means blaming him. But if I would of read the reviews, I would have thought otherwise on using this pill for as long as I did. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
j13 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/28/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Falmina is very effective-- my periods are predictable and regular, and I've never had any issue after having unprotected sex. However, the nausea is INDESCRIBABLE. I've been on the floor for HOURS vomiting-- especially susceptible after drinking or not eating enough. My anxiety has been through the roof, and occasionally I'll grow horrible depressed or have severe mood swings the week before my period. I will NEVER take this medication again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wildcatbell | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an almost immediate reaction to this medication. My period lasted the entire time I took it. I've never had acne and almost from the beginning my entire face was covered in acne. I stopped taking the medication after two weeks and the acne has continued. I am praying the side effect goes away soon. This has been an awful experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jrmky | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/29/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for almost a year and I hate it! I guess everyone's body is different but in my experience I lost all my sex drive. I am not motivated at all and there is days I don't even want to look at my husband. Everything annoys me and it used to take a lot for me to feel that way. If you wear contacts you will not be able to do so anymore, or at least for the whole day. I do not recommend this pill at all. I can't wait until my doctor prescribes me something else!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/25/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill when i was 17, and have been on it for 4 years. I remember before the pill my periods were very painful, and usually lasted about 9 days. The entire time on this pill my periods have been very normal and predictable, much shorter and less painful. I am about to start tri linyah, after talking to my doctor about the acne i've been excperiencing for the past 6 months to a year; cystic acne all along my chin and jawline that has gotten quite bad. Overall i have been very happy with this pill option, no mood swings or weight gain, but the acne has gotten bad, and i believe my libido has also been affected. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jacky | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently switched from a different birth control to this one Falmina and I do not like it. I had no problem with my previous one, but this one gives me the worst acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EmmyJoy27 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Sprintec before and hated it: brain fog, fatigue, mood swings, etc. I've only been on this pill a week so its hard to say if its effective. The first week I did have fatigue but so far no mood swings - and no decrease in libido! So far so good!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the past year I had been taking Orsythia which was switched to Aviane two months ago. No complaints. Actually I've never had any trouble with birth control pills ever. Last weekend I went in to pick up my refill which was another generic of the same brand called...Falmina. I can't even stand hearing that name now. Within a few days of taking it I felt insanely bloated stomach pains extreme chest pains and cramping that still won't go away even though I stopped taking it....I had to call another pharmacy to find Aviane and return this one. Do not take this medicine!!! It will most likely make you quite ill!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FalminaFail | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/24/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 7 years of being off birth control I went on this one after doing a lot of research into the types of progesterone and estrogen it contained. Originally I went off the pill because of depression so that was my main concern. This pill did not cause depression, cleared my acne and shortened my cycle. However after just 1 week I got severe stomach cramps, bloating and diarrhea. I went from 120 lbs to 114 in 3 weeks. It stopped during the plecebo week and started again with the 2nd month of active pills. I believe that it was the type of estrogen causing this problem with me. I'm going to try a different pill combination or possibly Mirena.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Martypartyhardy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am prescribed Aubra normally but when I get refills of my BC when I'm home from college Rite Aid always gives me Falmina and it is honestly the bane of my existence for the pay two summers I've been on Falmina I have had THE WORST ACNE OF MY LIFE it's terrible cystic acne all over my chin it ruins my whole day every time I wake up and see them DO NOT TAKE THIS BC it will ruin your skin!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzy11 | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my second month of taking these pills. At first I was really happy with them but then I had my first period while on the pill and it was a 10 day period and cramping almost everyday (before the pill my period was 5 days and only cramping the first day). I then began to have crazy mood swings I would become angry at my boyfriend for little to no reason at all, and one night I just randomly started crying. I am going to wait until my 3 months are over and I am gonna talk to my doctor about switching my pill. But the best thing about this pill is it did it's job by keeping me not pregnant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its worked great for me, I am on my thrid pack of Falmina. But, i am starting to have breast tenderness. I dont know if im just getting late side effects or what.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chooseyourjoys | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this birthcontrol for just over 10 days and have been sporting unexplainable acne on my face through that time. I've never broken out quite like this before. My bedding is clean and my diet is pretty much the same. I was switched on to this by my doctor, was previously taking Lutera without any complaints. Wanted to chime in to see if is acne has been an issue for anyone else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/22/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
raga0430 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on this medication for about 2 months. I started March 17th and it is currently May 3rd. The first month was fine, but just three days later on April 20th I started experiencing terrible side effects. I started getting really dizzy and then suffered a panic attack soon after. I then had diarrhea and severe nausea for about a week and a half along with throwing up twice. The nausea for the most part had subsided but the dizziness is still very persistent. I also started abnormally bleeding that keeps getting heavier. I've been having terrible anxiety attacks as well. Sleeplessness and waking up extremely anxious and nervous for no reason. My doctor told me I had to finish my third pack before I can be switched because it might get better before it gets worse. I think it's absolutely ridiculous because these side effects are ruining my life. I've never felt like this before. I just want to be myself again. UGHH. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More