Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

The side effects have become unbearable. Impotence, severe fatigue and weight gain.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I was on this medication for 2 weeks. Had side effects that were similar to the flu plus swelling of the left side of my throat, ear pain. Also there was a constant drip of fluid from the left side of my head down to my left ear. I stopped med after 2 weeks. I was treated for a ear infection 1 month later. I was seen in the ER for chest pain. Saw my primary during those first 2 weeks he felt it wa...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/30/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having bouts of horrible dry coughing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TGIF | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/21/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially, I was put on Lotrel 10/20 for moderate hypertension. I lost weight and improved lifestyle, and BP started being too low, so my Dr. lowered dosage to 5/10. I have successfully taken it for years (not really sure if Lotrel or generic; seems like it depends on pharmacy and/or changes in my insurance). I do not know if it is related to this med or not, but over the last year, I have developed extreme rash and unbearable itching. Dermatologist (I've seen 2 different ones) have prescribed a multitude of creams, moisturizers, steroids, etc. Possible diagnoses of contact dermatitis (no way). It changes locations (inside forearms, stomach, back, Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LionessC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/25/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused my blood pressure to elevate after taking for a couple of months. My numbers would be 158/108. I was dehydrated from urinating constantly. Swelling of fingers, ankles and feet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lunkerman187 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/4/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vjohnson | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medication for 2 weeks. Had side effects that were similar to the flu plus swelling of the left side of my throat, ear pain. Also there was a constant drip of fluid from the left side of my head down to my left ear. I stopped med after 2 weeks. I was treated for a ear infection 1 month later. I was seen in the ER for chest pain. Saw my primary during those first 2 weeks he felt it was the flu and my imagination. The left side of my head felt like it was closed up. Had ringing in my ears and decreased hearing, which was verified by hearing test. The ringing has lessened a lot over the past 2 years. Changed primary doctors and now on losartan hct and amlodipine, no side effects and controls bp.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
terry | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a scratchy throat that makes me cough all day & night. My cough is wet like water on my lungs. I have leg pain. My knee hurts more than every before. Been on it 2 mo. Dont like it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fearful | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting Lotrel, my lab work is showing low white blood cell. I wonder if the drug Lotrel is the cause of this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
y74oyz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/10/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very iritated w/the dry caugh which seems to be getting worse!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
truth_betold | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has lowered my b/p, but I have notice some serve side effects. My calves and feet swell, my joints ache, muscle fatigue, and headaches. My urine has change coloration which would suggest to me that this med is having a serve effect on my kidney. I've been on this medication for 4 months. It is my hopes that my new doctor will address this issue with a better solution to b/p treatment w/o the use of Lotrel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
10/15/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jimbo | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/29/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taking Lotrel 5/20 for 10 years with great results, now get generic brand for less.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/31/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherri | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/12/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only drug that has worked on my high blood pressure, I would love to be able to get it cheaper. I have UnitedHealthcare prescription coverage but I still had to pay $200 out of pocket. I have tried 9 + other high blood pressure drugs but none work like lotrel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/8/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has controlled BP but is affecting my kidney function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female |
12/29/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hihosteveareno | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/24/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on the generic Lotrel for about 5 years. Sometimes my BP is within "normal" range, sometimes it is high. I plan to consult with my doctor to see if he is concerned and wants to try something different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/29/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Lotrel 5/20 (reduced from 5/40) in morning and BP is a little higher first in morning. Doc sugested taking it evening/night. Any comment would be appreciated

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yolanda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine have caused me much grief and anguish over the short period that I used it. I have had a dry cough for last 3 1/2 months and along with being faced with a swollen tongue. Need to add to my discomfort a wasp stung me while on this medicine. I have been in an out of the doctors office for this dry cough but sadly to say I have found no relief. I wear sanitary napkins daily because the cough is so hoarse that urine seeps out. When in public places and the dry cough occurs people stopped and stare. They dont know that it is not coming from the cold or flu. I am a mail processing clerk at the United States Postal Service and this has been very difficult to maintained around my coworkers. In church the cough was annoying so I have been missing church services and avoided going to social functions. However, I have to keep a bottle of water with me at all times even upon retiring at night. I have cough drops, lemons, pepper mint and robitussin (LONG ACTING COUGHGELS). I need some relief and I want my life back. Please help me. I am an Afro-American female and I was not aware of the discomforts associated with this drug. This drug should be ban.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/18/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Controls BP - only side effect is dizziness. Used to never get car sick...now have to be very careful and keep Meclizine close by.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lanny | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/2/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taken this drug for 10+ years very successfully to help control high blood pressure. Effective and no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More