Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this pill for almost three years now. My period used to come for 2 weeks at a time with heavy cramps and bleeding. With the pill, I get my period on a Tuesday night, exact for every month. Recently I've noticed spotting however between cycles which has never occurred before. Other than that, this pill has made my cycle so much easier and lighter! Just curious as to if anyone has not...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Does this birth control make your period come every 3 months or every month?

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have recently got on Kurvelo back in June I have had two periods in June I stopped taking it for a week to stop the spotting I’m currently having a brown discharge and having a little bloody clots but I can’t get rid of the brown discharge I thought the week off would help me I read on Google what to do I have been taking the birth control everyday I been having headaches and nausea with it and a little abdominal cramps maybe it’s time for me to switch to another birth control pill because Kurvelo isn’t doing it’s job I’m calling the doctor tomorrow Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K4me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/29/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Kurvelo for several years now. Anytime I have tried other generics (Portia, Altavera, etc), I break out terribly. I was recently told my pharmacy was no longer able to order Kurvelo. I tried 1 other generic and am now switching pharmacies so I can go back to Kurvelo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kida | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Levora but got switched to Kurvelo bc I had to change providers. It was the worst month 1/2 ever. The first day after taking it I had spotting, headache, nausea weakness, and horrid cramps. Then for a few days it was fine. Then the cramps and nausea came back worse. I had trouble riding in the car bc I would get so car sick, I honestly thought I was pregnant. Then my period came (late) and knew it was the birth control. I was bloated for weeks. I would get horrible cramps early in the morning and then lesser but still bad ones throughout the day. And headaches every morning too. Then the worst of it all. It started off as just me feeling hungry all the time, despite having just eaten. It was just uncomfortable at first. But then it became this 24/7 starving pain, no matter what I ate. It was so bad it would keep me up at night and wake me when did manage to fall asleep. It was so horrible that I had to stop taking it immediately.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1999 | 19-24 | Patient
5/24/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been one of the worst experiences of my life. Nausea, heartburn, throwing up, crying, mood swings. I am deeply dissatisfied with the results of this birth control and am stopping immediately. Do not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cerealgirl | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control has destroyed me over the past 2 months. I have never felt more depressed and i cry over almost everything. I gained 7 pounds and can't find the motivation to do anything anymore. i highly recommend staying away from this birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tintely | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Little to no side effects, effective. Have been on it 3 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph | 45-54 | Female | Patient
5/17/2020
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Migraine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMBERTHEGR8 | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nobody | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched from Levora - and this one is awful. I’m bleeding on it second tome in the month now - they assured me it’s “exact same thing as Levora”. I don’t feel like myself! I can’t get out of bed! I have no energy and I am forgetful!!!! I’m HATING this so much . I was doing so well on Levora!!! But pharmacist said they were out of Levora! Well now my whole system is screwed up are you happy now? Now I may have to have a surgery or die!!!!! This drug is death!!!! Can you hear in my voice what this garbage drug is doing to my brain?!! And pharmacists are killing you!!!! Pharmaceutical companies are killing us !!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
manda | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on kurvelo for the past 6 months and it is the best birth control I have ever been on so far. On past birth controls I became very depressed and emotional, gained weight, and my severe cramps persisted. Kurvelo has not effected my mood at all, increased my appetite and have not had cramps as bad as they were before starting this BC. I also have not had any pregnancy scares since starting this birth control also my breast did grow about a cup and a half and skin is clearer which i didn�t mind. The only con I would have to say is that since starting this birth control I have been getting random feelings of nausea but they don�t last very long and have decreased the longer I�ve been on it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/27/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's effective as a form of oral contraceptive, in the sense that I have never had a pregnancy scare in my years of use. However, (this is the most effect OC I've been offered due to previous medical conditions) it should be noted that continues cycle CAN and for myself (and my sisters) WILL make you spot. It's annoying, but I'm not pregnant, so there's that! It's a hormone, so expect some psychological and physical changes... no one has zero side effects. Mine include spotting through continuous cycling, even with "real" periods every three months and dry skin.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kaiweerosee98 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Recently started Kurvelo due to me having PCOS, before i would get my period for up to 2 months at a time. Sometimes heavier than others. Now that i started this birth control i have had a pretty regular period, aside from cramps (which i never had before) and very very heavy flow. This is my first month on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taylor | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/8/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for almost three years now. My period used to come for 2 weeks at a time with heavy cramps and bleeding. With the pill, I get my period on a Tuesday night, exact for every month. Recently I've noticed spotting however between cycles which has never occurred before. Other than that, this pill has made my cycle so much easier and lighter! Just curious as to if anyone has noticed spotting after a while of usage whereas not before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skylar | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/1/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first few months on the pill were difficult to get through but it's smooth sailing from the on. It's a small pill, easy to swallow. My periods are very very regular (about the same time every single month) which they weren't before using the medication. I definitely recommend it because it's cheap and effective and I forget I'm on it. As for use for weight and acne, I can't really comment because I've always had acne and a weight problem and didn't notice any change in either on the medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VFer | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for about 5 months now. Before taking this I had heave periods with many blood clots. Now that I'm taking this medication I have had light blood clots. It has worked well in preventing pregnancy. I had no symptoms. Just a little neusea the first two weeks or so. Overall I am very happy with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does this birth control make your period come every 3 months or every month?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/1/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I see a lot of the reviews here, which saying they feel awful. Well yes, it's a hormone, which will make you a little emotional. Especially one to fight against pregnancy I've been on it for about six months, at first the emotional rollercoaster kind of sucked, but it only lasts for about a month or two. After that, it's been great, effective, and my periods are super light and painless.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within the first week I gained 8 lbs due to water retention....not happy about that. I was hoping it would get better, but it hasnt after 9 wks, so I am starting a dif one tomorrow. Also experienced really bad pms. I was REALLY sad, and irritable. Will not take this again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jackie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pharmacy gave me this as a generic form of Altavera. Spotting and heavy bleeding since taking this product. Vast difference from the brand name going to switch back when able to refill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/10/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched to this brand after I had an allergic reaction to my other one. It works, I had some heavy periods before taking this brand and I've had no side effects at all after taking this medication for a year now. Also I'm not pregnant nor have I gotten pregnant or had any scares after being in a relationship throughout the entire period. SO if you take it regularly as you should, it will work -- it has for me anyway. I have no headaches, no acne, no spotting, my periods are very light and go away after two or three days now, which is nice. I haven't had any nausea or anything at all. I just take it and it works. It was perfect for me. Thanks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More