Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

I’m a 23 year old female who has had acne issues since about 12 years old. Topicals like Differin got me through my teen years until my adult acne started up around age 21. I tried an antibiotic called Solodyn, which worked wonderfully, but isn't a permanent fix unless you want to take it every day for the rest of your life. My doctor told me my long-term struggle with acne made me a prime cand...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

Hello everyone I just started Absorbca for my face today at 40mg. I'm very very nervous. I just took my first dose. I'm afraid of the mental health side effects. I'll deal with the dry skin and muscle pains and even severe breakouts.. I just don't want the mental health side effects. My doctor laughed and told me that's the least of my worries I should be nervous about that.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son had light acne (pustules) on his jawline, but the dermatologist was worried about him scarring. He went on Absorica LD, and he got huge nodules and cysts (a type of acne he never had) all over his cheeks (a place he never had it). Nearing the end of treatment, and acne is gone, but he's left with rolling scars all over his cheeks. It did more damage than good. I wish he never took it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rsatx | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absorica Helped me regain my confidence, i used to hate the way i looked because of my acne and thought it made me look ugly. Ive tried everything else (creams, lotions, antibiotics ) and none of it worked. Now i can say after being in remission of my acne for about 4 years that this is a miracle acne medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justin | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2018
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Letâ??s start out by saying I am not the typical patient. I am a 47-year-old male in good shape. I have had acne my whole life and I have controlled it through a variety of ways (Lotions, antibiotics, etc.) Last year I developed Nodular acne mostly on the back of my head. The acne was painful and causing headaches and would sometimes bleed on my pillows. I started Absorica exactly 5 weeks ago and my skin, including back of my head, is significantly better. My Triglycerides level on my blood tests has risen but is still in the normal range. To maintain the level, I have committed to less sugar and low carb diet. The combination is supposed to lower the Triglycerides. So far so good. I will report back next month.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mk AlexM | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2017
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started out with sever acne that scarred. I am on my fifth month of absorbica and have loved what it has done to my skin. Though my akin is dry I have had the referral to use aquaphor for my dryness. This drug has made my skin look as it should without acne. Please note that this drug makes your skin very sensitive do not stay outside in the sun without sunscreen because you will burn twice as fast.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Can90210 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2017
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello everyone I just started Absorbca for my face today at 40mg. I'm very very nervous. I just took my first dose. I'm afraid of the mental health side effects. I'll deal with the dry skin and muscle pains and even severe breakouts.. I just don't want the mental health side effects. My doctor laughed and told me that's the least of my worries I should be nervous about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noabsorica | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/23/2017
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went from mild acne to the WORST case of acne ever. Months of being on this drug with million times worst (is there even such a thing - was in my son's case). Finally the doctor listened and switched him to clarvis and within a couple of weeks it cleared but not before absorica wrecked his self esteem and left him with scars that will need to be corrected through resurfacing. We are not dramatizing what actually happen. Absorica is the worst of the worst.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2015
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my 4th month of absorbica. My first month i was on 40 mg and my skin cleared up after the first month! I have dry lips, dry eyes, and sometimes get lower back pain, but it is sooo worth it! I have no acne and feel so confident. It is pretty hard to stay out of the sun and not drink, but I know it will be worth it in the long run :) My dr says my skin looks perfect, but wants me to stay with the 6 month treatment time just so my pores are for sure trained to not produce too much oil like before. I give this medication 5 stars! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marykinca | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/8/2015
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is on his 4th month of Absorica and finally starting to see real results. He took a 6 month course of a generic Accutane one year ago. Initially the first course of medicine brought results but four months after completion of the 6 month treatment his acne returned worse than ever. His dermatologist recommended trying Absorica. He is finding less side effects with Absorica. Previously he experienced extremely dry lips and skin, extremely achy joints and muscles, headaches and terrible hang nails (to the point of experiencing pain when picking up items or accidentally hitting his hands or fingers). With Absorica his lips are not nearly as dry and he is hardly experiencing the muscle and joint pain. His skin is dry and flaky so he applies moisturizer several times a day and he just started to develop a painful hang nail but not nearly as bad as last time. Sun burn with both medicines (Absorica and Accutane generics)is always a concern so lots of sunscreen is used when going outside.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Plcoco | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2014
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So grateful for this medicine! Been under treatment for five months for Rosacea with minocycline which only helped the redness, not the bumps and swellings. Now using Absorica four weeks with dramatic results. Taking 20 mg a day with no side effects. 30+ years ago I took Accutane 80 mg per day for five months to treat stubborn cystic acne and it worked! I endured terrible side effects at that dosage, such as lips peeling in chunks, pink eye for two months and generalized dryness throughout my body. Almost gave up numerous time but managed to hang in and glad I did. All these years later I'm being helped by an isotretinoin again - this time no side effects at all with the lower dosage. If you suffer from persistent rosacea, consider Absorica. It's a miracle for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
collegestudent3 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2014
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on my 14th or 15th day and so far my acne isn't as bad, but there are some acne still developing. My dermatologist said it would get worst before it got better. My skin on my face and hands are dry. I've had really bad chapped lips to the point where they split, but that's because I was in DC for the first few days and I didn't have my Vaseline. Using Vaseline or the Vaseline lip therapy (balm) helps a lot! I've noticed one day that the corners of my mouth got really cracked and they are swollen and hurt really bad and I have a difficulty eating, drinking and talking. I've tried Lotrimin Anti Fungal to help it and it helped a little and then they started to come back. I might have this issued because I have an iron deficiency at times and that can be a cause. My dermatologist told me that I should be seeing results within 12 weeks if not sooner because my skin is already drying out from the IC Spironolactone Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess17 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2014
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am just starting my second month of Absorica, and so far the only cons is the dry lips, and dry skin. I have also developed eczema. On the plus side, my acne and the severity of it has decreased significantly, which is a huge plus. My skin is very sensitive to sunlight now, so I definitely recommend sunscreen. So far, so good. I will post again when I complete my course, which is 5 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenn1990 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2014
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a 23 year old female who has had acne issues since about 12 years old. Topicals like Differin got me through my teen years until my adult acne started up around age 21. I tried an antibiotic called Solodyn, which worked wonderfully, but isn't a permanent fix unless you want to take it every day for the rest of your life. My doctor told me my long-term struggle with acne made me a prime candidate for Accutane, specifically a kind called Absorica. After reading all of the information, scary possible side effects, and additional side effects for women who get pregnant while on the drug, I was a little nervous but ultimately decided that my overall good health made me a prime candidate. I'm so glad I tried it. After just 5 months, my nodular acne is gone and even my blackheads I've had on my nose and chin since 12 years old have disappeared. My complexion is clear and I never thought it could be this way given my history with acne. Though the side-effects are scary and there are a lot of negative reviews online, I suggest you do your own research and make a decision based on you and you alone. I couldn't be happier with the results and am glad I decided to take the leap. With the monthly blood work and checkup with your doctor, I feel as though severe health problems would be apparent and action could be taken before anything serious happened. This is merely my opinion, but I wanted to make sure I shared my positive experience because it seems like reviews online are mostly negative and I don't think they accurately reflect what the drug can do if taken properly by a healthy person who is monitoring their health along the way.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DEB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2013
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Rosacea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I USED AMNESTEEM A GENERIC ACCUTANE FOR MONTHS WITH NO SUCCESS. MY ACNE WORSENS, I HAD DEEP CYSTS AND THE BUMPS ACTUALLY OOZED! I AMA FEMALE, OVER 50 AND NEVER EVEN HAD ROSECEA ISSUES UNTIL I HIT MY 40S. THIS LAST TIME IT WAS AWFUL AND SPREAD OVER MOST OF MY FACE. EVEN WITH MAKEUP I DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE THE HOUSE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More