Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this for 18 days and have a great experience. Loss of appetite, cannot eat as much as I used to. Lower Blood reading levels. Very little stomach discomfort (not pain) I am an emotional eater and do not have the urges to eat as I used to.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

So far, I can't write much of a comment, at this point; I have only used it for 3 days. Also, I am taking a different oral medication at the same time (3 days).

Shared reviews and ratings

Terry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/15/2020
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication in 2018 with a weight of 256 lbs. With this medication combined with metformin along with a very good diet, intermittent fasting four days per week, and exercise, my weight is now 187 lbs. My blood sugar is 82. My H1AC is 5.1. I have no side effects at all using Victoza.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zandalee | 65-74 | Female | Patient
4/21/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very happy with Victoza. Makes you feel much better, seems I have more energy. Blood sugar was 646, took victoza several days and watched what I ate and it was down to 145. Not happy with the price, did pay full price 3 times. Now new insurance covers it. Price $35.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judith | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/10/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I went from .06 to 1.2 I felt sick to my stomach. My doctor had be wait a little longer to change. Worked well and I've lost 30 pounds, very happy about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disappointed in Victroza | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine made me very sick at 0.6 starting dose. I started at 0.3 and moved up a little each week. I have now been on 1.2 dose for 4 weeks. Take the shot at 6:00 pm. I am usually too sick with nausea to do anything the rest of the evening. I have not lost any weight, nor seen any results of blood sugar owering. It about the same. Medcine is SUPER EXPENSIVE. It covered by my insurance, but for $400 per month I would expect it to actually work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sad | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began 10 days ago with the lowest dose and side effects are dizziness and headache. Bumped it up to 1.2 now I have diarrhea and couldn't even go to work today. How long does this side effect last and can I take Imodium to control the diarrhea?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Naleek | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/26/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this but the side effects were horrible. The heartburn, nausea, great scott. I will say however that it did bring my blood sugar down very fast and kept it at 100. Needle was very small. This drug was not for me because of the side effects however if your Dr. has prescribed it to you then dont hesitate to try it. Like I said it does work and it works well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for 2 months, when got to full dose had continuous heartburn, diarrhea, continuous nausea & massive headache. It lowered sugars really well & added benefit of significant weight loss. Too bad I was sick all the time. I am trying something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KeyWestMike | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/16/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Insurance forced me from Byetta to Victoza due to the cost. I am using 1.8 once a day and getting poor am readings in the 200-250 range with Victoza so I am researching alternatives. With Byetta I was always 140-160. I tried Bydereon, once a week exenatide, but the needle was enormous and worse it left a lump at the injection site. But it also contained my am reading to 140-160. I will give Victoza another course and hope for improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Macgregorlass | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Let me first say that I just started this medication and am still on the starter dose of 0.6, but already I can feel my cravings and desire to eat subsiding. I have had some intermittent nausea but it's mild and tolerable. Only other side offect was a mild headache and my fasting blood sugar was 77 this morning. 77! I am also on Invokana and Glipizide and without the Victoza my sugars were in the 180s-200s fasting. Also, for those dreading the needle, it is tiny. I felt only one of the three needle sticks so far and the one I did feel was much less painful than sticking my finger to check my blood sugar, which I do multiple times a day. Don't let fear of an injection keep you from considering this medication as an option. I will update once I have been on Victoza for a longer time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/12/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After two years of taking Victoza, my blood sugar came down from 7.0 to 5.7 A1C, and I've lost 30 pounds. I'm thrilled! Also, using Reli-On 4 MM/32Gauge pen needles from Walmart. Much more comfortable than the BD needles. All I'm not too happy with is the cost of Victoza.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
womanofthewolves | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/17/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My levels are excellent and for the first time in years my weight is going down!!! Taking this has been the best decision in a long time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would highly recommend this product to others. I had an upset stomach when first prescribed but that only lasted a couple of weeks. In 5 months I have lowered my A1C from 7.0 to 5.8. I have lost 16 lbs. I have more energy and feel great. I take with 2x/day Metformin. I exercise daily and eat a reasonably healthy diet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WEHOck | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/7/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WOW, tremendous reduction in daily sugar readings. Was at 300+ everyday. I took the wrong dose for 4 weeks taking 3 times per day even during the ramp up. Was told to go to once per day and the med will last longer without refills. My numbers are now 85 to 97 fasted and jump to 127 after meals. I have also lost some weight due to less appetite. It will be interesting to see if the proper dose 1.8 once a day will still keep my numbers in check.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ohiofdavis | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a week of taking it my numbers went from 190 to between 97 and 124 routinely. My fasting numbers in the morning were slightly higher 140-154 but leveled out throughout the day. I am taking a 2x daily dose of Metformin with Victoza. After a month I have seen weight loss of 10 pounds. If it continues I am on target to lose 60 pounds in 5 more months !!! Slight diahrrea at the beginning of dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jrwhite | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was fine taking .6 and 1.2 dosage, when I increased to 1.8 I had injection site hives (very large 3-4 inches) that appeared 24-48 hours after injection. I have reduced back down to 102 and the reaction has continued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy numbers are lower | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When i first started taking victoza it made me feel like I had a stomach virus because if the vomiting and diharrea. I stopped taking it for a week and restarted taking it. In the beginning my fasting numbers were 250+ after 3 months of taking it my numbers are 120 and less.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far, I can't write much of a comment, at this point; I have only used it for 3 days. Also, I am taking a different oral medication at the same time (3 days).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MicheleD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/15/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this for 6 months with a gradual increase in dosage to 1.8 per day. My A1C went from 9.6 to 8.1. I expected it to be lower as I have also lost over 50 lbs. The worst side effects I have are bloating, if I eat more than a small amount and a sour stomach of the worst kind. Even went as far has having a bunch of Gastro tests but all were negative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ShadeyL | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/14/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On this medication for more than 2 years... lost 20lbs. Controls my glucose levels and A1C down from 8.1 to 6.4. No side effects, but a little constipation. Great drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sweetsue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/31/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being nauseous for a week, the drug was fine. The third week I started getting heartburn which continued into the 4th week. I'm waiting to see the doctor to see if this is a typical side effect and how long it lasts. I would hate to give it up as it has lowered my after meal blood sugar by at least 30. Has anyone else had this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More