Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Delzicol for about 10 months now, I feel that the Asacolseemed to work better with no flareups... Have been experiencing more lower back pains, and anxiety related issues with tingling and prickly skin. Never experienced this while on Asacol. I realize they are suppose to be the same medication, but never had these symptoms while taking the asacol. Just wondering if anyone else h...

Shared reviews and ratings

BeaverD | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Asacol for years, and did not have the flare-up I have with Delizcol. I was told it was the very same drug as Asacol, but if you check, the active ingredients are the same but the inactive ingredients are totally different. I have been on this drug for about 2 years, and have had nothing but problems. I go back to the Dr. in November, if now before, and we are going to have to try something else. I have been taking the pill out of the covering because my stomach would not digest it, but still no luck with any help from this drug.....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mday | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/27/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this drug for my UC about 12montsh on or off-the only side affect I get are the headaches and slight lower back pains. I stop when using when my flare ups are gone. My flares have been less and less. But when I do get them Delzicol stops the bleeding immediately regulates my stomach.The reason I dont take everyday because Im super sensitive to medication. Prolong use cause issues for me in other areas. However that being said this is one of the UC meds that by far have helped me more then anything else out there in the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially I had a few bouts of dizziness, muscle and tendon discomfort (cramping) which seemed to subside. Have noticed intermittent very dark (orange/reddish) urine which concerns me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
10/9/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Asocol for years, doctor prescribed Delzicol. I discovered that inside the Delzicol capsule is the Asocol tablet. Spoke to pharmasist and he said that it is now delayed release. I wonder???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beaver67 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/21/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to start taking the pill out of the capsules. The capsules would not dissolve and caused lots of stomach problems. I take 6 pills a day and have more flares up than I ever did on Asacol. They say the active ingredients are the same as asacol, but if you check the inactive ingredients, they are totally different that Asacol. I have a serious heart condition and since I have been on delzicol, I have had a lot more irregular heart beats and slower heart beats. I go back to my Dr in August, and plan on having a long talk with him about this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D Rob | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/18/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only negative is the bloat you feel until you body gets use to the medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justatarheel | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2015
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 4 ft of my large intestines removed when I was very young. Over the last 15 years or more, have been having severe mid-stomach/lower bowel pains. Had endoscopy and sigmoidoscopy. All is good but inflammed colon. Doc put me on this medicine but after taking, it seems to make me feel very bloated. Anyone else experiencing this side effect?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
msgtrebholtz | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on this for a couple months. Recently ive developed muscle and joint pain. It feels as though someone hit me across the chest with a baseball bat. I have trouble sleeping flat too. I hate to stop taking it because its does a great job on my UC symptoms. I started on lialda but cant afford that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lebx8 | 65-74 | Male | Patient
7/26/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally have blood pressure readings that ranges from 200+ over 110+ and. Dropping to 80'sover40's. Since taking Delzacol my bp have been in the 90's over 50's but never over 115 over 80. Not sure what is going on but chronic dirareria seems better and bp is steady even though low..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/25/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Once Asacol (with which I had zero issues) went off the market, I went on this, which coincided with my 2013 annual colonoscopy. I never quite recovered from the combo, having bloody stool that a couple suppositories could never quite get rid of. I had my 2014 annual colonoscopy in May and am doing even worse now: more blood, abdominal pain, and diarrhea. I'm on the highest dose of Delzicol and my doctor was already talking about changing my medication prior to the colonoscopy. He wanted a three month review after it, but I had to move that date up given my new issues. Not a fan.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has any one else having a reaction after you have been in the sun for awhile? I had been on Asacol for 20 yrs and I thought one of the side effect with a reaction to sun but I don't see that side effect on this drug. I still feel crappy the day after being in the sun. any one else?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/22/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FrustratednNY | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/18/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Delzicol for about 10 months now, I feel that the Asacolseemed to work better with no flareups... Have been experiencing more lower back pains, and anxiety related issues with tingling and prickly skin. Never experienced this while on Asacol. I realize they are suppose to be the same medication, but never had these symptoms while taking the asacol. Just wondering if anyone else has had similar side effects?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nana | Female | Patient
10/22/2013
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Asacol for 20 years and had everything under control I switched to delzicol because the drug co. decided not to make the asacol any longer. The delzicol was very hard to swallow, got stuck in my esophogus, and caused severe heartburn.On top of the I broke out in a severe case of the hives. When I realized the asacol tablet was inside the capsule I just removed the capsule and started taking the tablet alone(with the advice of my gastroenterologist). Things seem to be getting back to normal now. I think it was just a ploy from the pharmaceutical company not to give patients a generic brand. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raven | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2013
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The new timing requirements are hard to follow. 2 hrs before a meal and 1 hr after you take the medication. That's 3 hrs of not eating...and thats hard for me to manage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have felt terrible since I started taking this, go to my Doc soon to find out what to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was hard in the beginning to remember when to take this medicine but once I did it's second nature now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tlist2 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The capsule tends to stick in the throat or or on it's way going to the stomach. The tablets inside the capsule do not disolve and pass right through to the stool. (Rarely had this issue with asacol). The insurance company rates it as a tier 3 drug, making my cost 40% higher. Within 3 weeks of starting this I had the worse flare of my life (UC since 1985). I do not recomment this drug for anything except as a door stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimi | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Ulcerative Colitis and took Asacol for 1 year until manufacturer recommended switching to this. These are a little harder to swallow, but they do seem to dissolve more thoroughly. I have not noticed any difference in therapy outcome. I take 8 tabs a day (3,3,2) and I would like to decrease, but even though symptoms have mostly relieved, my SED level is still elevated. Will continue on this. So far, no problems or concerns 3 months into it. Transitioned fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More