Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this for almost a month and a half, so I think it's been long enough to review. I have never taken any birth control pills before and got mine from Planned Parenthood. Foremost, it's effective since I'm not pregnant (let's keep it that way for now). Periods are slightly lighter, but I've always had a light period. I have acne-prone skin. My skin has slightly improved, but still ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I only took one pill for one day (I know not long at all), but immediately felt a couple side effects and as the day went on, I was experiencing many many symptoms. It freaked me out and I'm not going to take it anymore. At first I felt nauseous and dizzy/headache. Then after a couple hours the crazy mood swings and emotional roller coaster kicked in. I was going through all the emotions-angry...

Shared reviews and ratings

Ash | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this pill for 3 months now and it’s worked well, my period is wayyy lighter and I’ve experienced zero to little cramping. Also not pregnant which is very good too. However, I have found myself to be extra emotional and experiencing increased migraines which may be related but I’ve also have a history of headaches and migraines so it may just be a separate issue with bad timing. Hasn’t been too bad though, worth helping my periods and avoiding pregnancy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Aubra and at first I didn’t have any issues and thought i found the birth control that was right for me. For the past couple of months, I’ve had really bad mood issues, i bleed almost constantly even if it is just spotting, and it makes me hungry all the time. I definitely do not recommend this brand of BC.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claudia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/18/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does the job but it gives me nausea here and there. It gives me mood swings too. Ok the good side no cramps no pregnancy. I’ve been using this for two years !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RMLH | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/3/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on hormonal birth control pills for about 8 or 9 years now. I switched from a different brand to Aubra at some point but I think it was the same meds inside it. Honestly, I don´t remember much about when I first started taking it while my body was getting used to it, but it´s been great pretty much the entire time. I have almost zero acne, and I only have a period (with no symptoms other than light bleeding) every 3 months or so. I just continue on to the next pack when my 21 pills are used up, and keep doing that until the spotting starts, and then at the end of that pack, I take a break from the pills for 4 days to have my period, and then on to the next pack. That is the plan my doctor told me to use and it works great! The only possible negative sides I can see are a loss of libido (I pretty much don´t care about sex unless the other person initiates, and then I´m all for it), and I realized recently that it could be the cause of my lack of passion in things. I just kinda go through life and take what's coming to me. I don't think that I have depression but maybe that's because I feel numb to the good and the bad emotions? I don´t know, that's why I´m here reading others' reviews... It´s been almost 10 years, I have no idea who I am without it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LoLo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/7/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this for a month and everything was great...then I started getting horrible headaches and nausea everyday. I kept taking it for a long time cause I was scared to get pregnant. After about 1 year it made me severely depressed and suicidal, once I got off this medication I was totally fine. Would not recommend it was the worst experience of my life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Asya | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/23/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not experience any physiological changes after taking Aubra. Same weight, same skin (skin was already pretty clear), same sex drive, same mood. I experienced break through bleeding for 17 days, but once it went away my periods became short, light, and painless (I used to suffer from nauseating cramps). Have been taking this birth control for over 5 years now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gotabloodclot | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/14/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got a DVT blood clot from this medication. I would advise against it! I had no other indicators for blood clots.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clare56t | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Aubra for a month and a half until my side effects got so bad I had no choice but to stop. I felt amazing for the first month besides minor mood swings. It made me breakout more than usual, but nothing to major. By the second month, I began to have chest pain and extreme nausea to the point I couldn't eat more then once a day. It made me extremely anxious, I had to cancel everything for 4 days because I couldn't leave my house. I constantly felt like I needed to go to the ER. I have never felt so sick in my life, I was so lightheaded I thought I would pass out about 5 times a day, which made it really hard to go about daily life. I wish I could've made it past the third month, but the benefits are way less then the quality of life I felt. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SAD | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DVT BLOOD CLOT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emilyyyyyy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/31/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when I first started taking this medication, I really hated it. It made me break out really bad, and my breasts were probably constantly sore for three months straight, my mood swings were horrible. But as soon as my body adjusted to the medication everything got much better. It’s actually a really great pill for me now. My acne is gone for the first time in my life! The only time I break out is if I miss a pill or something. My mood swings fixed themselves, and now my breasts are never sore ever. Even on my period, which is a first. Give this medication a few months to work itself out in your body; especially if you’re trying to get rid of hormonal acne.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smbo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt more "on-edge" and mentally unstable than I ever have in my life while taking this birth control. I switched birth control to a different brand with a lower progesterone level and am back to feeling like my old self... happy and minimal anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitkat1213 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/3/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for 2 years. The first year was okay, didn't notice anything really. Period was perfect lasted 4-5 days and still does. That's the only positive. As well as prevents me from getting pregnant efficiently with correct use. This year it's pretty bad. I have had extreme mood swings, extreme depression, excessive weight gain even after working out. I can't say if I reccomend this pill or not but be prepared is all I am saying. Finally, after 2 years I've decided to end the cycle after this one last pill pack. I just hope my mood goes back to the way it was before birth control, happy and content. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sand | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/27/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m on my second month on Aubra, I have had a great experience . I havenâ??t had any side effects. Works good for my acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 50 and this product put me in the best mood, gave me energy and reduced some swelling. This my first week on the birth control. I am happy all the time now and I feel like my hormones are balanced.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/7/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Audra has been working very effectively for me the past 6 months that I have been using it. My periods are shorter and very light, which is convenient. No weight gain, no acne. However, this medication has given me TERRIBLE mood swings. The entire time I was on it, my partner and I have had a tense relationship. I do believe I suffer from depression and Aubra has made it so much more difficult for me. I have been off of it for a couple of weeks now and I have never felt better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ColoradoCajun | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting my 4th month on Aubra. Previously was on a mini pill and I hated all the bleeding all month long and never knowing when my actual period would be. I am so thankful to have regular periods again! Minimal cramping compared to my previous pill (ortho micronar). The only side effect I had was a little weight gain in the first month but then it tapered off and I lost the few pounds I gained. Also I think it made me hate people a little less! My moods seem a lot better. Very very happy with this pillRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnxiousTeenager | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Aubra for 4 months now and am really satisfied. I didn't experience mood swings, I actually lost about 10 pounds, never experienced any spotting (but I also had very light periods to start with). The only problem I do have is that my acne has gotten so bad since taking it. My skin was almost clear(I am a teenager so I'm definitely going to have some) before I starting taking it, and I could see an immediate difference in my face after taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S0629 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for almost three weeks now and I wish I could stop. Within the first week my mood swings have caused my boyfriend to look at me slightly differently. He told me he know it's the birth control. My face broke out so badly I refused to go out for a few days. And now my period, I have been on my period for 13 days. My period normally is 4-5 days. Idk where this blood is even coming from. It's putting a strain on my relationship. I've never in my 26 years had a period this long. I found myself yelling at my two year old, louder and more angrier. I'm tired of trying birth control. But this is the absolute worst. The depression that sets in immediately, the tears that come out of no where. The lack of sex that I've been having due to this damn period, it's killing me, my relationship with my baby boy and my boyfriend. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
messbowie | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So at first I was fine,,, lighter periods,,, less pain..then it started...my acne got bad, my mood swings were extreme, I started fighting with my husband just to fight. I would get so depressed I thought about killing myself,,,it was about 7 weeks in. I have stopped and I am slowly returning back to normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joellemc0315 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Honestly, I wish it had worked better for me. It was my first birth control and it was great: less cramping, clearer skin, and no visible mood changes of even weight gain. I did eperience breathrough bleeding for the first two months of being on this, so like many the pharmascist from project ruby upped my dosages and switched me to Chateal which has been great so far!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More