Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

53 People found this comment helpful

Initially scared by cancer talk but this drug has been used in Europe for years w/ no issues. Lowered my A1C and have lost 15 pounds with no effort. Luckily no side effects for me at this time.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Medicar & my insurance dont pay for this drug. $314? What a joke! Got to be something out there that helps that is affordable. Told my Dr that and he said "what do you want me to do about how much it costs"?

Shared reviews and ratings

LPJ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think it's working. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible side effects using farxiga, infection on penis , inner thighs/ groin area (turned red/blue/purple) which required 2- weeks of antibiotics, resulted in loss of skin. Please read other peopleâ??s experiences before you take this drug. It was the worst medical experience I have ever had. Beware of this drugs side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible side effects using farxiga, infection on penis , inner thighs/ groin area (turned red/blue/purple) which required 2- weeks of antibiotics, resulted in loss of skin. Please read other peopleâ??s experiences before you take this drug. It was the worst medical experience I have ever had. Beware of this drugs side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gepe | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This RX was horrible!! Side effects are worse than the diabetes!!Why does BIG Pharma keep making RX's that do NOT work, make people deathly ill, and almost kill them!!INSANE!!! This drug gave me so sick I thought I was going to die!!Control your diet, it's the best thing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
5/10/2020
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be extremely careful with this medication. My husband has had an internal bleed and they discovered he has liver problems. Doctors have informed us that this medication is great if you only have diabetes but any underlying issues will be made worse by taking this medication. My husband was on life support for 5 days and is now on insulin injections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My numbers were lower with glyburide. I have a bad yeast infection. I am not sure if I am going to continue taking this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GatorNurse | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would not recommend this medication because it caused me bladder pain and urinary urgency, literally pee yourself! I could tell it was not good for my body at all. I stopped taking it after a few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teeyabobia | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/30/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't listen to the crazy reviews... if you stay away from sugar (NO SWEET TEA OR SODA, OR ARTIFICIAL SWEETENERS) and watch your diet the side effects are minimal. I drank a lot of water to stay hydrated and keep my pee clear. No infections. I was on the pill for 2 months and my a1c went from 6.6 to 6.1 (back into pre diabetes territory) within 3 months. I am now off the meds. It's not a magic pill you have to do the work and change your habits along with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Battygirl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MASSIVE side effects! Headaches, yeast infections, flu like symptoms. Rash, allergic reaction, hives. Sore throat, loss of voice. 3 weeks off the meds and still experiencing massive reactions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lojack1998gmail | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/28/2018
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I used Farxiga my A1C was almost 14 and I was on 2 different insulins and 5 other pills, But with a strick diet, exercise, and drinking 6 bottles a water per day and seeing my Diabetic Nutritionist, in 3 months my A1C has came down to 9. That's Amazing. I do urinate a lot, have had a few years infections, and experience frequent back pain, urine have a fruity smell, but the dropping of my A1C, out weigh my side effects. I will continue taking Farxiga and my goal for my A1C is 6. I am insulin free and only on Farxiga, metformin and januvia. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mariangel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

EASE OF TAKING IT NA DHELPS ME A LOT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cloudhead | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/19/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On med for over a year. Mfg coupon made cost affordable as ins. would not cover. A1c went from over 10 to 6.4 in combination with other therapies. I have BPH, so trouble peeing anyway. No yeast (yet). Have discontinued glimepiride and Tresiba. Farxiga is a wonderful drug for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
john3kbs | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My A1C went down to 6.0 while on this and I lost over 50 lbs. I got the initial prescription and a six month supply while visiting the Philippines. I stopped using it as in the US the cost without insurance was over $2,500 for a 3 month supply. I will buy next time I go overseas and have money left over... The savings card is still too expensive an option.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JLMT | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/14/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from Invokana due to prescription insurance requirement. Morning fasting blood sugars were pretty good but yeast infections were unbearable so I discontinued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dancan2 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/13/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seemed to binge a lot on sweets while I was on this drug. I stopped taking it because I couldn't afford it and have eaten a lot less sweets since I have stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Csikes | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for a month... So I can't say what my A1C is... It was only 7 when I started... Down from 9.7 3 months ago...but, I did get a slight yeast infection the first week, but I really wanted to keep taking this, because it enables me to take less insulin before meals because it keeps my numbers down to around 100... So my Dr prescribed 3 of the pills for yeast infection and they took it away and I have had no more problems with that. My numbers are still great, for me, and so far minimal side effects. I do have some pains off and on in my kidneys, but nothing major. Yes, I am going to the bathroom more, but that's not a big deal. I eat low carb... As much as I can, I'm not perfect... But I don't drink anything but water and occasionally unsweetened tea. I think, for me, this is working well because I don't eat tons of sugar, bread or starches...so yea... My diet is boring, but I do have days where I eat things I shouldn't, just not everyday. I am also losing weight now, about 3 weeks after starting... I have lost 7 pounds since I started, which was probably just water retention. So, I am sticking with this because the results are worth it for me. I can't take metformin because it reacts with my depression medicine, so this is the alternative for me. I also take long lasting and fast acting insulin to manage my type 2.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flmom | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am pre-disposed to Gout, hereditary reasons, so I am careful always and take 100mg Allopurinol. After taking this drug in one year I had the most gout attacks, and most serious, debilitating gout attacks I have ever had in my life, not just in my feet but in my knees. One knee was so swollen for 3 months that colchicine was not even helping. Uric acid counts went through roof and had to go on 300mg allopurinol, did not help. Was getting gout attacks for no reason, nothing dietary could be linked. I could not wait to get off this drug, and within 3 months of stopping, my uric acid levels returned to normal/low. My Dr said probably because of competition in my kidneys between the drug making them work on the sugar, it was letting the uric acid get out of control. Beware of this and similar drugs they are pushing on TV especially to remove sugar through the kidneys, especially if you have hereditary gout. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
catwalker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The yeast infection started the 2nd day. my sugar began staying high for hours after i ate, did nothing for me except to make me unable to pee much and heartbeat was rapid, and I had to fast for hours for my sugar to come down, I guess it did opposite for me than what it was suppose to.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gillmo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/13/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Farxiga now over a year. My HBA1C went from 9.3 to 7.0 so far. Everytime I get checked it lowers. I have had no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cindyp | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/13/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on it 10 mg for over a year have had yeast infections often. I have since become so infected that I bleed and cant use toilet paper tried all hurt so bad.Ive been fighting this for months straight finnaly stoped farxiga today and pray my female parts go back to normal its been hell.I went on web site and resherched and saw this is a side affect so called my doctor.It id help my a1c but cant take this anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More