Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I have Metastatic Melanoma in my lungs Stage IV I have had 27 treatments and I am stable as of now. I do not get sick from this drug, I have not lost any weight nor many of the other side effects that they tell you to watch for. My Thyroid acted up a bit, but that's all. I thank God for this drug every day.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

The side effects were the worst. The treatment with this drug was stopped after the first dose.

Shared reviews and ratings

Angel | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/29/2022
Condition: non-muscle invasive bladder cancer with carcinoma in situ
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our situation is identical to many others on here. My father went for treatment of stage 2 bladder cancer. He was a completely independent, person, still working running a business and living a full life. He was on no other medications. He had one dose of Keytruda, and within 3 weeks, he could not walk and was bedridden.He passed away exactly 8 weeks after one treatment of Keytruda. It caused an acute kidney injury and brain encephalitis. Please do your research and make sure your doctors know what to do when and if these side effects occur.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/30/2022
Condition: Added Therapy to Improve Treatment of Melanoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 treatments husband developed type 1 diabetes, andrenaline insufficiency, sjogrens disease for life. Posion do not take it!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/10/2022
Condition: Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband had lung cancer. The doctor insisted on Keytruda. He didn't explain side affects. My husband went from alert and getting out to death in about 6 weeks. He went in hospital with fever and chills,very lethargic and not eating. He then was not himself. He was delirious and talked constantly. None of which made since. He tried to get up passed out, stopped breathing and then was put in icu. A scan showed He had very little brain function. He died in a few days. I don't recommend Keytruda at all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimdebern | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 77 year old mother died 13 days after receiving her 2nd IV infusion of Keytruda for metastatic thyroid cancer. Before starting Keytruda she was totally indpendent. She went from being completely independent to not even being able to walk to the bathroom and back with a walker and with assistance. It attacked her heart, lungs, muscles, vision, etc. She had trouble speaking and walking. She was hospitalized 2 times within the 13 days following that second infusion. She was absolutely miserable. She couldn't breath, she had a heart attack, she couldn't get comfortable, she had a lot of pain. This drug took my mom away from me. She would have had at least a few more years if she hadn't had taken this drug. Please don't take this drug unless you are dying anyway and try this as your last ditch effort. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
herdaughter | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/15/2022
Condition: malignant tumor or cancer
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom went through 3 rounds of Chemo before Keytruda. She had Ovarian cancer and had an encapsulated tumor removed in 2012. She passed 7/12/2022 after stopping Keytruda. It's too much for the body. I do believe had she not used Keytruda, she would have had a better last few months of quality life. She was not able to eat or really function - I understand that the Ovarian cancer was main culprit but I also believe that Keytruda just finishes any quality of life. If you have had years of chemo, don't use Keytruda. Do your best with nutrition and health at this point but don't use or recommend Keytruda. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ryan Sias | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/3/2022
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The absolute worst thing that ever happened to my dad. He had metastic adenocarcinoma of gall bladder that spread to his liver. He did one treatment and died three weeks later, on the day he was due for his second treatment. The last three weeks of his life were a living hell! He was dizzy, shortness of breath so extreme that he couldn’t walk to another room in his house without gasping for air. He was constantly nauseous and lost nearly 20 lbs in three weeks. He went to the hospital June 26 and by June 29 our family was making arrangements to fly from all over the US and Canada to come be with him for his last days. He passed away July 1. I have never heard of anyone taking such a rapid decline and dying like that. I would not recommend this drug to anyone. I would rather die than to suffer for three weeks just to die anyways. No thank you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hel | 13-18 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/18/2022
Condition: Cancer of the Urinary Tract Lining
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No benefit. False hope drug. Very toxic. Patient in agony. Many side effects. Why is prescribed?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margaret | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
2/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After successful surgery to remove Melanoma and two lymph nodes, oncologist recommended Keytruda as preventative measure, after first of 7 treatments and continuing decline in health my husband passed away seven months later from prelombuzia toxicity, it literally poisoned his organs and body. This drug was approved too fast and not enough testing done and the drug manufacturer claims no responsibility, it is disgusting and criminal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keytruda Poison | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/10/2022
Condition: Added Therapy to Improve Treatment of Melanoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is Poison!! I do not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joanna widow | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/3/2022
Condition: Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband died jan 22, 2022 after starting Keytruda in 08/04/2021 in Cancer Hosp. 1st treatment was rough but they stated his body has to get use to it and it is kicking in the immune system. 3 hours afterward I rush husband to Urgent care in this hosp is your normal ER. Needed Blood transfusion immediately. 3 weeks later same thing happened and blood transfusion again. Asked and still was given meds to stop itching which was severe to the point looked like shingles. 3rd transfusion again blood transfusion afterwards. ICU 1 week after 3 infusions for 7 days not treatment for cancer but for kidney failure 4th stage talking dialysis, platelet went down to 45, red blood and white blood cells danger zone. After first transfusion they brought a donor register person asking to donate his organs never signed. ICU again this time several professionals to include someone thinking I was in denial which I was never. I saw a 76 year healthy man go to a cancer hospital with a small lump and convinced he was 4th stage lung. He wasnt and autopsy is proving it. No bone marrow cancer, no lung cancer. They informed then we were on trial grant when in fact my great insurance paid for every dime of it. Please watch and get 2nd and 3rd opinions before using these dangerous drugs. I am a widow at age 67 with a special needs adult who doesnt understand where is daddy and why isnt he coming home. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debra | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/22/2022
Condition: Cancer in the Lining of the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Recurrent, Stage IIIC Endometrial cancer. I have had two rounds of chemo (8 cycles ea. ) and 45 doses of radiation. My cancer was very aggressive and a tumor board recommended I undergo an exenteration, which I elected to not do. I went on Keytruda nine months ago as a last resort in the hopes it would extend my life. I know my cancer is not curable. At my first MRI, it had resolved my tumor and thankfully, I remain on the drug. It’s sad to read the reviews where the patient was not as lucky and I suppose this is true of all forms of treatment. We are all unique. I’m thankful for Keytruda and the time it’s given me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NG | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/11/2022
Condition: malignant tumor or cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My grandmother was diagnosed with Nodular melanoma (without metastasis). Her oncologist suggested to try KEYTRUDA. She died after 2 doses! Before starting immunotherapy, she was fine and very active. Side effects: weakness, muscle pain, weight loss, fatigue, dropping eyelids, dysphagia, breathing difficulty, severe diarrhea. I would not recommend this drug based on our experience!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJ | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a radical cystectomy and two additional surgeries for recurrences of bladder cancer I started Keytruda infusions 2 1/2 years ago, treatment #44 coming up. Slight adjustment required in thyroid med, and mild skin rashes and mouth sores were the only side effects for me. Keytruda has been a godsend for me, but I see others have had very serious problems. Hopefully with more research there will be a way to screen patients who will be treated successfully with the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/30/2021
Condition: Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 76 years old and I had my first Keytruda Treatment in early November along with other chemo a week later. The first treatment went well. The 2nd round of Keytruda not so good. I immediately starting have breathing problems getting shortness of breath whenever I exerted my self with daily routines. I had COPD along with the cancer and used oxygen every night prior to beginning treatment. I was told this was the Miracle drug. refused to take the 3rd round because I now have to use oxygen all the time, I cannot hardly function with daily activities nor walk from the kitchen to the bathroom without getting so out of breath that I have to sit down. Using wheel chair when in stores etc now. My life has totally changed and gone from functional too barely being able to do anything now. I hope I get better and don't die from it!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lora Kertz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/4/2021
Condition: Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does effect your memory. Thyroid proplems both hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism. I never knew about thyroid before. I am thankful every day and l will be taking round 41 next week. FYI: uterine carsino sarcoma that spread to lungs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keytruda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/4/2021
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug had zero beneficial effects on my sister’s serous cancer, in fact it spread. It made her very sick and did nothing to help her.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelley | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/18/2021
Condition: Added Therapy to Improve Treatment of Melanoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has stage 4 melanoma. The tumors were surgically removed along with 3 lymph nodes. Only one lymph had melanoma, the others had lymphoma-slow growing. melanoma will just come right back, we opted to try this immunotherapy to keep it at bay longer. He has had some rash. He's always had joint issues and those may be irritated by the Ketruda but so far, so good. People need to keep in mind that for people like my husband, if he did nothing, the cancer would come back and take his life eventually. Up until this immunotherapy became available, patients like him were told to get their affairs in order and to get checked for new tumors to have them removed if possible, but the mortality rate was very bad. Also, many people have other issues besides just the cancer. It's important to stay as healthy as possible and cut out or limit sugars, carbs that convert to sugar and alcohol. Unfortunately, so much of our environment and food is causing our cancers in the first place.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C8 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/24/2021
Condition: malignant tumor or cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was diagnosed with malignant melanoma of the omentum with matastases to brain and bone. This is not related to the skin melanoma. He received 1 dose of Keytruda and Yervoy. He developed the GI symptoms with severe diarrhea. Within 6 weeks he was dead from the side effects. Think 1000+ times before your, or a loved one, receives this horrible drug. IT DOES NOT SAVE EVERYONE’s life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a miracle drug, i have now been NED for two years from Stage 4 NSCLC

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for 2 years now I have lung and stomach problems I felt bad for all those 2 years and my cancer is still growing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More