Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

It seems everyone has very different experiences with this product. This is my first birth control pill and I have to say it's been pretty good for me. I just started the placebo pills in my first pack and the only real side effects I had were mild headaches, nausea, and occasional mood swings. But those symptoms seemed to go away after the first week and a half of taking the pills. After that, I'...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this pill about 3 weeks ago and I am four pills away from my placebo pills. This is the first birth control I have ever used so I wasn't sure what to compare it to. Overall, most side effects I read up on Tarina were true, but we all have different bodies that react differently. My first week on Tarina I experienced awful diarrhea every morning and would wake up incredibly nauseou...

Shared reviews and ratings

yr | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first birth control pill I have used. The side effects i have experienced are just nausea and mood changes. They usually just last the first week of when i start a new package and then they go away. I haven’t noticed a lot weight gain and i’ve been on it for a year! which is why i’m sticking to this pill. Has also made my period very short and light! Also haven’t had acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Madison | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on it for 3 months until I began to notice a significant change in my mood, mental health, and well being. I noticed I was super sensitive, very emotional, loss of appetite, and I felt very cloudy minded. Though I was emotional, there were other times where I just felt flat. These symptoms really began to bother me and once I read reviews and realized others were feeling this way, I decided to stop taking Tarina. I am now going to switch back to the patch! I understand everyones body is different but just be aware that this pill can make you feel this way. I have never experienced any symptoms like this until I was 3 months into taking the pill. I thought it was just me having the winter blues but it was much more than that. Be aware of your body! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maia | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just can’t believe it took me so long to read all these reviews. I am reading them and it looks as if I wrote them all myself. I never had Tarina Fe before, I always took Yaz because of my acne. I started Tarina Fe on September 2020 (today is May 2021) I been having UTIs, yeast infections and bacterial vaginosis, itchy vulva, extremely low (if none) sex drive, painful intercourse and vagina dryness. The thing that make me question if the birth control had anything to do with anything was that my pap smear came out abnormal. Never in my 30 years my pap was abnormal and I been married for over 2 years, so you tell me what is going on with this birth control. Also I had a month spotting on month N5 (very rare, usually it happens on the 1sts months) my migraines were really bad, not only on the placebo weeks but random times of the cycle. I had a migraine 2 days ago that I thought one of veins in my brain was literally going to explode. It was scary, I couldn’t open my eyes nor move or talk. Also my acne didn’t get worse but it didn’t get better, I still have hormonal breakouts on my chin and jawline. My mood swings, oh my, I am so blessed my husband has patience of gold because I look like a crazy lady, today I was crying for no reason at all, it was awful, ended up fighting with my husband, so sad. And read so many similar stories. And then I never thought this could be related but my skin has been extremely dehydrated and got an eczema all around my mouth 4 months ago that lasted forever. I just can’t wait to be a normal person again. I am quitting today. I will use the natural cycle app and condoms so may the universe help me and not get pregnant but I rather be free than take this pill one more day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been bleeding for a straight 4 months with horrible belly pain ! Horrible depression and even attempted suicide an month ago! I didnâ??t know depression was a side effect ! I have PTSD and itâ??s made everything worse and I didnâ??t realize it . It almost cost me my life !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/19/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feeling dizzy, confused, don’t have energy, I developed swelled legs and belly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CCS | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/9/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had sharp pains in my stomach about 4 months after taking this pill fast forward another 5 months and I had the worst stomach pains in my life and threw up. I knew something was wrong so I set up a doctor appointment and I got no diagnoses. About a month later I had the same pain again where it was so intense that I would get severely sick and throw up. This went on for an entire year until I ended up in the ER with Jaundice due to gallstones. These were 100% caused by the birth control. I had my gallbladder removed and I really don�t want anyone else to feel the pain I went through. It�s very intense. Please be aware of the risks and get non hormonal birth control! I�m 23 years old 5�2 and 115 lb and I lead a very active and healthy lifestyle. I�ve read about girls as young as 16 having this happen! It is just not worth the risk! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/17/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when looking for birth control, i read a lot of mixed reviews, and wasn't sure what to think. the same thing happened when i was prescribed tarina fe. i was afraid of what might happen when i started taking it because this is the first type of birth control pill i have ever tried and i have to say it has gone wonderfully. i am currently on my third pack and i have had little to no negative side effects. the only thing that happens is that i get slightly emotional during and shortly after the placebo week, but i think that is is very similar to before when i would be on my period. the pills have been very effective, as my parter and i have sex without a condom very regularly and the pills have protected me. before taking these pills, i struggled with acne but now that i take them my skin has cleared up so much!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2019
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first birth control pill, and it has been a HORRIBLE experience. My hunger fluctuates from wanting to eat everything to nothing at all in an instant, my acne has never been worse, and my mental health has definitely taken a toll. I cry constantly, have a loss of motivation, and feel so hopeless most of the time. This has made my period so much worse, from horrible cramps to throwing up, this pill did the absolute worst for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grace | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for 5 months now and I am really happy with how it has worked for me. In the beginning, my breasts grew a cup size, and my period became very light and rather short. Since then, my cup size has gone back down, and after the first 3 packs, I stopped getting my period when I take the placebo pills. My acne has cleared up a lot, and my libido has not gone down at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tarina Fe 1-20 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug, which I was prescribed by my doctor to lessen my periods, gave me three periods this past month. THREE! I thought this drug was going to lessen my periods which results in less acne because my acne is terrible but with three weeks of menstruation comes three weeks of more acne. It did lessen the acne on my forehead but it increased on my cheeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EBITDA | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
7/28/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got prescribed Tarina Fe 1/20 in December 2017 ever since I been in a body mess. Before Tarina I was on Microgestin Fe 1/20 for 4 years. This past months on Tarina I gain 20 pounds and I have no idea why I havent been over that much in 7 years. Also my legs feel so heavy and I developed stretch marks on my arms. Im just very confused to what is happening to my body after switching pills. I have a very hard time enjoying food aswell. I also got UTI'S and its been years since I had to but Vagisil cream and UTI pills and douches. I'm so confused I dont feel like myself. This year 2018 has been a real pain for me. I had to google reviews now I know its not normal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kdm | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using this because my gynecologist moved without warning and my prescription of Minastrin was stopped. I used this for about 8 months. It didn't help with cramping or bleeding, it caused me to gain weight, and it made me have constant chapped lips the entire time I was taking it. I finally got switched back onto Minastrin, but everyone is different. I didn't like this, and I'm glad to finally be done using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itakepeelz | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/22/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I removed my IUD due to anxiety and started this pill a little over 6 months ago. Initial side effects (yo-yoing between nausea and insatiable appetite) subsided in the middle of the second pack (about 6 weeks in). My period became regular, lighter, and longer (lasts the duration of the inert pills), and cramps are less intense compared to the IUD. Other period symptoms remain the same. My breasts have grown one cup size since I've started taking this pill, but I have not experienced any other bloating or weight gain. I frequently struggle with mental health and find this pill has had little to no emotional effect (excluding during menstruation, which is normal for me). My partner and I have sex completely unprotected (no condom, no pull-out), and this drug has prevented pregnancy. My libido is unaffected by this drug, and I cannot perceive any change in my natural wetness (we always use lube anyway). Bottom line, it's a birth control pill: they all kind of suck, and you just have to try it for a couple of months before you know if it's going to work for you or not. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/16/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im on my second week of taking this pill, and I'm really not sure what to think. Ever since I started taking it, I always feel nauseas, and bloated. I cant eat or drink anything without feeling like I need to throw it all up. So far, im feeling very emotional all the time. I most definitely wont take this pill anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems everyone has very different experiences with this product. This is my first birth control pill and I have to say it's been pretty good for me. I just started the placebo pills in my first pack and the only real side effects I had were mild headaches, nausea, and occasional mood swings. But those symptoms seemed to go away after the first week and a half of taking the pills. After that, I've had no problems at all. I guess that was just my body getting used to it. I'm happy with this product and it hasn't failed me yet so all's well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lexieieie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on this medication for three months. the side effects have not subsided. i get sick everytime i eat, experience horrible anxiety, have trouble sleeping, my acne got a lot worse, i experience vaginal dryness during sex, am very irritable almost all the time, and get headaches that last for days. it works for pregnancy control, but otherwise, it makes you feel sick in a lot of different ways. i do not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PJ1715 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this pill about 3 months ago. Symptoms were excessive bloating every single day, fatigue, periods went from 4 days to 6 even though they were extremely light, loss of sexual desire, breast swelling, weight gain (2 lbs). I guess the pills are super successful as far as not getting pregnant because my desire for sex has gone down tremendously. I won’t be taking any more of these.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elle | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/10/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product constantly gave me different symptoms. First, I had long lasting periods that were more painful than before taking them. The pain would last for days without ceasing. Second, I tried skipping my period by skipping the placebo week and I still got my period even while on them. And lastly, now I am starting my period 4-5 days early before I even start the placebos. Tarina is effective but a horrible choice! I am switching my pills asap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dbooth | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for five days now. Honestly, so far it has been great. The last two days I have been getting minor cramping. It's on and off lightning bolt type cramping. So as long as it doesnt get worse or continue then its not too bad. Definitely a few mild mood swings, but this is my first time on birth control and I was expecting it. I havent had any breast tenderness or acne issues. Today, I do feel quite bloated and I know its not because of anything else. Im losing weight for my wedding and I have continued to lose weight on this pill, in the last five days. I am eating very well and working out three times a week. So I am hoping this does continue. I will update when I am on it for longer. Cross your fingers!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sydneyjay | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill about 3 weeks ago and I am four pills away from my placebo pills. This is the first birth control I have ever used so I wasn't sure what to compare it to. Overall, most side effects I read up on Tarina were true, but we all have different bodies that react differently. My first week on Tarina I experienced awful diarrhea every morning and would wake up incredibly nauseous. The nausea has subsided, but the diarrhea symptoms persist sometimes. Week 2 was the week I should've started my period, so I experienced light spotting and cramp like symptoms the first couple of days, and then the spotting got heavier and heavier like my period so at one point I had to use my super tampons. This continued on for the whole seven days of week 2, and three pills into week 3 I am experiencing light spotting after I use the bathroom. As far as moodiness, this pill has made me ultra sensitive and very cranky at times. I have gotten into some pretty awful fights with my boyfriend since starting this pill and I feel like this pill is to blame for my mood swings and sensitivity. I have also noticed a decrease in my sex drive and vaginal dryness during sex. Also, as someone who has struggled with acne her whole life I was worried this pill would mess with my skin. I can say for myself I haven't experienced any out of the ordinary pimples except for a couple on my forehead here and there which is a spot on my face that is usually very clear, but it's really nothing to complain about at all. My breasts experience slight swelling like how they are when you are on your period, but I have not seen them really increase in size which is something I was hoping for to be honest lol. Overall, I can say that Tarina is a decent BC that I'm still trying out, but for now it does the job. We all have different bodies so don't let someone else's horror or success stories sway your opinion on a pill, because chances are your experience may be completely different!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More