Show ratings & reviews for

2.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Opdivo has been a miracle for me, giving me my life back and improving quality of life and function.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

After chemo therapy wasn't working, my oncologist suggested this treatment option. It was easy to use other than having to go into the fusion center to receive this treatment. I am still on this treatment but am waiting for a PET scan to see if this has been effective or not.

Shared reviews and ratings

Larkspur94939 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/11/2022
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband who was a non-smoker, took his first and only dose of Opdivo for his non small cell lung cancer on 09/01/17 and by 9/12/17 he was on life-support and died on 09/20/17. He fought his cancer for 20 months and was doing well but thanks to Opdivo he never got the chance to say good-bye to his family.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UpsetSister | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/12/2022
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My brother has been on this for over 3 years. He had to stop the infusions in February, 2022. It attacked his pancreas, muscles, joints and is also effecting his eyes. Now he is having problems with his sinuses, bladder and colon. His life has been Hell for the past couple of months. He told me that if he could to back in time, he would have never taken this medicine!!!! It is something new everyday and he is miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
g | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Added Therapy to Improve Treatment of Melanoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Body started rejecting the medication on my trip home from infusion center. Headaches, hives, mouth broke out, tongue swelled, muscle cramps, bone pain, joints swelled could hardly walk. Then swelled the pituitary gland causing permanent optical nerve damage to both eyes. Latest blood test show thyroid being damaged along with kidney liver and pancreatic problems cause high glucose. Doctors response is high doses of prednisone to slow the immune system with antibiotics to keep down infections. They do not know yet if this treatment will slow the rare are side effects. I was never told of these sever deadly effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caoline | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/22/2021
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My my is no longer here because she chose this. She hung on as long as she could, but the side effects are awful. Just do your research carefully, hindsight is 20/20.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gatorgirl | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/3/2021
Condition: Metastatic Malignant Melanoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Opdivo/Yurvoy cocktail drug killed my 58 year old brother. It damaged his liver, caused esophageal Varices and he hemorrhaged to death. I wouldn’t recommend this drug to anyone! He would’ve lived longer and not been as sick, if he would’ve done NOTHING!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/28/2021
Condition: Added Therapy to Improve Treatment of Melanoma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother died after a couple weeks on this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/1/2020
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug killed my mom after only 3 treatments !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tumorless | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/29/2019
Condition: malignant tumor or cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tumor in mouth started shrinking after 10 days with first dose and was gone by 2 months. Hearing loss came back too. 9 months now with occasional face rash. Used natural immuno enhancers 1 month before starting therapy. Drank 1qt Chaga tea (90g pwd/gal H20, slowcooker 10 hrs) + Astragulus root, Boswellia 5g/day, tablets or pwd in a smoothie. Good Luck

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/24/2019
Condition: Small Cell Cancer of the Lung
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Writing this review on my fathers behalf, may he Rest In Peace. He got diagnosed with stage 4 small cell lung cancer with metastasis in the liver and lymph nodes on Father’s Day 2018. He immediately began targeted chemo therapy and radiation. After his first round of chemo they did a new CT scan and PET scan, miraculously the doctor said the cancer is reduced to scarring and continued the radiation preventively. 3 months later he is back in the hospital and things are not looking good but he is still stable at this point. His oncologist suggested this medication. WHICH IS NOT YET FDA APPROVED (despite having previously told my father to avoid anything that is not FDA approved). I supported my father in whichever steps he took but I was reluctant about this medication. From the first dose it was a rapid decline. Like I said he was stable before and after he began this medication absolutely everything went horribly wrong. He couldn’t eat, sleep, he felt more short of breath than he did when he had 900 cc’s of fluid in his lungs. This is medical malpractice. I can’t help but feel that they used my dad as some sort of lab rat to test this on. I know that cancer is terrifying and I know that you may feel there are not many options, but please consider finding another option than this medication. My father was strong even in his final moments but I genuinely feel he would still be here with me if not for this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/5/2019
Condition: Metastatic Malignant Melanoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on Opdivo and had very little side effects in the beginning. My pet scan in 6 months showed that may cancer had spread and more spots showed on my liver. At this time they added Yervoy with the opdivo. This combo was just approved right before i stated taking it. I had two dose of the combo drug and got very sick. I experienced most of the rare side effects. 1st it was the colitis which landed me in the hospital for about 1 week with severe dehydration. Next was swelling of my knees it was so severe it they needed to be drained weekly. Next side effect was Stephen Johnson's syndrome and Toxic Epidermal Necrolysis which basically almost killed me. The toxic rash spread over 90% of my body and I was not responding to meds. Three weeks in the ICU burn unit and I was told I could no long have the immunotherapy. Almost 6-7 months of just heeling, I had another pet scan that showed the tumor had spread to another area. At this point i still needed to heal and they scheduled a new pet scan in three months. So the week before Christmas this year, we had that scan, for days later I was given the results. The immuniotherapy worked, I was CANCER FREE! These meds made me very very sick and almost killed me but in the end, I am a 45 year old father that will be able to see his children grow up! The road is not easy and some of us don't make it out but It is the only chance those of us with Stage 4 Metastatic Melanoma have. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roses3113 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/28/2018
Condition: Metastatic Malignant Melanoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dad had been fighting for over a year, started in lung, mets to other areas. 6 mo's of chemo and 3 separate rounds of radiation (80 days total). My dad started opdivo 12/21/17, second dose 1/4/18. After the second dose, he started going downhill bad. He wasnt this bad after 6 mo's of chemo!!!! After the 3rd dose, his abdomen started bloating in the liver area, he got weak, then had facial drooping. We told the oncologist and he suggested steroids then another dose after a week delay. One more dose, my dad was barely walking, slurred speech, barely eating, increased edema in abdomen and legs. Then at 4am, my mom calls me. My dad somehow made it to the kitchen and couldnt stand, couldnt walk, could barely talk!!!! We called an ambulance and sat in ER, then admitted to hosp. The next morning, he was transferred to the local VAMC, palliative care floor. He died 2 days later. I do not believe opdivo was working, but rather attacking healthy cells instead of the cancer!!!! I will never ever recommend opdivo to anyone!!! Opdivo killed my dad. I think if they had just stayed with regular chemo he would still be alive!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/18/2017
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took a tumor off my spine and left me cancer free

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/28/2016
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Opdivo has been a miracle for me, giving me my life back and improving quality of life and function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/1/2016
Condition: Metastatic Malignant Melanoma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks of administering this drug, my husband was dead. I truy believe Opdivo was the reason.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/11/2015
Condition: Squamous Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After chemo therapy wasn't working, my oncologist suggested this treatment option. It was easy to use other than having to go into the fusion center to receive this treatment. I am still on this treatment but am waiting for a PET scan to see if this has been effective or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More