Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

Easy to use, very effective. Been on it for a couple years but after a while I think my body got used to it and my period started breaking through before my three months were up. Then when it was time for me to get my period, I barely had it. Not that bad of downfall and I love getting my period every three months but I felt my body wasn't happy with it. No weight gain, headaches, or mood swings. ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

With or without food, constant moderate to severe nausea and cramping. Extreme lethargy, horrible mood swings, bloating and now horrible break through bleeding. Add in the sleepwalking that has now begun.... I started with Daysee and it was wonderful(they did not have Daysee or seasonique when I refilled), I am going to the pharmacy tomorrow to change scripts back.

Shared reviews and ratings

Meech | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in my late 40s, Perimenopausal, unbearable night sweats, skipped periods certain months and other months extremely heavy, etc. after trying so many different birth control pills, this one is IT!!!! I love the fact that you continuously take it so no more monthly heavy periods. Hot flashes and night sweats completely ended so it definitely regulated/normalized my fluctuating estrogen levels. I have absolutely no nausea or headaches on this pill and feel great. This is an absolute first! I am so happy I tried this! Added benefit of birth control as well! Highly recommend!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marty | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to feel very irritable and depressed about a week before my period, and I was sick of my relationship suffering during those times. I decided to try taking a birth control pill to completely eliminate my period and see if it would help regulate my emotions. I read up on this one after it was prescribed to me, and knew to expect some spotting. Mine lasted a couple weeks. I havenâ??t had any negative side effects so far and it has helped enormously with my hormonal mood swings. My small breasts are now slightly larger, which is pretty tight. I donâ??t have any difficulty removing the pills from the packaging like some do, but I have small fingers and short nails.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mad | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/2/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take it during the day and it made me sick, but now that I take it before bed it's amazing! Even helps with my mood

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With or without food, constant moderate to severe nausea and cramping. Extreme lethargy, horrible mood swings, bloating and now horrible break through bleeding. Add in the sleepwalking that has now begun.... I started with Daysee and it was wonderful(they did not have Daysee or seasonique when I refilled), I am going to the pharmacy tomorrow to change scripts back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OvaryProblems | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/25/2019
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a month of "spotting" that was heavy enough to be a normal person's period. I was pretty sure I was going to end up bleeding out or something. After fixing how I take it to have a period more often it didn't happen again. My blood tests show my endometriosis was as under control as it could be without getting surgery. Cramps and bleeding are still terrible when I'm on my period though. I also still have symptoms of ovulation monthly. So technically it is working for what I'm using it for but not for everything it is supposed to help. Been on many different pills over the past 4 years and this one has been going for 1.5 years now. Water weight gain occurred but that's to be expected. I occasionally have pregnancy symptoms but with negative tests at home and at the doctor so that's a problem. But considering many issues I'm having are pushed more because of the endometriosis other than hair loss which I did find out was because of the medicine and was pretty much cured by me cutting my hair short it is what has worked best out of all the pills. Since my doctor says 19 is too young for the surgery this will do for the next few years until they are willing to operate. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JEN | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on my third month of taking Ashlyna and I think it's great! I haven't had a period and I feel great. I used to have a problem with heavy periods and pms. My boyfriend called me evil I would get so moody when my period came. With this i will only be evil 4 times a year. I'm so happy my doctor recommended this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It says it's supposed to suspend your period for 3 months, but it has caused spotting or light periods for 2 months. Time to switch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/23/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall my favorite BC that I've tried. Clears acne, no weight gain and I know when my period will be. I love only having my period every 3 months. Only bad thing, I still get some cramping around the time I should be on my period, but not near as bad as the real deal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/22/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s a great birth control that works but the packaging is awful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catlady26 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this medication for 6 months and it’s helped my skin clear up and made my periods significantly less painful and more regularly. I used to have very long and painful periods and now they’re short and light with minimal cramping. Definitely would recommend this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
InPain | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking birth control for at least 10 years to help with severe period pain. My last pill was very weak and was causing breakthough bleeding, so my doctor subscribed this one. I started this drug 6 weeks ago and it's horrible. I've been on my period for the last 3 weeks straight (4th week of my period is starting now). I've gained about 8 pounds since I started this without a change in my diet. My doctor says this is normal and your body takes 6 months to adjust but this is just too much.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tianachristinee | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Honestly there's a lot of bad reviews on here but this is the best birth control I've been on clear skin no weight gain and I don't get my period at all I've been taking it for 3 months and just got another 6 month supply everyone's body is different but this is perfect for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RWillis | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this because I wanted a lighter period and more time between periods. I had my period before I started taking this, after one Week, my period showed up again and hung out for 3 weeks. 3 out of the 4 weeks I was on it, I was bleeding. The selling point of this particular pill is to have more control over your period, and it certainly doesn't give you that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zanzubar | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacy gave me this generic instead of my regular (Amethia)prescription and I'm never letting it happen again. Im only a month in and I've had nothing fatigue, massive bloating and weight gain. At first I thought the symptoms would subside by the second week. However, its gotten so bad that most days I feel the need for 3 naps! Calling my doctor to make sure this never happens again and thank you to everyone who shared their experiences as it helped me confirm that this situation wasn't normal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2017
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first two days it made me naseous and feel sluggish but by the third day I felt normal and as an added bonus I felt my anxiety decrease. I have bad anxiety as it is although I dont take anything for it, two weeks before my period it gets way out of control and I do and say a lot of irrational things. Also I would have painful cramps and feel generally depressed. I have tried every anti depressant under the sun nothing works. But when I went to a recent GYN appt. the provider suggested birth control (I have tried the depo shot and it gave me worsening mood swings) I figured I'd give it a try. I feel way less anxious and shaky on a daily basis with Ashlyna oral. I guess my hormones were out of whack.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NormalAgain | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this as a generic, I have PMDD and my symptoms include excessive weight gain,excessive craving, severe mood swings, periods of extreme happiness that go to extreme sadness/depression. I would experience these symptoms for 2 weeks of every month on top of a 7-14 day period of bleeding. My life was controlled by my cycles, until I was prescribed Ashlyna for my condition. I have no period for up to 3 months and when I do, its very light. I do not have any more excessive issues with weight, eating or mood swings, its like a whole new life for me. I do experience occasional break through bleeding and that is an irritant, but still will gladly except that in place of my other symptoms. Overall this bc has been successful for me and my condition. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Received this from my pharmacy as a generic for Amethia. Had no previous problems with any side effects from my birth control until I started taking this. Been taking for a little over a month and I've had significant weight gain, fatigue, and mood change. will not be taking again, calling my doctor to ensure I never receive the generic again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BECK | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this because of break-through bleeding and bad PMS with my normal 3-4 day period... I had break-through bleeding that started 70 days into the pills and never stopped, 10 days of dark spotting followed by EXTREEMLY heavy bleeding (never had heavy periods EVER) Stopped taking it! NEVER AGAIN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JanicePaint | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for a little over a year. I have not been happy on this drug. I have felt wiped out and moody all the time. I get horrible muscle spasms for most of the cycle and I can't sleep at night because of them. I also have horrible bloating and I have gained some weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bc | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/20/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to use, very effective. Been on it for a couple years but after a while I think my body got used to it and my period started breaking through before my three months were up. Then when it was time for me to get my period, I barely had it. Not that bad of downfall and I love getting my period every three months but I felt my body wasn't happy with it. No weight gain, headaches, or mood swings. It also wasn't covered under my insurance so it was crazy expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More