Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

38 People found this comment helpful

I have been on a .05 estrogen patch for 9 years since I had a complete hysterectomy at age 41. I was put on it immediately after surgery so I really didn't have much chance to have any menopausal symptoms. At first they had me on a 1.0 patch which made my eyeballs bulge or swell. It was too much & so I had them lower the dose. I have really not had any bad side effects except maybe headache...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

This patch caused a burn on my arm, I had the patch on for two days and it began to burn, when I took the patch off it hurt tremendously and it actually peeled skinned off. I still after ten days of being off the patch still have a noticable burn mark there.

Shared reviews and ratings

saltycandy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/8/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please do not use this patch if you value your life. I used this patch for about 3 years. I got uterine cancer! No lie. My tumor was caused by this patch. My Oncologist told me so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on for three years and love it...my bone density has improved, all my menopausal symptoms have disappeared, and i lost ten pounds. But body heat in the summer can heat up the adhesive and cause the adhesive to seep out around the patch. Skin cells and fabric from your clothing will stick to the goop causing a gross, gray mess that REFUSES to come off. I have BRUISES ON MY SKIN from rubbing alcohol and trying to remove the stuck on mess

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itsasnowbunny | 55-64 | Other | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/26/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had been on the Vivelle Dot since 1994 and without it 'Life' is very discomforting and I would not stop taking it for anything and i have had no side effects and I can tell when I am needing to replace it because here come the hot flashes and moodiness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yadda yadda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seemed to work ok for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Smitchell | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/28/2021
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

.05 twice a week for years. Only problem was with generic, as one user stated it did burn my skin so I went back to brand. New primary care said to try lowering dose since I’m 66 but started sweating profusely, felt very uncomfortable so I’m going back to .05.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilybeau | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/25/2017
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vivelle has been 100% effective in treating my symptoms. The only downside is break thru bleeding. Sometimes Iâ??m a day late with changing the patch, and the bleeding seems to coincide with that, however, Iâ??ll take feeling like a teenager over some bleeding any day of the week!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane C | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/24/2017
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this since my hysterectomy in 2000. I get frequent migraines and I'm not sure if these patches are the cause. One doctor said I might get more without the patch. But I asked my pharmacist who said 50% on this drug get headaches and migraines. I had a big weight gain since on it. I have no hot flashes by day, but still have them at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimm | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2017
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying both oral estradiol (not Prempro) and estrogen creams separately, I found that the estrogen cream was allowing my face to wrinkle very quickly. I decided to try the patch, since the gradual release is closer to nature than massive, 1X/day doses. Vivelle is bioidentical, too. However, given the generic version (Mylan), I found that 3 mornings later, my bioidentical progesterone (not "necessary" since I have no ovaries--but STOPPED THE WEIGHT GAIN I had when on estrogen alone!) seemed too high as the estr patch faded...a "racing" feeling like I had had too much coffee (I hadn't)& other symptoms. Reducing progesterone dose that one day did the trick, but is a pain to remember. With a fresh patch, I feel fine, so I'm thinking these patches just can't go the distance & my estr/prog got out of balance--the patches seem to need one more day in them. I'm switching back to oral pills, bc I can't fuss with dosing prog differently 2X/wk. Also, the Dr prescribed 1x/wk in error & box says 2X/wk. Different brands do this differently & it may have been the pharmacy's generic sub that caused the mixup--but this meant I changed it 2 days late (after 1st "obeying" Dr, then calling re: error). The resulting estrogen drop by days 4&5 on the same patch resulted in increasing vertigo, then a migraine. A quick change of the patch & I was about 80% better in less than an hour! *These were just my experiences & thoughts; call Dr if you have any issues!* BTW, bioidentical progesterone also MAY be protective for breast cancer; synthetic prog may increase risk. Oh, & when on pills, I take 1/2 my doses at night & 1/2 in the morning. It doesn't release as gradually as the patch, but it's something, & it doesn't hurt (Dr's OK with it). There are no studies I know of that are analyzing whether more natural patterns of dosing are any safer (I'd love to be able to dose cyclically the way my own ovaries did), but it seems less of a jolt than 1x/day. Someday, perhaps they will study this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom2one | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/21/2016
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use 1.0 mg patch and cut it in 2/3. Crazy. But I have a question. Has anyone else experienced itching and a kind of numbness at the site of your patch? It's a very odd feeling on my left hip where I place my patch every other time (I switch hips each time). Thanks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/14/2016
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Vivelle Dot since its inception. Tried stronger mg dosing via pill-form prescriptions from various manufacturers; none of them worked. I find the Vivelle Dot, since its transdermal, is the best HRT for me and works using a much lower dose. Don't take my Dots away - ever!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ginger | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/4/2016
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I still have my ovaries but uterus was removed. My doctor put me on Vivelle-dot0.025mg during the winter and increased it to 0.0375 during the summer. It has been working great until I turned 61. It seems I am having some hot flashes and mood swings lately. I have been using the patch over 18 years. My insurance does not cover this and now it is $115 a month. Yikes. How long do I have to use this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mylan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/12/2016
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very easy to use. No side effects DO NOT accept the generic form from Mylan, Their patch made my ears ring so loud they would wake me from sleep. I used their patch for 3 months never realizing that was causing it. Nearly drove me crazy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roxy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2015
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What a relief after 5 years of suffering all the menopause symptoms you can name. I feel like a new person and have been on it and progesterone for only 2 weeks..I have had some cramoing and spotting,but nothing like I was feeling before I started using it. I highly reccomend it..Any questions feel free to email me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marion | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/1/2015
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Camper | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/12/2015
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am extremely happy with Vivelle Dot. No menopause symptoms anymore. Sleeping better, skin looks better, even my hair seems to look better. Very easy to use and doesn't fall off even in the shower. I would use this for the rest of my life if I could. I hope my doctor will continue to renew my prescription. I also take 200mg of progesterone because I still have my uterus. No side effects at all from Vivelle or progesterone. I hope it continues to make me feel this good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AgeIsJustAnumber | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/4/2015
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have liked this product. Patch is so much (much) smaller than other estrogen patches. Adhesive has been fine for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wwendipooh113 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2015
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Adhesive seems to wear off after a few days and my doctor prescribed this to change every 7 days and not every 3-4 days. I believe it will help but I am not satisfied with the adhesive on the patch for application and can not afford to replace patch every few days.. I contacted my Doctor to let them know of this issue and they suggested I call my pharmacy to ask if there was a recall on this patch. They said no and suggested that I make sure area is clean and lotion free. I have been very careful with this and it seems that there maybe an issue with the adhesive? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/20/2015
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doc put me on this when I had a total hysterectomy 7 years ago. I've been very glad not to have to go through menopause like most of my friends. I took myself off for a few weeks just to see what night-sweats and hot-flashes were like and came back in quick order.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2015
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began the vivelle-dot at the lowest dosage 2 month ago to help with the symptoms of perimenopause (age 47). I've found that my hot flash symptoms, memory, as well as my overall mood have significantly improved. I still get tired throughout the day, but also have an underactive thyroid that can cause tiredness. I would HIGHLY recommend the vivelle-dot to others, and will gladly pay the higher price for product quality and ease of use. Not interested in the generic as this works so well for me. As a side note, I also have to take low-dose progesterone for 2 weeks monthly while on estrogen therapy. So far so good.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alenox | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2014
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two weeks after a total hysterectomy, I tried the Vivelle-Dot 0.05mg and stopped within the first day due to severe migraine and nausea. Frequency of hot flashes may have decreased slightly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More