Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

I have epilepsy and switched from Keppra to Breviact as I was getting odd side effects. I gave noticed less side effects and generally am resting well with less side effects such as bleeding gums, dry nasal and mouth, stuffiness, anxiety

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I was on keppra xr, tegretol xr, lamictal and still had seizures. Dr put me on Briviact along with all the other meds. After 2 weeks I could not take it any longer. Very dizzy, lack of coordination, and nauseated. I couldn't function or work. So I took myself off the briviact with approval from pharmacist and another Dr. Will notify my neurologist tomorrow about it. Hopefully it works for others. ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Joe | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sleep for 12 hours per day. I am severely depressed. Yes, it reduces seizures, but my quality of life is non-existent. I am a shell of myself. What's the use?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbie | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My neurologist started me on BRIVIACT 50mgs a week ago, he gave me my 1st dose while I was admitted to hospital CC unit , I fell down my home stairs- 13 steps after I had a seizure he still hasn't identified what type of seizure I've been having for yrs I normally feel like I'm going to pass out then I'd start jerking bad muscles spasms then I'd just partially go unconscious I can hear others talking to me but I can't respond & then go to sleep but after my fall & hitting my head, I'd become uncoordinated, couldn't control my body movements that's why I fell, my Dr admitted to hospital I don't remember anything after I was wheeled in a wheelchair into the ER I came to the next night but very aggressive & nurse said my neurologist gave me a dose of BRIVIACT while I was unconscious which was my very 1st dose after I was discharged I'm having horrifying Panic attacks continuously I'm very scared I'm going to die or someone in my immediate family will die & I'll be left alone !! I cry constantly & the panic attacks won't stop no matter what I do, I can't sleep & when I do out of pure exhaustion then the nightmare begin!! have no appetite & feel nauseated the entire time just called my neurologist nurse crying telling her what's going on with this medication and that I can't deal with these side effects that won't go away & one long continuously scary, crying, praying pacing the floors wringing my hands & my skin itching!! I don't want to die or don't want any of my family who lives with us to die either!! All I think about is being so scared I'm going to die !! I'm not suicidal thank God nor do I even think about hurting someone else NO !!`; I just scream at my family & so hateful to everyone & this is not my normal personality ! Can't control how I talk to others !! I've only been on BRIVIACT a week &1/2 but scared to just stop cold turkey !! Hasn't helped my seizures much @ all !! I need to get off this medication before I go crazy !!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cr9107 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seizures mostly remaining the same. (Other issues. = harder to differentiate between partial seizures and low BP symptoms and sleep quality = "blacking out" more often time/memory loss... no real way to know...) Briviact increased my alertness/awareness to point I was wide-awake. (Hearing everything in room = became a problem when sleeping. Noises from outside waking me up. Needed tv noise to remain sleeping) (seeing small changes from a distance, when not focused on object. = seeing traffic light change over 1/4 miles away. Things blowing n wind...) I didn't mind increased levels of consciousness. But it can become a problem. made me more productive. (Most don't want it 24/7 = they want down time. Reason to drink at end of work day...) Also my heart rate and blood pressure lowered by at-least 10 each when increased to 100 2x daily. (50s awake/inactive. 30s while sleeping) (low 100/70)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TKD Master | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2020
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on this 3 days. My ears are ringing so loudly I can't hear anything else. My head just feels like it will implode because of the ringing. I want to crush anything that makes a noise with my bare hands.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/31/2019
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For Epilepsy "I hope this helps! I started Briviact on November 5th, 2018 and it has worked very well... Went from 3 or 4 a month to FULLY CONTROLLED! I am going to be seizure free for 100 days this week for the first time ever in 21 years. I have the VNS on the lowest setting and had a TL Resection Brain Surgery (2015) both could not totally stop the seizures... The medication Briviact is very strong but it's the only things that worked. I also take Trileptal 1200 mg but want to cut down on that med, if possible. r/epilepsy is a great resource if you want more info on how to treat and live with epilepsy..."Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2019
Condition: Simple Seizure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been effective for me at treating seizures (have not had any since starting on it), but I have had rough side effects: depression, blurry vision, losing my train of thought mid sentence, mood swings throughout the day, and irritability. I switched to it after having similar side effects while on Keppra, but Keppra wasn't as bad. I am now switching to Lamotrigine hoping that will help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darkbluereef | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/10/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Nocturnal seizures. initially I was taking Keppra which significantly increased my irritability, anger, negative outbursts, aggressiveness. At the time I was taking Keppra I was the President of a company that covered a specific area, these outbursts dramatically impacted my ability to lead. I eventually resigned my position. I reported this to my neurologist who made time to see me immediately along with his clinical pharmacist who explained a newer drug on the marked and asked if I would be willing to try it. This drug was Briviact. After approximately 6 weeks my incidence of nocturnal seizures reduced significantly. The only time I had seizures was if I accidently missed a dose or took my medication off schedule. Additionally, the side effects listed above disappeared all but completely.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2017
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did not work well at all. Had new kinds of seizures after taking it, worst seizures of my life. It should not have been approved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for migraine prophyalaxis. Headaches slightly less intense but same frequency. I couldn't tolerate mood changes, anger, depression, insomnia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
493tonya | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2017
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on keppra xr, tegretol xr, lamictal and still had seizures. Dr put me on Briviact along with all the other meds. After 2 weeks I could not take it any longer. Very dizzy, lack of coordination, and nauseated. I couldn't function or work. So I took myself off the briviact with approval from pharmacist and another Dr. Will notify my neurologist tomorrow about it. Hopefully it works for others. It didn't for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jordan | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/23/2017
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does not stop seizures as well as 3000mg of Keppra xr brand. had 2 seizures in less than 6 months on it. Very expensive and insurance will only cover 50% Best part is only need to take one pill in the AM and one in PM. For me it is not as effective as Brand Keppra XR

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ASHLEY | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2016
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did the trial study 1st at UCSF and I saw visuals 6 years ago also it caused very bad hallucinations for me then, it just became legal thanks to Belgium so I decided to try it again in hopes some of that would be fixed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
breviact | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2016
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have epilepsy and switched from Keppra to Breviact as I was getting odd side effects. I gave noticed less side effects and generally am resting well with less side effects such as bleeding gums, dry nasal and mouth, stuffiness, anxiety

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pain use

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More