Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

When I started on this pill I experienced several side effects, including minor hair loss, weight loss, irritability, breast tenderness, headaches, and painful acne on my back. But I chose to stick it out and most of these side effects tapered off and disappeared after two cycles. It's been over a year now and I'm happy with my choice to stay on Lo/Ovral. I still experience very minor hair loss...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this bc for 4 months now and just found out I was pregnant. Some birth control! And the the 8 months before I got back on the bc, no pregnancy. explain that...

Shared reviews and ratings

It happens | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/4/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am currently 30yrs old. I was on Lo Ovral for about a year when I became pregnant. My child is now 10years. I will never take another oral contraceptive based solely on my experience with this one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tatersmama | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am only on my first week of this pill, but I am just wondering if anyone has had the same issues. I am 48 years old and have been having severely heavy bleeding for over a year, hence, the prescription. I am having really bad cramps and absolutely zero energy these last two days. My belly has swollen a lot. I know I am just starting with this drug, but am wondering if anyone else has had these issues when they first started. I will review again after a few months, but was just curious.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marshall | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/19/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i love this birth control. I have been on it for YEARS. i stopped it to try the Nexplanon, and now i got the nexplanon taken out and got back on this. I never want to take anything else. i've had unproctected sex with this and it has done good. Highly recommend this. Cleared my acne, i did gain some weight but i also don't eat that great either.. but bottom line, i love this pill!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vintagevira | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2014
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has to be the worst birth control I have ever taken. I was placed on this to help regulate my period and becus its such a low dose but Ive been on it for 2 weeks now and I'm still bleeding and huge clots. Side effects have been nausea and severe cramps ontop of the pain I already have. I will give it another week Or so. I may need a new method or start taking orthotri lo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A Brownie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/3/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Lo Ovral for over 8 months me and my boyfriend have really enjoyed this birth control. It has regulated my periods and I have not gotten pregnant. I take this birth control as directed. Make sure that you do not miss any pills and take them around the same time everyday. I advise every woman to set an alarm everyday. I especially set that alarm around my school day. I really am satisfied with this birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emrae33095 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2013
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for only a month. ONE month. In that time I have had constant heavy bleeding which is abnormal, awful mood swings and a contant pain that wakes me up at night and is sometimes so severe I cry. I would not recommend this to anyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/19/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For 26 years I have been on it an have had no side effects and no pregnancies

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TreesAreGreat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/23/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects and everything varies. My experience from taking it for three years was that I didn't experience any side effects. If I did, I didn't notice. I had also lost weight-8 pant sizes! My periods were barely there and until a form of permanent birth control is done, I'll be taking this pill until then. Of course this was with recommended usage. I never missed a day and was never late more than 1.5 hrs I usually take it. If you are forgetful it may not be for you. I always had it with me because you never know! I have read a lot of bad reviews and good so it's better if you try it for yourself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Connie9 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/20/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had long painful periods, as well as endometriosis. I am not sexually active, but have to be on birth control. I have tried several different kinds, and this one, by far, have been a life save for me! Extremely mild and normal periods. Low mood issues, no breast soreness. The only slight side affect is menstrual headaches, which I can live with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crisscross16 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2012
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 45, have not taken b/c for many many years. Just finished the pack. Awful. Stomach hurt all the time. Weird feeling.Break through bleeding. weight gain and the worst feeling for depression. I am a strong person this has reduced me to tears on an hourly basis. My husbands has tried to understand but he backs away not knowing what to do. I will not take these again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jszinnerman | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/31/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this pill for about 3 to 4 years before I stopped it this past December. I've missed 1 or 2 pills at a time and still never got pregnant. My periods were light to normal flow, and my cramps weren't that bad. The only thing I worry about now is how long it will actually take for me to get pregnant. Overall I believe this pill was the best choice. I was once on the patch and it made me feel like I was going to die! Even after 6 months the symptoms were horrible, that's when I switched to lo ovral. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juju4you2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/16/2012
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for around a year and a half. With the recent recall a lot of the issues I've had lately are being explained. For the last 8 months I've been dealing with different skin issues such as eczema and other types of dermatitis. Within the last two months I have had sever eczema on my face which I have never had before. I thought it was all due to stress but couldn't pin-point what I was stressed about. During this time my face would also become so photosensitive, it felt as though I had a sunburn and was very painful and itchy. Once I heard about the recall and visited my doctor we figured out it was from this drug since it was the only thing I was taking constantly. I'm very upset since I otherwise did not have problems but this has completely turned me off to this birth control. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kw422 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/2/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this bc for 4 months now and just found out I was pregnant. Some birth control! And the the 8 months before I got back on the bc, no pregnancy. explain that...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
123456789 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/15/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to Lo Ovral after taking Yasmin for nearly a year. On Yasmin I was having terrible mood swings and 2 week depressions every month. It was affecting my relationships with everyone and I finally realized that I was not going crazy and it was just the Yasmin. I've been on Lo Ovral for at least a year now and so far I've had no complaints except that in the past 3 or 4 months ive noticed that I've been breaking out at the same time every month and I don't think the break outs are from any thing else, plus I've been spotting a little bit for the past 2 months. I don't know why it would suddenly start disagreeing with me, but I may try switching to something else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill because I was having breakthrough bleeding with ortho tri cyclynm I had been on it for about 6 years and didn't have a lot of other side effects. So I had been taking lo ovral for 11 days when I was sitting at my computer at work and I started seeing little spots of light I couldn't focus on anything, then I saw squiggly lines around my eyem turns out it was a classic migrane u get the headache afterm it really scarred me so I looked up the side effects of lo ovral and sure enough that was a possible side effect!!!! Definetly going back on the other pill! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel like I haven't taken it long enough for my review to be worth anything, but I'd first like to point out to anyone reading this that all women who take bc have to keep in mind that birth control isn't just composed of hormones that suppress the ability to conceive. There are other "filler" elements, and these can vary from brand to brand. The side effects of ingesting these fillers can also vary from person to person. So don't just take someone's word for it; if it doesn't work for someone else, that doesn't mean it's not going to work for you. Trial and error. And ASK YOUR DOCTOR FOR ADVICE. It's what they're there for. I was on Ocella for about a year, then stopped birth control all together for about a year (because I joined the military), and am now resuming contraceptives by taking Lo Ovral 28. So far, I haven't stopped bleeding from my period that was supposed to stop last week, but it's not heavy. Haven't noticed any weight gain, or unusual mood swings, cramping, headaches, etc. I just want the bleeding to stop. However, it's only my first pack so I'm going to give it the benefit of the doubt before I try to switch back to Ocella.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/14/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for over 15 years and I've never had a problem. The clinic I was going to stopped carrying it and I was switched to Levora and I've had nothing but issues including a VERY decreased sex drive. I'm coming back to this pill before Levora ruins my relationship.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/29/2011
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this about 7 mths now... HATE IT. I am NOT sexually active so i take this just for regularity and pain. i was prescribed this from my gyno for spotting as well. little did i know (thanks pharmacist for telling me) that it has such a high amt of testosterone in it that it turned me into a pizza face. not just normal acne, BUT CYSTIC ACNE. it was sooooo bad and i had gotten pretty miserable :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joana | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

left side chest pains, killer heaadaches, cranky,stomach pains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/26/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Lo/Ovral four years ago. When I started taking BC I took Ortho tricylene...worked great, then I tried Seasonale, only 4 periods a year, but I had a lot of breakthrough bleeding, so my Dr. put me on Lo/Ovral. It has been very effective in that I haven't been pregnant and my period is regular. In the last year, I developed malasma, which I think is awful. I have talked with my dermatologist about the problem and was told it was hormonal. So, when researching malasma, it connected the problem to the pill. So, I researched side effects to the pill...which explains it all...the malasma (hyperpigmentation), headaches and weight gain in the hips and thighs (not places I normally carry weight). I eat less and workout more than I ever have and have gone from a size 4 to a size 8 on this pill. I am calling my Dr. tomorrow to get switched to something. All of these are attributed to excess estrogen that is being produced due to the pill. I am so glad I researched this...and I do not recommend this to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More