Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

Suffer from severe OCD with anxiety and depression. Early on, the side effects of this medication were difficult to deal with - dry mouth, unbelievable appetite, sweating and sexual dysfunction. Over time, side effects diminished along with the symptoms. Currently, I am 18 years symptom-free and have been off the drug for the last 12!

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Have taken intermittently for over 30 years. Always works superbly but takes about 8 weeks to be effective and side effects can be quite brutal. But well worth the wait.

Shared reviews and ratings

Billyt | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/1/2020
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Where do I begin. Anxiety from obsessive terrible thoughts, ruminations, no control of thoughts. Finally an 85 year old Psychiatrist at the time, asked me what my Father did, I said Doctor, brother? Lawyer, me? Iâ??m a sales rep for technical products. He said. â?? your obsessiveâ?. He got me off of Paxil, and transferred me on to Anafranil, 100milligrams. Told me I would feel a lot lot better in two weeks, and I wonâ??t believe him now. He was right, and my symptoms vanished. 15 years on medicine. Taking 50 mil. Now. I Did do the cognitive work as well, therapy, and medicine. So thankful for this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/4/2019
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed at different times, all SSRI’s and not one helped me with depression and intrusive thoughts. Only 2 weeks on Anafranil 25 mg and I stopped crying and over time it helped me with the intrusion thoughts. I can’t live without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/22/2019
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It saved my life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/29/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was on it for many years made me unstable and anxious I would suggest srris first this as last resort lowest doses necessary I suggest Luvox for ocd.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jake | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/29/2019
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

on many doses for years made me very unstable nervous and agitated. I would suggest trying Luvox, Zoloft and any ssris before this med and keep doses as low as necessary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruby | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/2/2019
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been wrongfully diagnosed with bipolar and BPD. Lithium and antipsychotics caused homicidal thoughts made me feel horrible. SSRIs were off the table since my mom nearly murdered my dad on them. Finally psychiatrist prescribed Anafranil. I'ven on 100mg for a month. This medication caused my mild, every once in a while involuntary kicking to become frequent full body tics - but IT'S WORTH IT. The violent thoughts that were destroying me are gone. The tics are a rare side effect. The only other side effect I've had was constipation, which got better after adding more fiber. I definitely recommend this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilsin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe OCD, I tried this ten years ago but did not stick with it. I have been on it for three weeks and obsession gone. The lack of energy has reduced since I stuck with it. You have to watch your diet and calorie intake. I am feeling what I assume is normal and will continue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2018
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Anafranil was pretty good for depression. But it didn't help with my OCD. Also, it caused racing heart at only 75mg, which scared me. And it was sedating' even during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/26/2017
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take sertraline (Zoloft) for my panic attacks associated with emetophobia and panic disorder. At first it worked partially, but then I got worse. I tried clomipramine (Anafranil) due to family members doing well on it in the past. I still have some anxiety very occasionally but I can say it does not interfere with my everyday life like it used to.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/10/2016
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it for a few months when first diagnosed with severe OCD. I went from 180 pounds to 220 pounds with a craving for sweets. I think the craving come from being so weak. I should have watched my diet but had become so depressed and having so many panic attacks due to the OCD this medication made a very positive difference in my life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose Muise | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/6/2015
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This nmed stopped 90-95% of my obsessive thoughts! The down fall is I have gained 40 pounds! I so need advice for what I can do to lose the weight. Nothing is working!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
michele | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/23/2014
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on anafranilfor probably ten years...Still had ocd thoughts wanted to try something different tapered off of it been on for 2 weeks feel pretty shitty off of it wonder how long it will last

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
specialteacher | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/4/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying other types of medication for depression, I felt lucky to have been prescribed this medicine. For the other medicines, I experienced sleepyness and could not drive with out fighting sleep. I would have to pull over and rest as well as take naps. But with anafranil, I had no such problems. i do feel hot sometimes when no one else is but thought it was menapause. The past 6 months, the price has gone out of control to $500 for 1 months supply. I am asking my doctor to prescribe something similar than is more affordable.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maciain3 | 45-54 | Male | Patient
2/8/2014
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken intermittently for over 30 years. Always works superbly but takes about 8 weeks to be effective and side effects can be quite brutal. But well worth the wait.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/28/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I Was on Anafranil for about 13 years for OCD and anxiety. During that time I developed a whole host of gastrointestinal issues stemming from chronic constipation. My anxiety and OCD were almost non-existent and after this long I decided to try life without this medication. The withdrawal was hard. Muscle twitches, restlessness, and crying at Hallmark commercials. After a month they went away. What also went away??? My horrible, chronic, constipation! I went from pooping three times a week, passing out on occasion whilst attempting, to going twice a day! Life is better off the med. Something to note, when combined with Amitiza my seizure threshold was lowered enough to trigger a 10 minute grand mal seizure. I do not have epilepsy, or any other seizure disorder, and have been released by the neurologist. Apparently both Amitiza and Anafranil are both cleared by the liver and the Anafranil level in my blood was so high after adding the Amitiza (a med used to combat chronic constipation) that it caused me to have a seizure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/7/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am BiPolar 2 and my mood swings were awful. Within a month of starting Abilify my moods started to normalize and today, 2 years later I am more stable then I have ever been….

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/9/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

within days I no longer check things all the time like if my doors are locked, if my wallet is in my purse, repeatedly checking my work at the office 5-6 times over and over again. It is effective on half the starting dose for me and I am 105 lbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/1/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A much more effective drug for OCD than Zoloft or Luvox. Also great for minor aches and pains associated with depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMCApril | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this med and it has made me really sick and had mult-symptoms from it :( I think it does work for others though

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stillsick247 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/12/2012
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been taking this medication for quite some time and still has not worked for me. still have obsessive thoughts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More