Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

38 People found this comment helpful

I have partial seizures and have tried every medication on the market, all with bad results (until Keppra). Depakote caused me to get a life-threatening case of pancreatitis (so BE CAREFUL!); Lamictal caused bruising and migraines; Topamax & Tegretol didn't work; et cetera. Many of them made me lose/gain weight and lose hair. I thought all hope was lost until they put me on Keppra. I've not lo...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Fortunatly I am not taking krappra any more. It was the worst stuff I ever had. While taking it I was lucky to be able to stay awake 3 or 4 hours at a time, and it made me a total friggin idiot. My memory still hasn't come back after my last seizure and I swear it is becasue of all the keppra they forced me to take in the hospital both IV and oral. I thought nuerontin was bad but this stuff is a t...

Shared reviews and ratings

Mama2boys | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
9/14/2022
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 14 yr old son began tonic clonic grand mals summer of 2020. After the load dose in ER IV, he was put on 500 mg twice a day for one week and then upped to 1000 mg twice a day. For 1 month he was very cranky and sleepy and then pretty much came back to his normal self. He was on it for 2 years seizure free, so the doctor decided to wean him off within a 3 week time frame which made me nervous and seemed too fast, so I added an additional week to make it four weeks. On his second day of no medication, he had an almost 5 min tonic clonic grand mal in class in high school! His first one not at home. And now he’s back on it! If you decide to wean off of this, go extremely slow! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Additional Medication for Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a grand mal seizure after 25 years with no seizures. I was in clinical trials of DEPAKOTE and started Lamictal at its inception. My new doctor added Keppra. Usually after breakthrough seizures I had none for a year, but this time I had 2, so I don’t know if its helping me or not. All I know is that I keep breaking out in hives. I've stayed on to see if my body would become accustomed to it but it hasn’t.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello I had Keppra Rage. I was diagnosed with epilepsy ten years ago. I was on 500 mg of keppra a day. It didn’t affect me with the side effects until years later when I started to become suicidal, depressed, having my brain foggy and not able to think fast enough. I started a path to reduce my medications due to the fact that I didn’t have seizures but my neurologist said I should take Keppra reducing slow unfortunately. My next appointment is in November with a new neurologist and it wasn’t until I saw my primary doctor and talked with my pharmacists hat they agreed I could go off of the 250 mg over a nine week period since it’s been in my body for ten years. And since I started reducing I’ve been back to normal almost uncanny. I hope this helped anyone. Maybe if your neurologist doesn’t want to reduce it at least reach out to primary care or pharmacy if you have one, because reducing mine I’ve gone back to basically my normal self. Yes I’m still on two other epilepsy meds but I’m decreasing Keppra. I could list the bad side effect Keppra gave me but reading Keppra Rage I’m pretty sure everyone can figure it out. I was at a subthreaputic level and basically my doctor/pharmacist thought it was doing more harm than good and not preventing seizures as do my other seizure drugs with less side effects. My point KEPPRA IS HORRIBLE. MY BRAIN FELT BROKEN I don’t know if any else felt that wayRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GINNIE | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
7/18/2022
Condition: Additional Medication for Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

TERRIBLE!! I WOULD NOT GIVE THIS DRUG TO MY DOG !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :( :( The neurologist in West Va. put my dad on this and his wife has kept him on it for 2 years UNBELIEVABLE!! :( In visiting my dad out of state who has had MRIs , Brain Scan, Blood Work, and you name it , Dad is 100% perfect health with Normal Brain !! Dad has had Grandma seizures since 15 yrs old unfortunately. KEPPRA HAS DESTROYED HIS LIFE !! HE HAS NO COMPREHENSION HARDLY, HARD TO CARRY ON CONVERSATIONS, DOESNT KNOW HE HAS KIDS OR OUR NAMES MOST THE TIME, ODD BEHAVIOR, HALLUCINATIONS, CAN NO LONGER DRIVE , HE IS ALWAYS GAZED AND COMPLETELY SPACED ON 500mg. TWICE A DAY….. And why his wife and neurologist keep him on this nasty drug is beyond me :( NOT TO MENTION THEY JUST PUT HIM ON A MEMORY PILL ?? !! Omg give me a freakin break. !! :(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lindsey J. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on 500mg of Keppra twice daily after my second seizure last fall. My neurologist has since raised it twice to 1000mg twice daily. I haven’t had a seizure in 4 1/2 months now!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 9 year old son had a stroke and keppra was prescribed to him afterwards. He became depressed and suicidal. I reached out to his dr and he was off the drug in a week and was back to “normal” quickly after the drug had left his system. It was a horrible experience. Would never recommend for children!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah O’Brien | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel so much more like my regular self - it was like I didn’t know something was wrong / unbalanced in my head until I had been on it for a week or so and now I can’t describe how much better I feel. I was an alcoholic -never drunk but always drinking, addicted to meth, and also smoked marijuana - I just liked the control I thought I had until the tonic clonic seizures started and I realized the harm I was doing to my body. Hindsight is 20/20 and now I see very clearly how beautifully my body maintains homeostasis on its own and have no desire for the drugs I once used. I believe a miracle has been performed in my life and this medicine has been a huge part of that miracle! Thank you to the doctors and nurses who helped me and never once judged me - you have changed my life and given me so much hope for the future Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abu Osamah | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/20/2022
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing on behalf of my son who is 21 years old and having daily simple partial seizure. Keppra was a disaster. Its effects on personality, mentality and memory of my son were horrible. The strange thing was that all the neurologists we met had a common consensus that Keppra is the safest anti-epileptic. After two years of suffering with this drug, I went against all the neurologists well and stopped giving my son this drug and his personality, mentality and memory recovered significantly. The side effects of this drug had to be investigated and studied well before prescribing it to the patients.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sohail Ahmad | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/1/2022
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had focal seizures several times per day, after starting this medicine, I works amazingly, no seizures after starting it, but the only side effect is that I have little shortness of breath. Taking 500mg at morning and at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cgrace | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/1/2021
Condition: Additional Medication for Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Keppra worked at first, at 250. Then stopped so we increased to 500, then to 750, then to 1,000 (all 2x a day). The 1,000 made me break in a full body rash, so we went to 500. In the hospital, after back to back seizures in a day, they put me on IV 750. Well, now my rash is back, but even worse. Plus, I am incredibly depressed, to the point I’ve thought of suicide… and I cry daily. I can’t stand this medication, but getting into my neurologist is brutal. It has not stopped my seizures at all, and I have no memory after any of them. Point - Vimpat is amazing… but I’d avoid Keppra. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/6/2021
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Writing on behalf of my husband. This drug needs to stop being subscribed as the go-to for epilepsy. My husband has nocturnal epilepsy with SEVERE convulsions, to the point where his shoulders dislocate and the sockets break. Not only did Keppra not control his seizures at all, but it destroyed him mentally. Completely changed his personality. Keppra rage is a real thing and no one warned us. He went from having the personality of a human golden retriever to being constantly angry and severely depressed. He said his mind felt broken. His personality completely changed to the point where it almost broke our relationship, because he was so dismissive and mean. After 6 months of hell, we got the doctor to finally take him off Keppra. Now, he's completely back to his normal, happy self AND his seizures are controlled. Unbelievable how horrible and ineffective Keppra was. I've met 3 other people who were also prescribed Keppra for their epilepsy, SAME THING - ineffective or barely effective, rage, depression. There needs to be more awareness on how severe the personality changes can be if its going to continue to be so widely prescribed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/14/2021
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Keppra for 2 years now. No seizures of any kind since I've been on it. Works great! The first 3 weeks of being on it were exhausting. But since then it has been great. I do notice I get agitated a lot easier over small things- much more so than I did previous to taking this. Nothing that is concerning of impacts my familial relationships.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | Patient
1/18/2021
Condition: Additional Medication for Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm only 3 weeks in but I feel more emotional then I have been in years!!. Side effects I've noticed So far are: - Decreased Appetite #1 - Feeling tiered more then usual - Very Cold Hands 80% Of The Time - Feeling Depressed Some Days For No Reason - Anxiety 2-3 times which I've Never Experienced Before This Medication - Feel Irritable For No Reason, Comes & Go's. - I'm Losing More Hair Then Usually Do! I Have Bilateral Polymicrogyria & I Literally Have EVERY Type Of Sezurie You Can Have, So Far I Haven't Had Any Grandmal Sezuries But I've Had More Absent Sezuries Then I Did Before Switching Over To This Medication. So Far I'm Not Convinced Of Staying On This Medication, I'm Only Switching To This One To Know In the Future That This Will Be Safer To Take When Pregnant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2020
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely terrible drug with an awful side effect that occurs so often it even has a name: 'Keppra Rage". Felt like my head was burning, caused terrible anger and depression, made me feel like either hurting somebody or killing myself. I felt like life was not worth living, and I felt intense anger over nothing, which I directed at the people who love me. Took several days to get over this after stopping the drug. A year later, tried it again with exactly the same effect. Did nothing to control seizures either, in fact I had more seizures while in this terrible state than I did before taking the drug. Should be withdrawn from the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seizure Slayer | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/18/2020
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works perfectly for my seizures but constant skin rashes and severe aggression. Very strained relationships with family and friends.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BaDsidEFX!! | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2019
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has the worst side effects,withdrawing from friends and family, trouble speaking, over emotional, anger, I can't sleep an when I can sleep my foot taps, anxiety attacks, hot sweats, get the need to get up and move around or pace, mostly in the ankle area and flexors , migraine headache's,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jh1955 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/2/2019
Condition: Convulsive Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was started on 1500 mgs twice a day after having a series of full seizures in April of 2018. I had not had a serious seizure since February of 2009 after a so-called psychiatrist prescribed Celexa in the amount of 60 mgs... 20 mgs above the manufacturers recommended maximum dosage. I had never had a seizure in my life until I had that large dose of Celexa.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LorrD | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2019
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

mood swings, dizzyness, depression, irritable, difficulty concentrating, constantly tired. No seizures but side effects were too bad. Would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
r | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am experiencing a bladder problem. Have lost all sensations of needing to urinate. Bladder not emptying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Big Papi.ð??ª | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/24/2017
Condition: Additional Medication to Treat Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 2000mgs twice daily. I suffer from extreme moodiness and irritability and rarely any complex partial seizures stemming from temporal lobe epilepsy. The medication for the most part works along with 750mgs of lamictal daily. I've recently in the past few years have been suffering memory loss. Not sure if it's the meds or my condition. The family says that I was a completely different person when taken off the meds while staying in an epilepsy monitoring unit at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. I have to do a double take all the time wherever I am to make sure I don't take out anything on anyone especially at home with the family, especially the youngsters. As funny as it sounds a new family puppy has really helped me cope along with the condition. To all reading this review, remember we have to do whatever it takes to be around for all of our loved ones as long as we can.Stay STRONG. Hope this helps all suffering from this awful condition. Good luck to all of you. Maybe puppies are the cure. Lol.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More