Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

62 People found this comment helpful

I was prescibed 10 mg dosage at 8pm to help with sleeplessness, irritable bowel syndrome, and back and neck pain. This has been a miracle drug for me! The cost is so much cheaper than the newer drugs that did not help. I would recommend trying this drug. The first few nights I was a little tired the next day, but now I feel wonderful. I can't believe it worked because I was very skeptical.

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I had a major surgery in April, and about a couple of months later...I felt something painful in side my skin. Went to see the same doctor that did my surgery and explain to him about the pain and trouble sleeping. He prescribe me with this elavil meds. After I read everything about this elavil...I was in shock? Why did the doctor want me to take this meds? I did not take the medicine because I do...

Shared reviews and ratings

Baddie | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made me sleepy,have mood swings and depressed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jler951 | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/13/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I truly had an awful experience with this medication... I started taking it for chronic migraines. I was hopeful starting treatment, but the side effects were god AWFUL. I experienced extreme confusion, anxiety, and exhaustion. For months I felt crazy .. like I was almost living in a dream. I�¢����ve been off the medication now since August of this year... luckily I don�¢����t get migraines as often anymore and I no longer experience any of theses symptoms... it took months for me to feel like myself again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaynehaz | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/8/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this as a young adult. I will say it definitely helped me fall asleep and for the most part helped me stay asleep. But if I had to wake up for some reason in the middle of the night I felt as though I was paralyzed. I can barely get my body to function in any way to get up and move around. I often woke up feeling as though I had an extremely bad hangover. after taking it for several months I started to notice how bad I was shaking and the constant numbness in my hands. After taking it for sometime the shaking became less severe, but it never went away. It was often embarrassing to look as though I was even more nervous than I was, since my hands were trembling half the time. I would wake up in the morning and barely be able to pick up and hold anything, constantly dropping everything. After some time my doctor finally realized that my heart condition was worsening on this medication. I was also on heart medication at this time, actually I was onto at the time trying to remedy the situation. after I stop taking this medication my heart problems decreased, they're still there but I only need one medication out of control for the most part. I kept having to have my dosage of because after three or four months on each dosage it's effects started to decrease. Now eight or nine years later I still suffer from numbness in my hands, especially when I first wake up and several hours after. I suffer from migraines from time to time, this medication never seemed to help that in any way shape or form.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lis | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/2/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication because I had chronic migraines and was getting them daily. The first day I started the medication at 10mg, I immediately had a dry mouth but my headaches were gone. I felt sedated and very passive throughout the day. I gained a lot of weight especially FAT (from 125lbs to 140lbs). My sleep schedule became a complete disaster and i begun to sleep in alot. I did poorly in school because of this. I had to increase the dosage because after 5 months it stopped working and my headaches came back. I started taking Excedrin Migraine due to the pain I was in. That was the only thing helping me so I realized Elavil was not working for me anymore. I completely stopped and I felt the normal. I am not seeking other medications to take but my headaches are not as bad as they once were. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JediMom12 | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/31/2018
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have anxiety, migraines, and chronic pain from a variety of injuries (which started with a broken femur in 2000). I have tried Lexapro, Zoloft, and Cymbalta, each of which had some effect on my issues but were ultimately outweighed by unwanted side effects. ELAVIL stood out because the initial side effects were minimal, and I did experience a reduction in pain. After a few months, however, the weight gain was noticeable and significant. I have gained about 25-30 lbs (with no signs of stopping), which on a small-framed person is a lot, especially the breast enlargement. I am 5'3" and healthy-looking at 140 lbs. I already have large breasts, normally a D cup, and on Elavil, they are back to how big they were when I was nursing (DD,E). My anxiety is only minimally reduced, and I have some forgetfulness and although my pain (knees, leg, back) is improved, it is not enough to eliminate needing supplemental pain medication. I had already decided to wean off the drug, when I went on a road trip and forgot the meds (accidentally on purpose?). The on call doc refused to call in a lower dose for me, so now I am on day three of coming off 75 mg cold turkey. It is predictably unpleasant: I am anxious, weepy, have difficulty sleeping, and the pain is returning. On day two was nauseous to the point of vomiting, and my appetite is significantly reduced. On Elavil I experienced a marked urge to eat sugary things, which is not typical for me. I also felt a dampening of all emotions, both good and bad, and I just dont feel like myself. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/16/2018
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would get a migraine every day. Each one lasted at least 6 hours. Almost lost everything because of the migraines. I had seen 4 Dr's and they all accused me of seeking painkillers. I had a constant throbbing in my head. 24/7. And like clock work it would spike to a migraine. I was taking OTC meds. Around 80 pills a day. Just to keep it barrable. The migraines would get so bad I contemplated suicide. I had two scans done. Nothing. I finally went to Renown Neurology in Reno, NV. My Dr there finally believed me. She put me on Elivil. I have good days which are far more often than bad. On bad days I take my rescue med (Zomig). Elivil has not only saved my life (along with my Dr) but it gave me my life back. There are some side affects. Like weight gain. Which is fine with me because I lost 32 pounds while dealing with such intense pain I had zero appetite. And dry mouth. I wake up in the middle of the night and my mouth is so dry my tongue is literally stuck to the roof of my mouth. Nothing a drink of water won't fix. Also I dream allot more at night. Very vivid dreams. To the point I wake up and have to stop and think if that really happened or not. However these side affects are nothing compared to the pain I was in. I will gladly live with these. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bnurse | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it for IC symptoms. Medication tempered the severity of the pain and spasms I was suffering. I do have the side effects of dry mouth/eyes, and sedation lasting nearly 24 hours. I am able to functionally work, I have no memory problems. I do feel a slight emotional detachment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/2/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went for 8 months with 4-5 migraines a day. After about 3 weeks on elavil, it cut them back to less than one a day. I have been on this for a little over 3 years now and it has helped me immensely. I take it at least 2 hours before bed and try to drink a lot of fluid before bed, as well as through out the day. Those 2 things help offset the dry mouth and sluggish mornings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PAT | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr. gave it to me started out with 25 to strong then 10mg ok then gradually to 50 mg.Was taken it for esophagus soft tissues muscle very bad spasms.seems since I've been on hydrocodone about 4 years my digestive system is shutting down also started getting I.B.S.started to work good then very bad reactions every kind Dr said stop the Elavil its been 2 months since stopping it.But still have side effects and all muscle spasms are back including jack hammer spasms. I started getting off hydro for my back pain was taking 6 to 8 10/325 to 6 to 4 to 3 but with all the meds I am taking I passed out fell on my tile floor woke up hurting my ribs,face,cheek bones you name it.so I started up on my hydro.What can I do ,I have a super sensitive system and I cant handle all the spasms and pain.HELP please. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daniel | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was originally given elavil to help me sleep at night.It has definitely helped with me in that regards. Other things that I have noticed about this medicine is that is causes some problems with memory. My mood has been way more stable then in my past. I don't feel pain as much as I used too. My mouth gets pretty dry. I feel less anxious all the time. I have a slightly reduced sex drive which is good for me. All in all I would say this medicine has for sure made my life better thanks to finally getting sleep and not having mood swings like I used to have. The memory loss can suck unless you want to forget your past.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
8/12/2016
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE TAKEN ELAVIL ORAL FOR ABOUT 5 MONTHS. TOOK 4 TABLETS ALTOGATHER.STARTED WITH 10MG FOR MY JAW PAIN have dry mouth and feel lazy. I have bad side affects ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/4/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What would be considered an over dose?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/5/2015
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed due to a head injury that caused severe migraines. Have been taking Elavil for 8 years. Started at 25mg now decreased to 10mg. Had difficult time with side effects at beginning but adjusted. I did have weight gain, nightmares, forgetfulness, and grogginess but has decreased through years. Has worked great much better than the migraines I was experiencing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
upset patient | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2015
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible medication.I felt like I was asleep yet fully awake .Had stupid dreams..Heart beat so fast I felt like I couldn't breathe. Had major anxiety. Every inch of my body hurt when I got up. Worse med I have had..Heart beat rapidly...I wasn't there for this kind of med..I was at a specialist for reoccuring UTI..will find out when I go back for my next appt.I'm surprised I'm still alive I thought my heart was gonna stop any sec.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2015
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A amelioré mes douleurs de colon irritable, meilleur appétit et aucun réveil nocturne (pu d'insomnie). Toutefois prise de poids et ronflements.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
martha | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2015
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication made me absolutely insane. did not know who or where i was; add seizures to that and i had to dump it in the toilet. scared the crap out of me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginagizzy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2015
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Migraines have woke me up during my sleep, since ive been on Elavil, my migraines have slowed down, I can sleep :) it is a fabulous medicine, I finally have some sleep and pain relief. I wish you success if you go on this :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2015
Condition: Disorder characterized by Stiff, Tender & Painful Muscles
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic pain syndrome and insomnia. My physician has prescribed 25 mg. for sleep and pain relief because of stiff muscles, and spasms that make it hard to get the rest I needed. Taking a tablet a bedtime helps me fall asleep and if I wake during the night I go back to sleep right away. It works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GeauxFlo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Fibromyalgia and the doctor just started me on Elavil 25mg. So far it seems to be working well. I have even noticed a slight increase in energy during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Twinsgma | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was prescribed for insomnia to replace my Ambien. I didn't expect it to work but, from night one I started getting a natural quality sleep with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More