Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Severe muscle spasms, seizure-lilke.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2019
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a craniotomy then 2 days later skull infected they put a picc line in for month and a half...side effects I had Severe rash,hives, severe itching , dry flaky skin ,involuntary muscle twitches And I'm reading these precautions and two are seizure and kidney malfunction which I had 2 seizures after my operation n subsequently was diagnosed w ckd2 so why in the world would those drs put me on this antubiotic..furthermore my medical records clearly show penicillin allergies again drs not paying attention to the patient Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2017
Condition: Infection of Urinary Tract with Complications
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using several oral anti-biotics for psedomosis UTI, this drug (IV) knocked it out permanently

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
neworleanianhu | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a surgeon- induced pseudomonas bacteria osteomylitis in my hip that did not respond to cipro (of course!). After 8 weeks of twice- daily IV treatments with cefepime it seems to be gone. Blood resets are still good weeks out. I had no side effects, but I did eat my weight in yogurt, trying to replace the gut bacteria that the drug was killing. I don't understand the reviews saying it affected taste. It's an IV drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
johnev | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2012
Condition: Pneumonia caused by the Bacteria Pseudomonas Aeruginosa
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no side effects at all. I am starting my third week thro a PICC line. I am feeling better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
johnev | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2012
Condition: Pneumonia caused by the Bacteria Pseudomonas Aeruginosa
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am getting this through a PICC line. I am on my second week and I am improving. I go every day to my infusion center and get a new bad of medicine which lasts 24 hours. I get a dose pumped in me every 12 hours. I have had no side effects thus far!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LLL | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/15/2012
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zap02 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/4/2012
Condition: Presumed Infection in Neutropenic Patient With Fever
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother, who had Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia, went to the hospital with a slight fever. She was admitted and put on the antibiotic cefepime.24 hours later, she fell into an encephalitic coma. She remained in this debilitating state for almost 1 month before I discovered this possible side effect of cefepime and had it withdrawn. My mother awoke 24 hours later but her body was decimated by that time and her mind was deeply affected. She died about a month and a half later.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bruno | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2011
Condition: Pneumonia caused by the Bacteria Pseudomonas Aeruginosa
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Contaminated well water...thought the home had a filtration system, but home owners lied. cefepime was the second iv medicine, and it seems to be working much better for me. Side affects for me are: no appetite, headache to migraines, nausea, pain in joints, pressure in chest. I started the 2nd week. Hopefully just 2 weeks will be all I need. I starting to feel better, and not coughing as much. Pseudomonas e. is so hard to get under control. Good luck to everyone, and hope you feel better soon...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/27/2010
Condition: Infection of Urinary Tract with Complications
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

mom has been on cefipime for 5 days and is no better. I think worst she is very confused and refuses to eat or drink.Has had urinary tract infections in the past and does get confused because of her age(88) but should be some improvement instead of her getting worst.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diarra | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2010
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Comment: I am in my 4th week of 6, the taste this drug leaves in my mouth is medicinal. No food taste edible, it causes nausea,headache and chills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/6/2009
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My brother (age 52 with CTCL) took this medication for two weeks for skin infection. He had severe nausea, diarrhea, abdominal discomfort, and loss of apetite. His skin lesions did not get better. I was really concerned. If he recovers from these side effects, he will begin another round of chemo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Floral Designer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2009
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in my 4th week of 6, the taste this drug leaves in my mouth is so medicinal and wretched that no food taste edible, it causes nausea, no amount of tooth brushing or gargling will get rid of it. It has made me vomit, I get chills, I just started getting a sore throat and can't swallow. This drug has horrible side effects that they really play down. I am going to ask my Dr. to prescribe something else. It was my forehead bone that was infected and it has been removed, so I don't know why I need to suffer more by taking this nasty drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2009
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had an unusual infection of the end plates in my spine. I have an old passed down story that I was allergic to penicillin/amoxicillin (sp)when I was a child. After approximately 3 weeks of use I developed an allergic reaction. It would instant make my stomach upset and my upper torso feel as though it were on fire...then i would get a migraine and a rash. It was aweful. I couldnt sleep, was getting the hot and cold spells, would sweat terribly when I did get some sleep and felt generally very ill. I was pulled off of it and placed an Merrem. I was taking 20 ml via syringe 2x's a day in a picc line. Now my blood counts are a mess again and I am off spraying Lysol on everything.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2009
Condition: Cystic Fibrosis and Infection from Pseudomonas Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did not have any side effects from this drug at all. I did get the infection back again after 1 week which nsame pattern with all antibiotics.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2009
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only been on for 4 weeks,suffered for 5 years with mrsa and pseudomonas,colonized in both hips due to brown-recluse spider bite.praying it will cure me.nausea,tiredness some weight loss.will all be worth it if it works.have been on too many iv anti-biotics that haven't worked.if anyone has serious infections,get to a dr that will get you on correct anti-biotics asap,i have just about lost my legs over this.numerous surgeries ect.i pray god will finish curing me now,and he will use this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ed Brown | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/16/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 2ml per day by pic line for the last 4 weeks, this follows 8 weeks with banco I had mrsa, after it was cured a new infection in the same area my left heel, which is requiring the casting and same treatment as the mrsa I've been fighting this since April and I sure hope this stuff finishes my battle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bevtc | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2008
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe muscle spasms, seizure-lilke.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More