Show ratings & reviews for

1.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Breast surgery Fibroadinoma benign tumor, precaution because of spine rod. Given at end of surgical procedure in OR Hugh hives. Rash. Given Benadryl and steroids intoIV anesthesia team closely watched for any other adverse reactions .

Shared reviews and ratings

BB | 75 or over | Female | Patient
4/12/2018
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if you are allergic penicillin - not the drug for you. caused severe burning in left leg - total leg - this leg had had 2 knee replacement within the last 4 years, the burn only in one leg. also a yeast infection. And after being without mrsa and mssa most of my life 80 - now have both. and that is after ancef. did it wipe out my good stuff? SMH

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
franmainmacungie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2014
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No problems during IV administration x's 4 doses, but 8-9 days post op serious abdominal spasms and cramping and altered stool patterns since then, including today. i used oxycodone (self prescribed, not good to do) for relief. I believe I need something to restore the intestinal flora to normal. Most distressing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Caregiver
5/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Breast surgery Fibroadinoma benign tumor, precaution because of spine rod. Given at end of surgical procedure in OR Hugh hives. Rash. Given Benadryl and steroids intoIV anesthesia team closely watched for any other adverse reactions .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frustrated | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/10/2013
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ancef givin during back surgery.Am allergic to Ancef!!!! After surgery don`t remember 9 days after surgery. lost 40 lbs before having 2nd surgery givin Ancef at that time also.Now having seizures,studdering and can`t focus.Gets frustrated easily.Lots of problems from 1st day of sugery. Been 6 months since 1st surgery and everyday gets worse!! Even had arm band in red allergic to Ancef.Someone needs to be accountable for not paying attention during surgery!!!Given to him while under anesthesia.He`s having many problems alot pertaining to his left side.We could keep going on but you get the idea of allergic reaction to Ancef. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lizmoten | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/7/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this during a c section and I broke out in a serious rash all over my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
winnie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took ancef when I had knee replacement,every since then I have had a white tongue .Doctors says a overgrowth of fungus but it happen after I took ancef.Cannot get it cleared up.Need some one to tell me how to get rid of this had it since right after surgery in Febuary 2011 Thanks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emma | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2011
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before breast (malignancy?) operation had serious digestive problems, pain, nausea, pale coloured stools floating on top of water. After IV Ancef all these conditions have cleared up - what a bonus!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/27/2009
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xstitchn1grmme | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2009
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for about 30 minutes before a surgery to remove breast cyst and swollen lymph gland. I broke out in a rash on my upper chest/lower throat area. I am allergic to penicillin and sulfa drugs, so the surgeon was doing a test dose. It is now on my list of medical allergies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tcxfw5 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it was give to me right before knee surgery i had a anaphylactic reaction. i like to die.i think this should be took off medication list for surgery.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug for surgery to prevent infection. I had a severe allergic reaction. Swelling in face, hands, legs, and throat. I turned red and my blood pressure went to 28/15.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grannylegal | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2008
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I broke out in hives on my back, upper legs, lower stomach with blisters. I would NOT recommend this antibiotic. I have been told I was allegic to penicillian for years and according to all I have read, this should not have been used.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
football player | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/3/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having shoulder surgery. It made me very talkative, sunburn like on face and chest, pulse was racing. Nurse stopped the iv and i went to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/21/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother was given this antibiotic for same day surgery for Kidney Stones. Her whole body turned red and her body swelled up. She had no previous allergies to penicillin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nanny | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2007
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went into anaphalaxis shock from taking this IV before surgery - spent two days in the hospital. I have never been alergic to any medications. This was on November 13 2007. I was told by an allergy doctor that Ancef is an old medicine of the 1950,s.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2007
Condition: Prevention of Perioperative Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went into respiratory arrest before my surgery.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an alergic reaction that sent my blood pressure through the cellar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More