Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

The efficacy of the medication has been wonderful in treating the delusions, hallucinations and irrational thoughts. I do not experience any systems with the use of this medication in combination with Risperdal in low doseage. I have gained weight and am upset with this side effect. I sleep well at night because of the Zyprexa but the sedative nature of the medication is too strong and makes me ...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I did not take this medication long enough to get full use of of it, but when I did use it I felt very tired the next morning wanting to sleep in until at least noon even though I took it the night before. So it makes you really tired and my hunger was uncontrollable. I felt like I couldn't stop eating for some reason. My husband did notice that I seemed "at ease" he said that things didn't seem t...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2014
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained at least 35 lbs in three weeks! Find an alternative!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kaeksen | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2012
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has worked 100% in my case. I got back to the one i was prior to my schizophrenic start in the early 90's. Lost 18 of my years, but now im happy :) In my case i had several voices in my head, either helping me, or wanting to be cruel, or other mal adjusted types of conscious behavior. It was like my connections in my head was not connected as for memory concerned, i had big trouble remembering things. Sometimes hard forming sentences (at the end before i finally gave in to drug treatment, as i realized now its time to try something new.)And i dont regret it at all, it was the start of a new life, with the connections in my brain finally working again as they should. I would recommend others that have trouble with schizophrenia to try this drug. Dont start of with a big dose 20mg, but start with 7.5mg for a week, then if it doesnt work as good as wanted, try 10mg for another week. For me 10mg was enough, but i realize that i might in the future higher the dose. I've been on 10mg for 2 mnths now, and the 10mg keeps working 95%. I sure hope that i dont have to increase the dossage very much in the future, as i hope it will stablelize atleast with a 15mg dossage. Its very individual how effective the medisine is, from people to people. In my case i had far too much production of dopamine, and serotonine (neurotransmitters) So the meds are "hindering" the reseptors to use much of the D&S which i produce, and it gives me calm, and makes my brain/mind whole. I hope i have contributed some. Sorry 4 my bad english. Take care all. :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/23/2012
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stopped her manic anxiety and anger episodes, but once the medication hit her system she became VERY depressed, crying for hours on end. Not sure if we will continue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hotstuff | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/18/2012
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zydis is a kind of wonder drug for me. I have experienced the weight gain and seemingly insatiable appetite. I don't think there are many skinny people on psychiatric drugs, but that is just my personal observation. For those who don't gain, wonderful! I wish I was among that elite group. It is a supplement to my usual dosage of Zyprexa and taken as/if needed only. Good luck to others who try it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/25/2011
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

during dosage adjustment my weight fluxuates

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigpimpin2009 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/21/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It causes extreme weight gain,problems with the thyroid/hypothalmus gland,and stomach problems when taken with prozac including the drug known as symbyax.But if you can deal with that it reduces the amount and intensity of hallucinations both visual and audio.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lcla39 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
2/12/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helping with sleeping and schioeffictive disorder bipolar 1 depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zyprexa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/10/2009
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Haven't tried it yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pizza | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/2/2009
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have high cholesterol, high triglicerides, and I weigh 240 pounds at 5/5"

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
george25 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/19/2009
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very good medication zydis no experience of weight gain, no depression, anxiety and better concentration at dose of 10 mg at night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained an incredible amount of weight. I did sleep better and the mania of my anxiety went away. Upon discontinuance, however, I rapidly lost weight, which caused some other health problems. In the long run I'm not sure if there was a better route to take. I will weigh options more closely if anxiety returns to that degree

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2009
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well to tell you the truth it worked for about the first few months and then afterwards the effects wore off. but i still got the sideeffects that cae with it when it stopped working. uncontrolable hunger (mostly for sweets) snd sleeping alot. over all my experience was not good but it may be different for you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Serena | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
4/9/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did not take this medication long enough to get full use of of it, but when I did use it I felt very tired the next morning wanting to sleep in until at least noon even though I took it the night before. So it makes you really tired and my hunger was uncontrollable. I felt like I couldn't stop eating for some reason. My husband did notice that I seemed "at ease" he said that things didn't seem to bother me as much, which was good for the family lol. I did feel less stressed/anxious but it wasn't worth the side effects for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2009
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very satisfied with this medication. I wish I stated it years ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mphoenix82 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/2/2008
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Go to the gym or something if you have had weight gain! Overall, Zyprexa has always worked for me. No signs or symptoms for years now!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
timinconroe | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/27/2008
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel so much better. When starting Zyprexa, I first started sleeping like most people instead of the terrible insomnia I used to have, and without a hangover. Also, I immediately noticed my racing mind slowing down and thinking became much more controlled. Interestingly I stopped having bruxism. I initially gained weight, but that got under control now by avoiding carbs where possible. My mind is not racing with random or ruminating thoughts. I still would have some depression, but less frequently, and that was brought under control with 300 mg lithium added. I don't feel suicidal or, at the other extreme, do foolish things associated with mania. I now look back on my life as a manic person almost out of control and know that that won't happen anymore. Also, Eli Lilly has made this drug available to me at no charge since I have little income. How wonderful all this is!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/17/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The efficacy of the medication has been wonderful in treating the delusions, hallucinations and irrational thoughts. I do not experience any systems with the use of this medication in combination with Risperdal in low doseage. I have gained weight and am upset with this side effect. I sleep well at night because of the Zyprexa but the sedative nature of the medication is too strong and makes me sleep too long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess Hess | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feels wonderful! 10mg. in the morning 20mg. ay night. Gaining too much weight but I sleep soooo good!! Never slept so good my entire life!!Don't like being fat but Im too high on this to care!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/28/2007
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

symptons seem to worsen and I have had weight gain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/6/2007
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if not taken I feel more anxious, but doesn't seem to do much except I also have severe weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More