Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

My 6 year old woke up one Sunday with a very dry cough that would not respond to any OTC medications. By the evening, it had progressed into a barking cough. After a trip to the EM and a diagnosis of mild pneumonia, he was prescibed this medication. He stopped coughing IMMEDIATELY and was able to sleep thru the night uninterupted. I have not observed any changes in his behavior, nor has it made...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

My child took this medicine 5 years ago. He had severe mood changes. He still has severe mood changes from time to time. Makes me think that he is still taking that medication, because he acts the same way as when he was taking it. Simple things like having to change clothes or brushing his teeth would set him off. He was like Jekyll and Hyde. My nephew also took this medicine against my wishes, ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
12/24/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betsy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/18/2009
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine relieved my 3 year old son's extreme cold symptoms almost within 24 hours. I have never seen a medicine work this well ever. PROBLEM: Severe mood swings. The only way I could describe it would be that it made him mean and evil or demon possessed! He took this medicine during 3 separate illnesses and the effect was the same. Physical healing was a miracle, but a mental nightmare! I reported this to my Pediatrician and they seemed as though they had never heard of such side effects. FDA needs to look into this medicine and at least ban this from the use in children. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
andreadincali | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/19/2008
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter has been taking it for her cough and she's been having weird mood changes. Its really scary. I'm not giving it to her anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/3/2008
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 6 year old woke up one Sunday with a very dry cough that would not respond to any OTC medications. By the evening, it had progressed into a barking cough. After a trip to the EM and a diagnosis of mild pneumonia, he was prescibed this medication. He stopped coughing IMMEDIATELY and was able to sleep thru the night uninterupted. I have not observed any changes in his behavior, nor has it made him sleepy or 'loopy'. I think the stuff is great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/29/2008
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As soon as my son(2 years old)started taking this medication his behavior changed drastically. He was always an amazing boy, never yelled or even said no. He has fits of rage for no reason. I had to take him off of it. I dont recommend this medication for children.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/20/2008
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My child took this medicine 5 years ago. He had severe mood changes. He still has severe mood changes from time to time. Makes me think that he is still taking that medication, because he acts the same way as when he was taking it. Simple things like having to change clothes or brushing his teeth would set him off. He was like Jekyll and Hyde. My nephew also took this medicine against my wishes, but I am not his mother so I had no say, but he acted the exact same way. Coincidence? I don't think so I recomend no one should take this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/15/2008
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this med was for my 2 year old son , it works great, he had a runny nose and a cough, with one dose i could see a big diff. the only down side of this medication is that is knocked him out. other than that , it is great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More