Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

41 People found this comment helpful

I have Asthma and was coughing almost non-stop. My Doctor added Qvar along with my regular Proventil Inh. and in one week I was 88% back to normal on Peak flow. Yes I still have bad days but QVAR is working for me. You must use it daily and not miss any doses. Also wash out your mouth after each use. Your voice sounds may change somewhat but it's the breathing and life that count, make the most of...

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

Hav not started

Shared reviews and ratings

LoriB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/13/2023
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Qvar over 10 years ago, after being in a building to work, and the building also held a Grain testing lab. Many people were very ill. I already had mild asthma, just on Salbutamol. Usually needed only a few (2) puffers per year. After 3 years in this building, I was very ill, had gone through a lot of salbutamol. My dr. sent me to a specialist, prescribed QVar, I also took time off. Reading the inserts, I was aware of all side effects and cautions. Skin thinning and adrenal issue were never mentioned. QVar seemed to help. Being out of that building helped. I had been on it since 2010. I started getting skin tearing. Tearing in V shaped cuts where the skin folds like a paper fan. The stitches didn't hold on my leg, so i used surgical tape. I healed, but it left awful brown marks that never went away. This IS related to QVar. My skin kept tearing. I also was exhausted, and weak. But better than I had been when I was in that building. I ended up moving to another Province. In my prescription I got an additional data sheet on Qvar. It mentioned skin thinning. The penny dropped. I had two further back to back leg punctures and rips. I researched and found that New Zealand has published data on inhaled corticosteroids and skin thinning since 2004. Dr.s here didn't believe me. I decided to get off of QVar by trying a novel approach. Trying to find out why I have asthma in the first place..the causal factor. I tried the food allergy approach by limiting intake and avoiding common trigger foods, seeing if there is a change. I stopped dairy and Bam. My asthma got better. I weaned off of Qvar, as if you stop it fast it can really affect your adrenals long-term. It may have anyway. I'm completely off of it now, yet keep it in case fires in the area happen. If I have zero dairy( tricky but do able) I only need salbutamol morning and night. If I have dairy, within one day, I have greatly increased asthma symptoms for about 2 days. My skin has suffered so much. So many brown age spots and thinning. I'm using red light therapy, vitamin oils etc. to help correct it. But beware of this product. Beware of all inhaled corticosteroids. Try to find out what is causing asthma and see if you can get rid of the cause. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marplemad | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my 4th Qvar inhaler. Out of the 4 inhalers, 2 worked, one was a complete failure (though testing by pressing it worked fine), and one has started malfunctioning half way through it's suggested usable time. The medication now discharges right at the end of a long inhale, leaving me with smoke-like medication in my mouth. If I wasn't already swapping back to the original inhaler, I would now insist on doing so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Severe Chronic Obstructed Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They say it stops working around 40 puffs left. Mine stopped working around 43 puffs left. It was spraying after I inhaled. I tested it and found if you shake it like other inhalers it works fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/27/2022
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This new so-called breath-acuated Redi-Haler is less than a sick joke!! It doesn't work and is worthless for "only" $213.00 & that's thru Good RX discount! Read the reviews & very many say it either stops on them or never starts from the get-go! It is criminal that it's still available & needs to be recalled, banned, & done away with! Ludicrous!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kayco | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/8/2022
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm unhappy with the new Redi inhaler dispenser. If you are having difficulty breathing, the inhaler is hard to use because you must inhale deeply to get any benefit from the medication. Also, I am showing signs of "thrush" in the back of my throat where I never had issues before. Will check with my asthma doctor to see if there is another option out there for me. Prior to the dispenser change, my asthma was controlled and I did not have thrush. Very disappointed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Greg | 65-74 | Male | Patient
7/26/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Actuator did not work from the start. Very poor product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barney | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/11/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since they have switched to the redi inhaler, it works for a week or so and then stops dispensing or runs out of medication. The past three months this has been happening and now my asthma is back to where it was over a year ago when I was first prescribed it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Landy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/22/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug works but since they changed the package so Teva could charge more for it, the inhaler doesn't work properly. But what really bugs me is it now costs me $180 per inhaler. What a rip-off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/19/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since the makers of Qvar changed the dispenser Iâ??ve had difficulty dispensing the medication. About 1/4 or halfway thru it it stops working. I donâ??t shake it or rinse it, the instructions clearly states not to do that. Still doesnâ??t work. I contacted the the maker Tevar and they gave me a new one. 3 months straight this has been happening. I told my doctor to switch my inhaler. 3 defective inhalers in a row was enough for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jh | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/9/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The new redi inhaler has caused me lots of problems. I never had any issues prior to this package change (over years with the new packag It works great when it is new and I have no symptoms with one puff a day. About halfway through the dose counter it seems to stop giving medicine and my symptoms get progressively worse. I have had the new package 3 times now and he problem is consistent each time. By the time I get to say 60 puffs I notice an issue. The time I kept going and went to 38 doses left I was doing a puff in the morning and at night but I was using abuterol 10 times in 24 hours. I got a new inhaler and started using that and symptoms immediately improved and I was able to go back to 1 puff a day. Again as long as I throw it out half way through the doses I am fine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DoctorsMakeMeSick | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2018
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Their New inhaler, no canister: Side effects almost immediate onset ( few days ) of using it....chronic sore throat. Gargling afterwards as recommended is not helping. On 3rd week and have a sore throat almost all of those days. Headaches as well....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lacrosse | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2018
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

QVar has worked for me but I am really concerned if I am getting addicted to it. I normally have exercise induced/allergy/cold induced asthma but now... if I don't take the QVar my chest feels really heavy. Anyone else feel this way?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keasterling3 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/21/2018
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was satisfied with Qvar BEFORE the new design of the redihaler. I just watched my 7 year old PROPERLY use this inhaler and get sprayed in the face barely missing his eye. He opened the cap to take his 2nd puff and before it got to his mouth it sprayed the medicine. If he hadn’t turned his head slightly it would’ve been all in his eye rather than all over his cheek! NOT HAPPY WITH THIS!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keasterling3 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/21/2018
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was satisfied with Qvar BEFORE the new design of the redihaler. I just watched my 7 year old PROPERLY use this inhaler and get sprayed in the face barely missing his eye. He opened the cap to take his 2nd puff and before it got to his mouth it sprayed the medicine. If he hadn’t turned his head slightly it would’ve been all in his eye rather than all over his cheek! NOT HAPPY WITH THIS!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NMBreather | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/12/2018
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took six months before I felt benefits from QVAR. Doctor had me switch from 40mcg to 80. Iâ??ve been on this medication going on 3 years now, and I was able to go 6 or 7 months without my emergency inhaler. I was diagnosed with asthma in my 20s but believe I had it as a teenager; I am almost 60 now. QVAR does more for me than Symbicort, Advair, or others. However, if they raise the price again and leave it off the Formulary, I will br forced to find a cheaper inhaler that is covered by my health insurance.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rosecrest | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/12/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used for several years with good result. Recently the canisters DO NOT DELIVER 120 doses. They seem to average only about half that number. It's very difficult to calculate haw much to take on a trip since I can't predict if I'll run out during the trip. (If an attack of asthma occur I have to increase both the albuterol rescue inhaler and this Qvar). I was quite well satisfied until this started happening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mimi6 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was placed on Qvar because of my increased usage of albuterol inhaler. It has definitely helped with breathing. I can up stairs without getting out of breath since taking this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ben Dover | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pain to use having to rinse after each use. Immediately got a sore throat that has not gone away for a week. Terrible croupy cough developed in 2 days and has not gone away. Wheezing all night long with coughing. Voice has gone hoarse and I can't sing anymore. Going to give it a little more time to see if things don't improve. If they don't I'm going to go off of it and find something else if there is anything else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2016
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The headaches, dizziness and sore throat suck. I would get off this stuff now if the insurance company would agree to it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/23/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have COPD and this med solved my breathing issues. Only negative is it seems to have reduced my immune system quite a bit. This is a listed side effect so I was not suprised.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More