Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

can't take it passed 7:00p in the evening or I'm up in the middle of the night was an upset stomach.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

when on this drug I saw little difference in my blood sugar. I just recently had a cat scan with contrast & had to be off this med for 48 hrs.During this 48hr period my urinary incontinance disappeared. I have stopped the med as per my Dr. and on a strict diet and I'm hoping to be off any diabetic meds forever. My icontenance was more trobeling to me. I can't tell you how happy i am not to be wear...

Shared reviews and ratings

may | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/28/2016
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Busybee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/31/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 500mg xr for 8 months. Feeling constantly bloated and loss of appetite. Have had constant constipation, twice I have had to pass a large compacted stool which I had to ease out with my fingers. I have lost 5 kilos, I know look haggard. I have never been overweight. Been having diabetes for 12 years, but have been controlling thro diet and exercise. In the last year diet and exercise was not responding well, hence this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had diabetes for 10 yrs and took Glucophage for first 6 years. Then ins company requested that I switch to generic metformin. For past 4 years readings have been erratic (no dietery change) and diarrhea has set in. Also, the evidence of extended release activity (the empty pill shell in the stools) has disappeared. Last month, Doc switched me back to Glucophage and diarrhea gone and blood sugar stabilized. Feel great now. Drawback? Costs a lot more because BC will not pay for it like a generic. Not fair for a person who cannot tolerate the ineffective gen brands. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the past few months, I am finding these tablet in my stools. It does not digest in my stoamach. I am also on insulin with the Glucophage. My doctor prescribed it like this. I am diabetic type 1 for 16 years. Should I stop taking them? I did for 2 days and felt that my sugar levels stay high.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Classy Lady | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this medication for about a month. Blood sugar has dropped some, however; I am going to ask my healthcare provider for something else. Within one hour of eating, I am in the bathroom. It gives me diarrhea so bad that I cannot go anywhere. In addition, it gives me stomach cramps and a general feeling of being sick. I am not happy with this drug at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had resisted going on meds. After struggling to control bg with diet only for a year and having poor results, I started(2000 mg) Metformin XR daily, 2 500mg tablets with breakfast and dinner.Remarkable results, I test between 100 and 125 consistantly and am able to add back nutritious foods to my diet within reason. Some mild nausea, bloating, and gas at first but mostly gone after a week, still some belching depending on what I eat {red bell pepper is worst)Should have done this sooner!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female |
6/8/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when on this drug I saw little difference in my blood sugar. I just recently had a cat scan with contrast & had to be off this med for 48 hrs.During this 48hr period my urinary incontinance disappeared. I have stopped the med as per my Dr. and on a strict diet and I'm hoping to be off any diabetic meds forever. My icontenance was more trobeling to me. I can't tell you how happy i am not to be wearing diapers

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dolly | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2011
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially felt naseaus and bloated all the time until educed it to 1 a day for few days and then went back to twice a day after meals now it seems to have settled after 2 weeks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hlduane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got severe diarhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
washerdancerj | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2011
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

so far good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
retired nursef8 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/24/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking my 1500mg dose after dinner I experience with my bowel movement there are 2 orange tablets among the stool they are the size of the glucophage. Should I DC the meds. FBS is no high than 118 HgbA1C5.4 6.6

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/26/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lots of loose bowels

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
taxihoney | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/22/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometimes severe diahorea but since combining with diamicron ,. i am ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
owlmom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/13/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this med as GLucophage 500 XR for more than 5 years. Yes, it will give you diarrhea. When I first took it I thought - no way. Dr wanted me to take 4 daily. I decided to ease into it starting with 1/day and gradually increased up to the 4. (I take 2 after lunch and 2 at bedtime) My body became accustomed to the medication and the diarrhea is not such a problem - more of loose bowels. However, I have noticed that WHAT you eat has a great impact on this side effect. Monitor your diet and decrease or eliminate the foods that increase the problem.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zorro | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/28/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

easy use and good controll. Soon as I started taking metformin my blood sugar came into line.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Midwest Grandma | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/27/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the generic form for months and have suffered diarrhea to the point that I'm leary of going out. It strikes fast and furious. I have been recently switched to Glucophage XR 500mg 2 2 times daily and it has calmed down. Problem, insurance won't pay for it and it's too expensive to buy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/4/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Msdazee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2009
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for about a week. Upon waking or perhaps even during the night I wake to vomit and/or have a case of the runs. I'm just not sure which is worse, the disease or the cure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
southerndiva | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/4/2009
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication makes you have diarrhea sometimes. I noticed when I switched to generics my sexual drive kicked into overdrive. I try to tell my partner its the medication. If you don't believe me read the leaflet you get from the pharmacy when you pickup your prescription. Now I understand why this drug is also given to women to aid in conception. Overall I've been able to control my sugar level and lose weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/24/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More