Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

When I first started taking the medicine I would take three capsules three times a day now I take three capsules two times a day. Great drug, I am symptom free.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

This medication didn't do a thing for me. Had trouble swallowing all those pills (3-3 times a day). Had to mix them with applesauce in order to get them down. Also had trouble remembering to take them.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2020
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Massive improvement in symptoms in 48 hours. First day was dreadful but by day 2 I felt great and I'm asymptomatic for a few weeks now

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2018
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Capsules are easy enough to swallow but the drugs was 100% not effective in treating my UC symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
untamedandinflamed | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/17/2018
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first and only medication I've used to treat my ulcerative colitis. It works amazing, but it's operator-error that leads to flare ups. My GI has me taking this 3x a day. If I forget a dose, my UC flares.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JustMeSDC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/11/2017
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for over 5 years. It has worked for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brain | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2015
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this med for the past couple of months, so far so good! It's been working to keep things under control for me without any side effects. I agree with some of the others about the trickiness of remembering to take the 3 afternoon pills everyday, other than that, no problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abt | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Balsalazide (3X3) completely cured my Crohn's disease/colitis, with no side effects. I asked my gastroenterologist how often this happens for people, and he said, "It's hit or miss." So I think I got lucky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has any one experienced lower leg pain - including cramps and/or tingling sometimes burning nerve pain?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lots of weight gain, about 25 lbs. Today had a bout of dark green stool-will have to call doctor to see what's up with that. Hate that the pills are so large too! Been taking it for over a year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this for about a month and the muscle pains are so bad I can barely walk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JCB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/11/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 65 yr old female with ulcerative colitis. This drug seems to be effective. but the huge capsules are very difficult to swallow. I have experienced swollen ankles and weight gain while 6 months on this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gary | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 3 capsules 3 times a day for a little more than 1 month, So far so good. However, I have been losing hair ever since I started taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cardinal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2013
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication didn't do a thing for me. Had trouble swallowing all those pills (3-3 times a day). Had to mix them with applesauce in order to get them down. Also had trouble remembering to take them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clear2sunny | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2012
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am taking 3x3 pills a day. Hard to remember the afternoon pills even though I keep them in my drawer at work. Anyone experiencing any hair loss with this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/13/2012
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am just starting this medcation. I was on Asacol but it became too expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
debiboop | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/19/2011
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medicine for almost 2 years and it has been great. I take 3 pills twice a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/9/2011
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medicine 3 pills 3xday and has worked very effective on bloating issues but has kept my flare ups have been far apart.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leonard | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2010
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was really hopeing that this medication would help ease my symptoms but instead it gave me really bad joint pain. Apparently I am amoung the 4% of the population that gets this side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sabrina | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/30/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 7 years old and been on this now for 3yrs. It worked good at first but now I've been having more symtoms and I guess side effects from it. My Doctors are checking into it. But over all its worked. I think since I've gotten older I need a change.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scottchad37 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/30/2008
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medication in conjunction with Opremazole. I can eat all types of food without the debilitating heartburn/reflux I used to experience. Works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More