Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

solved my problem

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Absolutely worthless! My doctor prescribed PROCTOSOL-HC 2.5 Cream but the Kroger pharmacist substituted Proctozone-HC 2.5 because they said it is listed as a generic. Not true! PROCTOSOL works immediately. The other stuff does nothing but it does burn.

Shared reviews and ratings

Gwen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2021
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this cream to help fissures and hemorrhoids and overall irritation and after two weeks still no signs of it helping at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jojo | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2015
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe hemorrhoids due to surgery. Although, each persons review varies, it helped wonders for me. I had IMMEDIATE relief. I had no itching or burning. I was literally in pain from constipation, this is a great prescription. Good luck to everyone needing relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wandab | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2015
Condition: Anal Fissure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been in pain for four days. I couldn't sit or walk without cringing in agony. My dr prescribed this for me yesterday. within one use, I was already feeling some relief. My doctor also suggested I take Senna every night to help with the BM. This combination has really helped me, and I would suggest it to anyone with any type of recal pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lynn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2015
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it helps my pain but give me a lot of itching in nearby skin. I need take antihistamine medicine otherwise i can not sleep during night. I will give up this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Notpleased | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2015
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As usual med did not work, I'm beginning to believe my doctor guesses which med to prescribe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2014
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product definitely helped me within days. My hemorrhoids were so bad where I could not walk, sit, drive or even get in/out the car on my own. I am 6 months pregnant and prior to now I had issues but they were never this bad. They would come out and go back in. This particular time they would not, so after 3 days of unbearable pain, I was prescribed this. After only 1 day of use what my doctor said was a really huge hemorrhoid is not really small. I think by the end of the day, it will be completely gone. Thank God, best product ever. Don't waste your time on anything else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dougsgurl323 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2014
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having surgery for two large internal hemorrhoids I was prescribed Protozone HC 2.5%. I can't believe how much it eased the pain!!! This cream works wonders.....I highly recommend this for anyone who have hemorrhoids removed or have problems with them!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chicken | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/29/2013
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely worthless! My doctor prescribed PROCTOSOL-HC 2.5 Cream but the Kroger pharmacist substituted Proctozone-HC 2.5 because they said it is listed as a generic. Not true! PROCTOSOL works immediately. The other stuff does nothing but it does burn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ez2cy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2012
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used prep h for hemorrhoids and was messy and didn't work....started using proctozone hc and got immediate relief and painful hemorrhoids are going away after just two days...great stuff!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
minnie29 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2011
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using proctozone-hc 2.5% since april 14th and I have two big Hemm inside and my doc prescriped me this.Everytime I put this on it burns so bad.I herd from others it's a great med,but not for me.my surgent better get these things out..Also mainly any meds I take I get the side effects.Good Luck!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redass | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2011
Condition: Skin Irritation Around the Anus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

medication works well for bits of waste held in anus folds long enough to deteriorate and cause very painful irritation. Delivery tip only 1" long screws onto tube, requires holding tube and trying to insert into rectum, then trying to squeeze tube until feel cold cream in rectum. By then I've used 1/4 tube per use, so 4 applications per tube, very messy to clean up. Prohibitively expensive cost per application, awkward trying to squeeze cream out of tube while 1" tip inserted in rectum. Delivery system designed by someone with an Edgar Allen Poe sense of humor. Macabre!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2011
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to the doctor for what I believed was my first ever hemorrhoid. It was confirmed and I was given this prescription. I used it for 4 days with no change to the one hemorrhoid. I then woke up on the 5th day to 2 more hemorrhoids! These aren't as big but they itch tremendously! This medicine is not helping at all with the reduction of the hemorrhoids or the itch. I have a call into the doctor to see if there is another medicine that will help to get rid of them!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2011
Condition: Skin Irritation Around the Anus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
caseylynn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2010
Condition: Anal Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication takes away my symptoms within a day or two. i thought i would always have to suffer but no more. i would recommend this med highly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2010
Condition: Skin Irritation Around the Anus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have reaccuring external hemeroids that started with my pregnancy 5 years ago. They come back every now and then. This last time have been very bad and am having a hard time getting them to go away. I am taking Proctofoam AND this cream as well for external. I have been using it for 6 days now. Sometimes it will work, and keep itching and irritation down, but other times it does not. I do not think it is strong enough...2.5% I think what is really helping is taking 800 mg of Motrin (normal dosage amount for me...perhaps you should start with 200 mg...on tablet...then work your way up if needed). The Motrine had done wonder in reducing the swelling. This cream tho, I think would be fine for minor discomfort but not the major ones.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2010
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After less than a week and using only 2 x a day this medication took the painful hemorrhoids packing! I was contemplating surgery anything to get some relief and WOW! My dr was right!!! This is magical cream!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
apple | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2010
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

out of all the rectal cream I have had this one I would give a 5 out 5 works wonders for me. I would not trade this for no other.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2009
Condition: Anal Itching
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Preparation H until my doctor prescribed this. After two weeks, no itching and no bleeding. So far, so good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/14/2009
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

solved my problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this cream for hemerroids this medication did not work at all. It was a complete waste of time and my money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More