Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I am on 37.5 mg after 6 months of lower doses. It definitely helps sleep and the depression lifted after adding the latest 7.5mg. I have watched my calorie intake carefully and have not gained weight. No sexual side effects. I would rate it A+.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

i have only taken 1 20mg pill and cut the second dose in half - i will not take another dose unless i can be assured it will get easier

Shared reviews and ratings

Kate D. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Over the past 26 years, I have been put on many different meds to treat major depression & anxiety. From those that were effective (Prozac, Wellbutrin, Trazodone, Xanax and Brintellix/Trintellix) to those that didn't help (Lexapro & Celexa), to those that made my depression worse (Elavil, Seroquel, and Remeron/mirtazapine). However, none of the meds that made my depression worse can compare to what mirtazapine/Remeron did to me. Not even close. On mirtazapine, I became a completely different person. I no longer cried. My sadness disappeared. I was able to get out of bed, get dressed, eat, and even work, but not as myself--as a robot without any emotions whatsoever. I experienced depersonalization and non-stop suicide ideation. I had to force myself to stop thinking about suicide in order to work, but it was extremely difficult, because that's where my thoughts wanted to return constantly. I was like a starving person telling myself to stop thinking about food...I could only focus on other things for short periods, then back to the dark world of suicide and death was where my thoughts ran. Constantly. Killing myself was the only thing my brain felt comfortable thinking about. I had no more feelings--no depression, no sadness, no hopelessness, but also no positive emotions--even fleeting, momentary ones. There was just no emotion in me whatsoever. For weeks my brain was mulling over the different ways I could kill myself, and which ways would be the least complicated, messy, and distressing for the people who loved me. My only goal in life became to find the ideal, most logical & efficient way to kill myself. I was completed detached from reality and didn't even consider the fact that what was happening to me was abnormal. Thankfully, my psychiatrist was on top of things and made me check in with her. As soon as she realized what was happening, she took me off mirtazapine....Thank god!!! Looking back, I can't believe how close I came to killing myself. I'm convinced it would only have been a matter of time until I settled on the "perfect plan." I would have left my children orphans ????. Every person reacts differently to each medication. I can't dissuade people from taking this drug because although it almost killed me, it has saved others, just as Prozac and Brintellix have saved me. Whatever medication you take, be vigilant about possible side effects. Be open with your doctor and loved ones so that they can be on the lookout for reactions such as mine. You can't do it alone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
-- | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped with the suicidal thoughts at first, then they came back. Probably because the drug made me gain 40 pounds. I watched what I ate and worked out 5-7 days a week, but couldn't shed a pound. Changing to something that hopefully works better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JAMESqXrp2s | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/20/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/19/2014
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent med for depression and with no sexual side effects! Deep restful sleep as well. Generic works as well as name brand.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/19/2013
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried many other meds for PTSD with limited to no relief. This one worked immediately and completely effective with no side effects. Also it's not habit forming. Talk to your Doc and give it a try. I'm sleeping every night. Nightmares are less frequent. Been on it for about a year. I highly recommend it. Feeling like I'm ready to move on ;-)`

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/29/2011
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Of all the medications that I have taken since my depression (40 years of depression) this medicine (Remeron)has been the best that ever happen to me. I don't really feel depressed anymore but I still need this med. to be able to sleep and eat. I have lost my appetite entirely and I believe forever and with Remeron I feel hungry. Right now I'm only taking 15mgs. and I cut the pill in half (7.5 mgs). The dose doesn't come lower.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me2b | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2011
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication takes a full 4-6 weeks for full effectiveness. Anyone that has taken this drug less than this amount of time should not be rating it. This medication works very well for me and helps me sleep well. Research has shown that it treats depression effectively without adversly effecting sleep the ways that SSRI's (Lexapro, paxil, prozac, celexa etc) do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BrianG | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/1/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2011
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works well for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rr | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/18/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been using for 8 yrs. Get great sleep. Feel able to function all day. Start day early, up at 6 am, not groggy. Take with 5mg Diazepam

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/15/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on 37.5 mg after 6 months of lower doses. It definitely helps sleep and the depression lifted after adding the latest 7.5mg. I have watched my calorie intake carefully and have not gained weight. No sexual side effects. I would rate it A+.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SILLY | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/3/2011
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WEIGHT GAIN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2010
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when my depression comes on, it less me hopeless. Remeron keeps me from hitting those lows'

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/18/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mildred4skfro | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have only taken 1 20mg pill and cut the second dose in half - i will not take another dose unless i can be assured it will get easier

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
msmac1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a very restful sleep while taking this medication. The only side effect of taking this med is that I was groggy for a while after waking up, but very relaxed the rest of the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/10/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking it for several years. It definitely helps me sleep, but I take several other antidepressants, so am not sure how well it helps the depression. I have gained about 20 pounds on the medicine. I am not at all happy about that, but it is better than not sleeping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/12/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medication for about 10 months. While it has somewhat helped my depression symptoms, I find the 10+ pounds I have gained to be a big drawback. Also, the drowsy feelings that helped me sleep are no longer working like they used to. I will be switching meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TMarie247 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/24/2009
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great. I'm sleeping and eating again... But I sleep walk... anyone else?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/26/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More