Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I had the outbreak on a Monday and I went that afternoon to get my abreva. I applied it right after I bought it and I can say it worked immediately. The next morning I could see the difference. If only we could have came up with this years ago and didnt have to use that stinky campho phenique...yuck

Shared reviews and ratings

Happy customer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/7/2021
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Abreva works best when it is applied as soon as though senses a cold sore coming on. It is best to rub it in completely until the creamy white is no longer visible. This ensures that it penetrates through the skin and starts working. So many times I see people walking around with a glob of it on their lips. That doesn’t work. You must rub it in. Don’t expect miracles-but if used as directed this product does what it claims. FYI I use a plastic applicator for rubbing it in to ensure it is not being absorbed into my finger or the cotton on a q-tip. Honestly it would be ideal if Abreva was sold with a plastic applicator. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOYB | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It boggles me how Abreva can get away with advertising their topical cream can cure a cold sore in 2.5 days if applied at the first sign of it. I've been using Abreva for years in the hope that it may be reducing the length of time I have a cold sore -- a costly endeavor considering the exorbitant price of Abreva. I've never had it stop a cold sore and it's never prevented one from lasting less than 7 days. Honestly, you'd think by how some genius would have come up with an effective treatment and run off with millions of dollars. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
danskpige | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is crazy expensive and doesn't seem as effective as some natural remedies I have tried. Going to stick to the natural methods instead...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judrok | 45-54 | Male | Patient
10/4/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Abreva works best when it is applied as soon as the individual senses a cold sore coming on. It does not pretend to make existing outbreaks disappear. If used as instructed, it can lessen the size of the outbreak and the duration. Don’t expect miracles- this product does what it claims; it’s the best available.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gabriella | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/13/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked very well for me every time! When I put abreva on after a couple of hours that I notice the cold sore it will last up to 5 days but if I literally put it right away and I mean RIGHT AWAY not 5 min later... then the cold sore won’t even show up! Amazing product. I think who doesn’t like it just lies about putting on right away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/27/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had dental surgery planned for a Tuesday morning. On the previous Saturday morning I felt a cold sore coming on my lower lip. I immediately started putting Abreva on the cold sore and it was gone by Tuesday morning. I love this product and wouldn't use any other.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For colds sores latter and still doesnâ??t work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has taken me three tries to realise that Abreva is an expensive waste of money for me. It makes no difference to my symptoms even though I start using it as soon as I realise I am getting cold sores. Next time, I will try something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/10/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Expensive and does nothing. What a scam! Either take Valtrex everyday or wait it out because you will be throwing your money away on this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for a cold sore as soon as I felt it coming on. It didn't seem to shorten the time it lasted. I've found that icing the cold sore as it started bloomed has been much more effective than using this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Welaine | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/4/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get 2-3 cold sores a year. They used to get so bad I would take time off from work! Abreva had cut healing time by several days, and they never form that horrible, oozy, painful scab. Itâ??s not a 100% cure all, but it definitely makes a noticeable difference if you start treatment as soon as you feel the tale tale tingle. I will never be without this product, it is a life saver!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pengie76 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get one cold sore a year, I call it my annual annoyance... What I actually use is hard to come by at stores now, so when I felt this last one starting at work, I had no choice but to purchase this, as it was all that was available. after a full day of use, and reapplying several times over the course of 24 hours, the only difference I feel is that it minimizes the tingling and some of the pain, otherwise.. still a huge blister, as a matter of fact this one is much larger than what I normally get. I am back on my usual remedy (releev) as this has been shelved for a future emergency. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I-HATE-COLDSORES | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/15/2018
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got the cold sores from my parents by drinking after them. I've had them from probably the age of 13. Abreva has always been my go to. One thing to remember is, always wash your hands before using. More bacteria=Worse cold sore. I'm just waiting on a forever cure now hahaha

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2018
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt a tingle on my lip tuesday 8pm. Bought abreva in the pump immediately and applied it every few hours for 36 hours.My cold sore never got any bigger than 5mm and is almost completely gone now, Thursday 5pm. No oozing, scabbing, spreading, nothing. Tingle to gone in 48 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2018
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before i noticed i was getting a cold sore it started out as if it was a small pimple 2 small pimples but arent pimples so i obviously put on the medication and it actually made it worse, the dots grew twice the size and then another one in the middle of my bottom lip another sore so i dont like this, I think salt and lemon work faster

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MammaBear | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/27/2018
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m reading through these reviews and I can help but think maybe people are using this wrong. While it is true that Abreva should be used at the absolute first sign of a cold sore (tingling, itching, soreness) I have used it a day after the first sign. I can see the blister starting to form and itâ??s painful. As soon as I get my hands on some Abreva I put a glob on the cold sore (not anywhere else...I do not put it on like Iâ??m putting on lipstick or chapstick) the first application is always a gob because Iâ??m usually in pain and uncomfortable so itâ??s not like Iâ??m out in public or anything. Anyway, I feel relief as soon as 2 minutes after applying. The tingling stops and the pain lessens almost immediately. Also, use another lip balm for he rest of your lips that are NOT affected by a cold sore so they donâ??t dry out. On the first day I apply it every 15 minutes or so and about every hour I wipe the area with a wet paper towel (to take off the build up) then apply it lighter and lighter as the day goes (only the first time I gob it on) by the next morning all pain and itching are gone and Iâ??ll put a small amount on and rub it in so itâ??s not all white. If I happen to have some Abreva when the first tingle happens and I put it on, it NEVER forms into a cold sore. So if you are trying it for the first time, try putting a good amount just on the spot of the cold sore or tingling spot. Idk...it always works for me. Good luck. Cold sores are just so annoying.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
1/24/2018
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know if it has something to do with body chemistry, but abreva and the generic drug store forms of it work extremely well for me when applied early. If I notice a tingle or bump, Abreva often makes them go away completely within a day. I would combine with a drug like Valtrex. Also make sure to get tons of sleep and avoid stress- both to prevent herpes, and to shorten cold sores when they happen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/4/2018
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get cold sore once every two-three years always resulting to Abreva. My cold sore last from 12-14 days while using this medication as directed. I would say this medication is absolutely not worth the high dollars it costs as opposed to the other OTC medications used to treat cold sores.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 |
12/23/2017
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What a waste of money. I've never had good results with Abreva, even though I've followed instructions all the times I've tried it. Cold sores still get blisters, scabs, bleed and spread.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous74 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2017
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get cold sores usually from stress and if I start to feel a bump near my lip and notice itching I will immediately purchase this as it definitely decreases the time you have it. It is not meant to immediately make it go away but you will have the cold sore for a few days rather than a couple weeks and personally that is worth it to me. It relieves the itching and slows it from getting worse but you have to apply it only to where the cold sore is bc they are so contagious that you can spread them yourself and that is not the medication's fault. I'd rather pay the extra money than to have it on my face any longer than need be. Definitely recommend.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More