Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Works great for GERD, however depletes magnesium levels dangerously low. I had heart palpitations, severe muscle cramping, nervousness, and shaking.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Took me a while to figure it out this stuff is poison for me!! Did not control heartburn or acid reflux. Burning in throat, pain in shoulders, arms, throat, sinuses, esophageal spasms and pain, reduced appetite, stomach pain, sores in mouth, nose, teeth pain. Increased B/P. The list is just ridiculous! Feel so sick! How can they say the generic has the same ingredients, obviously there are fillers...

Shared reviews and ratings

EoE Teen | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: eosinophilic inflammation of the esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a teenager with eosinophilic esophagitis. I was prescribed 40 mg of Nexium once a day to treat my EoE, for which my main symptoms were difficulty swallowing and indigestion. I have mixed feelings about this drug. It's gotten rid of my indigestion and my EoE, as recent endoscopy results showed I now have 0 eosinophils! HOWEVER---Nexium has very bad side effects. I have been getting extreme anxiety. Waking up with a racing heart, butterflies in my stomach, panicking at the smallest trigger. This has never happened before I started taking Nexium. For now I must continue taking Nexium to treat my EoE but the horrible anxiety it gives me is taking a toll. Overall, I would say that Nexium is extremely effective for symptom relief BUT it can give severe side effects. Weigh the pros and cons to decide if esomeprazole is right for you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sapphire | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2020
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having stomach issues went to the doctor and he asked did I get sour stomach and I said few days ago yes and he put me on this drug and its a nightmare. I don't believe I have acid reflex before I rarely used antacids and I can't eat anything except boiled potatoes and soup and I'M getting upper stomach spasms. The doctor scope me and it was clear and he did a CT scan and it was clear. Now can't sleep cause of the spasm in my upper stomach.I have ISBD. I don't know what too do.:(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/1/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2019
Condition: Ulcer of Duodenum caused by Bacteria Helicobacter Pylori
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was experiencing severe stomach pain from a duodenal ulcer and from the cancer medication I am taking. The Nexium has worked like a charm -- pain level has gone down from an 8 to a 2 on the pain scale in just the past 4 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/20/2018
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn t figure out what was wrong, started noticing when i take this pill my throat would get real dry, feels like a knot is in your throat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/7/2017
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for many years now, but would always prefer to get off or on something else. Works 100%! Have hereditary condition from parent, serious long-term heartburn. Love this med EXCEPT can't take the bloating anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/29/2016
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had wonderful relief of symptoms taking this type of medication produced by the dr. reddy brand. my druggist switched to this producer and I am having horrible symptoms again. this capsule is twice the size of Nexium and the other generic I was taking. what else is in it?? This specific brand does not work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
billieann | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took me a while to figure it out this stuff is poison for me!! Did not control heartburn or acid reflux. Burning in throat, pain in shoulders, arms, throat, sinuses, esophageal spasms and pain, reduced appetite, stomach pain, sores in mouth, nose, teeth pain. Increased B/P. The list is just ridiculous! Feel so sick! How can they say the generic has the same ingredients, obviously there are fillers that people are allergic to? I think the pharmaceutical companies are liars.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ed | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2016
Condition: Bleeding from Stomach, Esophagus or Duodenum
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nexium worked. This does not. My symptoms including horrible pain have returned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K9girl | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely HORRIBLE!!!! I have taken Nexium for many years and it's amazing. I started the new generic form about 2 weeks ago- nightly as usual. I took me a while to figure out it was the med making me sick. Horrible stomach pain but not consistent. It was a dull ache in the center of my upper stomach. Reflux which I had not had since the Nexium returned. Dizziness. Weakness in knees. No Appetite. Gross stool with a foul odor. I have been on Weight Watchers since January 19 and lost 23 1/2 pounds to date. I have been eating amazingly so I knew it was not food related. Dropped my Cholesterol 71 points in 3 months. IT was the generic Nexium! I called my Mail Order Pharmacy and the first thing they asked me was if I had stomach pain. HUM?! YES! They were happy to switch me off the generic and back to Nexium. Waiting for the prescription to arrive now. This medication is HORRIBLE!!!!! I can usually take anything. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sanjay Gupta | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this since last 6 months. it is ok for acidity but I was taking 2-3 hour before meals this side effected and my all bones become weak and I am having pain in solder, hip and chest bones since last two month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/4/2015
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried other products. They did not work so I went back to Nexium. I think it is great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2015
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Nexium for 7 years + and recently started on the generic. I've noticed that I get stomach aches sometimes, not everyday but they hurt bad enough that I have to sit down or lay down until they subside (2 to 4 hours) as a mother of a 2 ye old it makes it a rough day but they don't happen too often (2 -4 times a month) other than that I haven't had any other side effects. I am considering changing back to the brand name though. The stomach aches are the pits!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2015
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken *Brand NEXIUM for over 15 years or since its release, anyway for a long time. I recently was switched to the generic (TEVA brand). I find it does not work as long, I have to take more often and most recently after taking it for 3 weeks my hair is falling out like I am having chemotherapy treatment. How can generic be as good as the brand and why are we forced to take generic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
6/30/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not as good as the purple pill

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mand | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2014
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

its good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/27/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great for GERD, however depletes magnesium levels dangerously low. I had heart palpitations, severe muscle cramping, nervousness, and shaking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/16/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ortim | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/21/2012
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More