Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

38 People found this comment helpful

I really liked this medicene when I was first put on it. But now Im dealing with severe bone deteration and my teeth are literally breaking off. It controls asthma very well but the side effects are not worth it. If you must take this have your Dr. put you on one of the osteoperosis drugs to keep your bones strong(if you have heart problems then at least take extra calcium) I was not told any of t...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I have severe asthma and have been being treated with Adwair 100 then 250 then 500 mcg. First of all it is a breath activated medicine. If you have no breath how are you supposed to get this medicine in your airway? It has been TOTALLY useless to me and my doctor switched Me to Dulera Aerasol and I am doing MUCH better. I just cannot reccomend this med!

Shared reviews and ratings

Billp222 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from Anoro due to prostate concerns. My breathing issues made a steady decline. I was worried it was my health . I switched to Trelegy and it immediately improved my breathing. Advair was terrible for my breathing issues

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CanadaCanuck | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/26/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Advair 500 for about ten years. It is so effective you would never know I had asthma. I do not use anything else for my asthma. I don't squeak or make other breathing noises. However, I have tried other similar drugs as a way to reduce cost and after a month or two I start squeaking. I have since returned to using Advair 500.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cassandra | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/14/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Advair has taken away my quality of life. I had no reason to doubt this drug because my doctor had prescribed it for me. The symptoms are awful. I feel tired all of the time, very dry mouth, depressed and my voice is hoarse. with respect Lea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My condition got worse using this. Also had head aches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Theresa | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2019
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention with COPD
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Advair is a horrible medicine. I went to Dr because I was suffering from very bad asthma attacks. I started the advair and within 5 days I felt like I was dying. I suffered a fever of 102 for 5 days. I suffered a very bad cough. I suffered from severe weakness. I took my self off and my throat my sinuses my health is so much better. While on it I needed a prednisone shot. It almost killed me. I feel sorry for anyone who has their children on this or elderly on it. We all need to let attorney general know about this medicine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jkblues | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2019
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Advair for a couple of months and I have a problem with the container that I am not sure that the medication works. The inhaler hole gets clogged and I have to use a pin to unplug it. Is this normal?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Retired CSM's wife | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/22/2018
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had asthma since childhood. I have numerous triggers, especially pollen, mold and other unavoidable irritants plus unbelievably bad GERD. I was miserable frequently and hospitalized on occasion. I terrified my husband and son once when on vacation awaking with symptoms so bad I coughed myself out of air and passed out. a few months later I was sent to an allergist. I could not complete breathing tests due to my symptoms. I has rescue inhalers everywhere. Kitchen, bedroom, desk at work, and in my handbag. I never went anywhere without at least one or two. The allergist prescribed Advair 250/50 and upon starting it I have not had ANY asthma symptoms. No wheezing, nothing. This stuff rocks! I can exercise, love on my dogs, do housework, even clean the Cockatoo cage without any wheezing. I even got a nasty case of pneumonia about 12 years ago and never had asthma issues. Spent a week in the hospital kicking the nasty strep pneumonia that tried to kill me but NO ASTHMA SYMPTOMS. I LOVE ADVAIR. It gave me my life back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sacaroidoisis | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2018
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a little stomach upset, but my coughing is almost gone. Thank you

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thebaldmonster | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/27/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug stops asthma. I have stopped using this medication each time my symptoms got better. I thought I could watch my triggers and move on with my life without asthmatic complications. The fact is I cant. I have asthma. Seasons, allergies, and specific triggers (sneezing believe it or not) get stronger and stronger. My rescue inhaler becomes less and less effective. When I sneeze my asthma attacks come on strong. It might not sound crazy but they are almost 911 worthy. There is no recovery. The only thing that can help me is a full albuterol nebulizer treatment. My proair only kicks in after 30 puffs. And even after that, I need to puff 2 - 4 times after coughing up mucus. Fact is...... GSK should be the hero to Asthmatics and make this medication affordable. There is no doubt that if they made this medication more affordable they could reach more people and sell more. Or..... they could just save lives. Without this drug, I would suffocate to death. I think there is a moral weight here that reigns above all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danee Deer | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/28/2017
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went from 500 to 250 to 100, but still caused thick mucus and regular hoarseness. Backed-off the 2 puffs daily to 2 puffs weekly and showed immediate improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wrich61 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well. Do no need my rescue inhaler unless I get a cold and it triggers an exacerbation. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ggnnww | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jadine | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/24/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had asthma my entire life and had gotten to the point i couldn't walk across a room because i was so short of breath. Advair saved my life. I now ride spin bikes, jog and can do anything I want without any problems. The cost out of pocket without insurance would be unimaginable is the only down side.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/14/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had asthma since childhood. I'm now 65. There were some horrible medications and a good one which was taken off the market. Advair relieves my symptoms righteously. I use it seasonally as my asthma is allergy related.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/26/2016
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stop taking this medication..i have had asthma my entire life. i have been able to get off of advair 500 by taking liquid mullen 2-3 times and day and tumeric with black pepper. forget about big pharm this is not making u better just simply putting a band aid on the problem. advair has more side effects then what is listed here. hope i can help somebody

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/5/2016
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was just switched over to this diskus. Eh...not impressed. Asthma is still not under control. Use of it is awkward, I will give it longer but not sure if this will be something for me on the long term. I prefer Qvar and Albuterol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
califladyesq | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug makes it harder for me to breath. It causes extremely dry mouth and throat, causing continuous clearing of the throat.. I have muscle cramps and thick mucus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NeverEndingFaith | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/19/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
emmacloudia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2016
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very satisfied with advair diskus inhaler, it is very effective for inflammation of lungs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
benj | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/5/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug made it hard to sallow food I switch to symbicort 160/4.5 half the cost on medicare tier 2 med. works better if you inhale several times first to expand you lungs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More