Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

Geodon works very well for me. I have been taking it for two years now for my bi polar disorder, I'm hypo manic and it manifests itself in shopping of all things. And the Geodon really works for me because it controls my spending thousands of dollars on things I absolutely do NOT need. It helps me sleep too.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I only had to take 1 dose of 60 MG at evening meal and in the middle of the night I awakened to go to the bathroom but not without knocking over a bookcase, falling into the corner of a wall (knot on my head and multiple bruised ribs, huge brusies on my back, bottom and legs). Crawled (somehow--don't remember) to bathroom and crawled back to bed--don't remember how. At 11am the next morning my ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Ziprasidone | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Vraylar which worked great for me but I lost my health insurance so I was prescribed ziprasidone as an alternative. I should just toss the pills out because I wouldn't recommend it or even sell them because that wouldn't be ethical. I was falling asleep at the wheel. I told my doctor I didn't feel safe so they told me to take half a dosage and I still was having trouble keeping my eyes open at work or behind the wheel. I'd be fully rested but I couldn't function on it. Everyone is different but in my experience you're way better off dying on your own terms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mia Baker | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/10/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2020
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far at 43 years I have been on 2 antipsychotic's. Latuda (lurasidone) and now Geodon (ziprasidone) They are chemically the same drug, it you laid the elements out they would mimic each other as twins almost. I am on 40mg of Ziprasidone in morning and evening. One week now and I can already tell that it might calm me down. However, as I am researching the medication I have also been looking at old charts of my bloodwork, and somewhere in the years of 2014-2018 (the entire time I took Latuda) My bloodwork was bad, numbers all elevated. I also have Lupus, and have to watch very carefully if any drug affect that too. I was diagnosed with heart condition called WPW, and I'm starting to think it might be from the this type of drug. Moods, great. Other conditions, not ovulating ever again (yes this happened) I will take it. Now I know if the bloodwork is elevated it's from the medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2020
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Added to my depression med to "increase my mood". I hallucinated. It started off so slight that I thought I was dreaming. It took me 3 months to realize it was ziprasidone. I had a GeneSight test. I start my new meds tomorrow. 4 meds down to 2- We'll see.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kellyboo1207 | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/22/2017
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my 4th time returning to geodon I am bi-polar type one with mixed episodes I switch and alterate between saphris and geodon it has alwaysed helped me and will continue to go back and forth when I build a tolerance I am taking 60 mg but I have been as high as 120 mg and it works just fine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kristen8885 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2016
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was hospitalized due to a severe panic attack and the emergency psych doctor prescribed this medication to me. Mind you I am only on Wellbutrin and Abilify for depression and anxiety. Not knowing what this was and trusting him I filled the script. I took one at night as directed when I returned home and within a half hour I dropped a full cup of coffee and almost fell down my steps outside. My fiancé literally carried me to bed and I don't remember much afterward. I brought this to my doctor who in turn said that I should have never been prescribed this and to stop taking it immediately. Long story short I did not like the way this made me feel incapable of caring for myself or my children so I will not be taking this anymore. Supposedly this is to be used in emergency situations in the hospital?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
qwertyuiop | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/1/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very sensitive to psychotropics, so take this review with a grain of salt. I started on 40mg, split in morning and evening. I got the shakes and got very tired in the afternoon but not in the evening. Moved to 40mg at night. Zombie action Dropped to 20mg at night. Seemed okay for a while. Psychosis was about 90% controlled. Over a few months I felt like I had no energy and I was losing muscle mass and feeling weak. Doc ordered a testosterone test, it was dangerously low. She order a prolactin and thyroid test. Thyroid was good, prolactin was three times the high normal range. Tapered off, both testosterone and prolactin levels were back to normal inside a month. I never got near the therapeutic dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathie | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/27/2016
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before taking Geodon I was out of control , I was manic and suicidal. I was hospitalized due to these symptoms and the doctors were talking about ECT treatments but I refused them all together. Since I have been on Geodon I haven't had a bad episode of Mania. I also take Latuda for the depression which has made all the difference. It has been a year now since I started the Geodon and I take 80 MG twice a day and have been under control. I recommend this drug to anyone who has Bipolor 1 if they can tolerate it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sadsoul | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2016
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went off of zyprexa and went on zeldox. I lost 20lbs everyone asked if I was working out. I still don't know how I'm supposed to be feeling. if you miss a dose you will not be able sleep. and you will sleep a lot -10-12hours. I went off zeldox cold turkey. my speech was better. my tongue was swollen and that went back to normal. I had hacking coughs choking on my own spit .the spit would go down the wrong way. I did not tell my doctor. I thought things were going fine. I told him that I wasn't taking my pills I am now on latuda. I have had it for about a month. im not sure how I am am to feelRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roxxanne | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/6/2016
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Quetiapine before this Medication and the difference is huge, I'm feeling more energetic and my depression has lifted. Instead of sleeping close to 15 hours most days I'm now happy with 8-9 hours sleep. My thinking is clearer and overall I feel in a better space.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
qwerty | 45-54 | Male | Patient
12/2/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For psychosis. 20 MG in the evening. I used to take 20 in the morning also but caused me to shake and become overly tired. Nighttime dose does not give me this side effect, oddly. No other noticeable side-effects. It did not cause any weight-gain, in fact it suppressed my appetite enough to help be lose 32 pounds in the past 3 months, I also changed my diet and exercised more so it wasn't just the drug that made me lose weight. The lighter side-effects and doesn't block weight gain makes it a much better drug than most anti-psychotics.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tara | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2015
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Bipolar I in 2005 when I had my first manic episode. I came off my medicine (lithium) in 2011 and just had my second manic episode (10/15/15). The attending physician put me on generic Geodon after I told him it was what the doctor's used to get me down in 2005. I had no idea you could use the drug as a maintenance drug. I hated getting my blood drawn while on lithium so I really like Geodon. I'm on 40 mg twice a day but my doctor already mentioned my dose will be increased. I do have restlessness and nausea in the morning but I'll take these side effects over the paranoid depression state I've been in for the last 3 years off medication. I'm really happy with the drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJvegas | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 60 mg for 3 weeks. I am suppose to take one in the am and one with dinner. The issue is the morning one makes me so sleepy I can;t function. If I take the dinner one to late, I can get up in the morning. Good news no manic episodes. Total loss of sex drive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Greybo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this med for alcoholism. After my latest trip to the ER then being admitted for 4 days and almost leaving this world, I finally woke up to how serious this really is. Zipra has helped to pretty much stop all cravings and even makes my stomach turn when I smell it. I took it twice a day for a week then weaned down to once a day for another week and now I am off of it. If my cravings come back, I will definitely go to my doctor for a new prescription if it. Two weeks may not be enough to get me strong enough to go solo yet. I highly recommend it to others battling alcoholism and are finally ready to make the jump to sobriety. Something before I could never achieve. My thoughts are clear and it feels so good. My mood is very good most of the time. I'm not Mary Poppins, but I'm not a grumpy bear like others times I've quit for even shorter amounts of time. Two weeks and two days today. Baby steps and this med really has helped me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication gave me gastritis. I took for the first few days and I had the worst stomach pains EVER!!!! This drug scrapes your stomach and destroys its lining. Ever after I stopped taking it, my stomach still hurts :(( This drug is HELLISH!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/24/2014
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine because I hear voices. It has worked very well, despite having a difficult time transitioning onto it. I have heard some voices, but they are minimal. However, we had to put me on such a high dosage that I was falling asleep in class. Even on a lower dosage, I had to take an hour to two-hour nap every day and could not stay awake for more than thirty minutes in the car. Then we switched to taking it all at night (another rough transition) but I was still low on energy, so we lowered it again. We are thinking of lowering the dosage once more, but it is incredibly scary gambling with mental illness, especially during the semester. I can only pray I will not hear voices again. This drug has the worst withdrawal out of every anti-psychotic I have taken. If I miss the time I'm supposed to take it by two hours, or even one, I begin to feel terrible. My pupils dilate significantly during withdrawals. If I miss taking it during a meal and take it on an empty stomach, it does not kick in for at least an hour. It keeps me awake when I have not taken it as well. Even talking about this medicine makes me feel terrible. I can only hope that I will eventually switch onto another medication without an episode.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/19/2014
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused lots of weight gain tremors tempture problems mouth sores and made me extremely tired

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chaser | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/12/2014
Condition: Agitation associated with Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great med-only issue is I have developed twitching of my facial muscles...I don'/t notice it others do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Graveyard Master | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/27/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seem to have lost my passion while on this medicine. I used to have a "perky" personality but now I have nothing and can't feel anything, happy, sad, mad, just nothing. My memory has gotten worse and my concentration is lacking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More