Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

I had a lot of problems with ortho tri-cyclin lo. The most troublesome being severe dizziness and constant nausea. These symptoms were so intense the first week of taking the pill, I thought I obtained a virus or disease. After three months of no birth control and not getting my period, my gynocoligest gave me a trial pack of brand name Loestrin. Loestrin was not only better than ortho tri-cyc...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

The first few months on this pill were fine then i hit my 4th or 5th month and i started bleeding in the second week of the pack and it was heavier than my normal period. THis is the second time i have been on this pill. the first time i never had any problems

Shared reviews and ratings

Volleyballgirl | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first BC. The first few months I woke up with the worst nausea and I CANT STOP EATING. I used to get full very fast but know I could eat anything without feeling full. I experienced spotting once and it was very confusing… I’m 15 and thinking about switching and trying a different brand. Any recommendations?? Also is it normal to miss a period…?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/17/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Microgestin FE a year ago. Since beginning the pill I have had increased depression and daily suicidal thoughts. Two weeks ago I switched to Junel and the suicidal thoughts have disappeared. Microgestin did prevent me from getting pregnant but it's not worth the depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liv | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this BC for a year. It definetly worked as birth control but I was bloated all the time. Sometime excess of 7lbs of water weight. I started wondering if I had just gained weight but nope. I switched to Junel Fe a month ago and i am no longer bloated and weight so far is back down. Also when I first started microgestion I had horrid head aches and was tired all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liv | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this BC for a year. It definetly worked as birth control but I was bloated all the time. Sometime excess of 7lbs of water weight. I started wondering if I had just gained weight but nope. I switched to Junel Fe a month ago and i am no longer bloated and weight so far is back down. Also when I first started microgestion I had horrid head aches and was tired all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nico | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/24/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been stacking Microgestin for about a year now. I switched from another type because I wanted something with a lower dose of estrogen. I have had no periods or spotting, very little cramping, and it has helped to stabilize my moods which are all over the place without birth control. I do have a bit extra puffiness and tiredness since taking birth control but the side effects seem to ease when stacking consistently. This is worth it to me since my periods cause intolerable pain and heavy bleeding that resulted in nil ferritin levels. Overall, everyoneâ??s body is different and there is no one pill that works for everyone, but this seems like the right one for me. I should note that I do not rely on this as a method of birth control.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/23/2018
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for irregular menstrual periods. This birth control has worked quite well for me. It's the first birth control I've had and I have been on it for a year and a half.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/20/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was pill #2 for me, I had been on Reclipsen for several years when the pharmacy decided to change my pill for no reason. I had severe depression and anxiety. I went to my OB/GYN and told her what was going on and she switched me to Microgestin. I took it for a year went for my check up and had gained 20 lbs. To which my doctor said it had to be my fault. I eat healthy, like my meat comes off my father in laws farm, I eat it maybe once every 3 or 4 months. I also don't drink soda, I have 100ozs of water a day and a small glass of tea with dinner. Yet somehow I was extremely bloated, my face was so greasy my glasses just slid off my face. Then there was the anxiety, only around my periods though. I don't normally have anxiety at all. Then in December 2017, the manufacturer changed from Activa to Mayor. I went from having some anxiety around my periods to daily, heavy, life altering panic attacks. I changed doctor's and they put my on Lo Loestrin 1/10, I lost all 20lbs and more that I had gained and they anxiety and panic attacks are almost gone although it took the better part of 2 months for me to feel better. I am not saying don't take this, I am just saying be aware of your body and mind before you do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/13/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced weight gain and severe headaches during menstrual periods while on this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Healthybody | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/12/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First year on this birthcontrol was great. Mild symptoms like spotting and bloating once in a while. And after a year it all went down hill. Constant migranes, weight gain, fatigue, zero sex drive. I had my blood pressure monitored, and it turbed out to be higher then normal. I desided to stop the pill, had some sort of withdrawal symptoms. 2 weeks later i was feeling great! No more blood pressure, fog, migranes or bloating. If birth control makes your body think its pregnan, maby its not normal to hormonaly immitate it for longer than 9 months. Afterall birthcontroll sideffects are the typical symptoms/complications of a pregnancy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natalielynn | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/8/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

0/10 stars. Literally still got pregnant on it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WEWILLWEWILLROCKYOU | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/15/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a love hate relationship with this birth control. I started using it once my boyfriend and I got more serious. The first two weeks were a little hard, my body trying to get use to the changes, I had some cramps. Then, not even a month after taking it, my acne started clearing up! I never had acne problems, besides the occasional stress related zit. My cramps while on my period got a lot worse. I never had bad cramps before, I never understood women complaining about cramps, until I got on this. Another thing I never use to have before taking this was yeast infections. But every month I got one, they're horribly annoying. I finally made the decision to change my birth control. I know everyone's body is different, this was just MY result when taking it for a year.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bmw2417 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from a Trinessa brith control, where my emotions were becoming too much for me to handle. While my emotions are slightly better, I am still so moody and will cry or get angry for no reason. I'm depressed and still feel everywhere. I'm still not feeling like myself and will be looking to switch again to another brith control. My periods have been regular, my only complaint is that while before I hardly got cramps, I now am getting some before my period. While they might be mild for some, it is painful for me to handle. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Any | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/10/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking the medication for about 2 years due to moderate to severe anemia. I am avoiding periods and have 3-4 periods a year with the pills. It works. However, my skin got unevenly darker (especially my neck), my face and ears are itching all the time. Sometimes I have cramps in my pelvic area. It is tolerable, but of course I wish I had less irritation with the pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
migrainecollegestudent | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/3/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Gildess continuous for my migraines for about 2 years worked great and then my pharmacy switched to Microgestin FE without telling me and I didn't notice. I started having really bad migraines and spotting. This has been happening for almost 5 months. I am taking it everynight at the same time and have not missed one. Spotting stops for a few weeks then its back again. Heachaches are so bad. I am going to the dr to switch me to something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kdh0205 | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/29/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for over 2 years and have been dealing with side effects for over a year now. I'm a very healthy concious person and work out four times a week. I've not been able to lose weight and feel bloated most of the time. I'm 25 and still experience acne (painful cystic acne around the time of my period). I have a low sex drive and have been feeling more moody lately (which is not normal for me). I also experience breast tenderness and painful cramps around my period time. This pill didn't bother me but if a birth control pill can help with these side effects why not switch to something better suited for me? After lots of research and talking to my doctor, I'm deciding to switch to something that contains a lower amount of estrogen. Many of the side effects I experienced are symptoms of high levels of estrogen. Please remember every pill effects every woman differently and it's important to give a new pill at least three cycles! If this pill didn't work for someone else that doesn't mean it won't work for you, every body is different :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hellapainyo | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/4/2016
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this to me because at the age of 17 I hadn't had my period since I was 14 and first started menstruating at 11. For two years it worked perfectly. My skin was less oily, my period was manageable, and it began to be like clockwork. It did make me more emotional though. Every fourth Monday at 10 am. Then, my general practitioner noticed my blood pressure being randomly high. A month later my pms was back and pretty bad and in subsequent months, it got worse and worse and my blood pressure was all over the place. I couldn't leave my bed because of the nausea. We later found out, after switching to a much lower estrogen combo pill, that my body was rejecting that higher amount of estrogen after having been on it so long. So watch out, your first year might be smooth sailing, but be very careful with this medication. I did like having 3 day periods, but towards the last bit, they were only 24 hours with the world's worst pms: nausea, migraines, cramps, super bad bloating, the list goes on. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pettiep | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The good thing about the pill is that you can take it continuously. After 4mths of taking this pill, I ended up with bad palpitations 6-10 days. The palpitations was bad that I had to go to urgent care. While at the MD's office the nurse telling me oh it's normal, I reply "yes I know but not in this case bcuz I know my body. They capture a PVC on an EKG rhythm strip and even did labs( there were great). MD told me to just watch for signs and symptoms (if worsen go to ED). I decide to stop talking the pill, on the first day (not taking pill) I had no palpitations. The next day I decided to take it (just to see) omg it was the worse mistake my heart felt like is was about to exploded. I flush them in the toilet, never had palpitations afterRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KRCB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/18/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on various forms of Loestrin for 20 years now. Have never had an unplanned pregnancy while taking it. Never really had any acne issues, or any uncontrolled weight gain. I do grow concerns of using it now for 20 years and at age 38 wonder if I should no longer be on the pill. Makes life simple to plan when your cycle is here and when it leaves, it's like clock work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/26/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taking microgestin for about 7 months now. I've seen a lot of bad reviews, but I've had no problems with it. In fact, I'm very happy with it and don't plan on changing any time soon. I've had no bad side effects. The only noticeable thing would be a lower sex drive, but that is manageable. My periods are lighter and only last about 3 days. I haven't gained any weight, and my skin is relatively clear. And the most important thing, I am not pregnant (knock on wood). So it's doing its job without any bad side effects. I definitely reccomend, but every body will react differently so be careful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked well for me in terms of preventing pregnancy. My biggest complaints are that I am frequently bloated, i've gained weight, I never get my period and it has not helped my acne at all. Other than these issues it has worked well and only affected my mood when I first started it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More