Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

I have been struggling with this disease for over 12 years and recently had a major flare up. My doctor prescribed me Pentasa and I took it for 1 week with no appreciable effects. He then added Entocort and within 3 days, my symptoms and problems were reduced by 90%!! This has been an excellent medication for me and has helped tremendously.

Shared reviews and ratings

mawwalsh | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2020
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am starting my 3rd week on Entocort for a 2 month tapering down. I am having moderate to severe mood swings. Depressed and crying, also a lot of gas. Diarrhea has stopped. Found Good RX at Costco is only $80 for a 2 x 3 month supply.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cyndenator | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2017
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had crohns for a few years but finally was diagnosed 5 months ago. I first was put on azathioprine and within three weeks ended up in hospital with pancreatitis... was on steriods which helped at first but then seemed to stop working and i continued the pain and diarrhea. I have narrowing in the terminal illeum. I have been taking entocort for three weeks now and I have finally been able to start back to work and my bowel movements are finally under control and actually formed instead of liquid. I have severe crohns.. 14 movements a day. I wasn't able to work or even think. My cognitive ability is not what it ws pre crohns but it ismuch better and I am not so depressed so I can meet with clients. My only side effects are headaches... occasional fatique in afternoon and insomnia. but.. the positives are much desired even with these side effects. My only concern is I don't think my doctor will allow me to be on it more than 6 months. by the way I take 3 pills a day and cost for month is 1463! so.. cost was a factor since my deductible is 5,750 ... but with one month of this medication and hospital visit ... I have fulfilled my deductible and it is only april.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Serg408 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this drug once in June and now again for a bad flare up. With explosives diahrrea. Some blood

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TheHappyCanuck | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease 34 years ago. I've had three bowel resections. Over the years, I've been on every drug available in Canada for Crohn's symptoms. I've another section of small bowel with Crohn's disease, approximately 6cm and we're currently treating with 9mg daily Entocort. Cost is CAD 136.67 for 60 capsules. Expensive, but I'm getting good results. Only side-effect is a bit of heartburn. I usually take oral prednisone but Entocort is gut-specific and it seems to be working well for now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lisabgood | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it 3 capsules in the morning for joint pain and small flare up. I only have mild to moderate Crohns. Have been on Pentasa for 6 years also (Pentasa works GREAT for me - except I had a once to twice flare so the Entecort) Wonderful. A couple of months later my OLD Gastro weaned me down to one - very wise indeed. All was good. My NEW Gastro put me back on the 3 caps for a yer now when I begged him that I was doing well and could he PLEASE wean me off. Nope. So, as of a couple of months ago, I have gained 40 pounds, moon face and hump back, edema, high blood pressure, got Thrush, AND today I found out I am now diabetic (My GP says all of this is due to being on Entecort too long). I should have LISTENED to myself and insisted. This will work wonders BUT DO NOT STAY ON IT TOO LONG. I am so angry. This medication, for me, was overkill. And that's what it is doing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BigB | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take this medication in the AM as it will give you insomnia if taken later in the PM. My experience has been good however it is driving my BP high and anxiety crazy. Other than these issues, it has worked for the Crohns. Taking 3x3mg a day/dose. Tried Pantasa at 2000mg a dose which almost knocked me out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CaroleT | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having diareah for 7 months and losing 56 lbs due to colitis, these meds have been my saviour but unfortunately I have most of the side effects... Like hair loss, easy bruising, oral thrush. Now the question is, can I live with the side effects if it means no severe cramping and diareah? Definitely merits another chat with my gastroentologist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Douglas G | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis only a week ago. Been having severe diarrhea for about 4 months, came out of nowhere. Finally had a colonoscopy done, revealing Lymphocytic Colits, and the doctor put me on a regimen of Entocort EC; I take 3 30mg capsules all at once in the AM. The plan is to keep me on it for 3 months. While my stools are still soft the diarrhea has all but vanished in just a matter of days. No more frequent trips to the bathrooms or aching abdomen or worrying about being social with this condition. No one is intended to stay on this drug long term, but the hope is in 3 months my gut will have balanced out as long as I make some dietary changes. For now no side effects, as least nothing noticeable. This drug is amazing. And costly. My jaw hit the floor when I picked it up from CVS...almost $1200!! Fortunately, my insurance covers it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tuck | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Meds are now causing constipation. Any suggesyo?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MF | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/10/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 54 year old female with Microscopic colitis and Celiac Disease. I do not ingest gluten at all. I have had loose stools and abdominal pain for several years. After just a couple of days the Entocort seemed to help with the pain and frequency of diarrhea. In a week I was exercising and going out. The loose stools have continued but I was much more confident about traveling and took up running. The dosage was 3 pills for 6 weeks then tapering to 2 for a week and 1 for a week. The day after tapering (week 6.1) I was in great pain so I am starting a new eight week course of Entocort today. Side affects included heart palpitations and jitters (shaky hands). Totally worth it for me but I did take an EKG yesterday for a good baseline. The cost of the meds are not an issue for me since my insurance covers 100% of all meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for two months and I feel fine but I never had extreme pain to begin with. My skin has had reactions to it and my stomach kept weight on when I never had issues before. Not the most ideal in my mind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kris | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently diagnosed with Autoimmune Hepatitis. I started taking Entocort (2 pills per day) a few months ago. My liver function test is better. BUT I have felt awful since I started this medicine. I am exhausted! I feel like I have the flu all of the time. I am growing facial hair. I have swelling and pain in my legs. I have not gsined weight but my face is getting round and plump! :( My dr just reduced me to 1 pill per day. I started on Imuran while I wean off of the Entocort. I am starting to regain some of my energy but everyday is a struggle. I hope my new medicine is better and helps me feel like myself again! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spunky | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/17/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug since the early 80's and love it. The Crohn's is flared again but unfortunately becasue of the cost$540.00 for 3 weeks I can;t afford it. Good luck to all who take this. It really is a wonderful nedication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jsgfree | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this drug since July. The most noticeable side effect is the loss of hair. Minoxidil, which I have used for years, isn't helping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very painful abdominal pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colitis Sufferer | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Entocort for lymphocytic colitis. 9mg a day very effective but caused severe headaches. I have reduced the dose to 6mg a day and have manageable colitis symptoms. The one downside to this medication is that it is very expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AA3890 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with microscopic colitis 1995, I took ASAcol; rowasa enemas, prednisone for periods of time over the years. Since I am a nurse, I will not take prednisone long term due to known side effects. A nurse practitioner suggested Entocort EC and I got relief within a week. A miracle drug!! Tried a taper and one capsule per day did not keep diarrhea under control. Recently did another trial of prednisone without Entocort and within the third week I called the physician office to say I wanted to go back on Entocort. Stopped the killer drug (prednisone) and with 3 3mg capsules all taken in the AM I had 6-7 weeks of normal bowel movements. Gradually diarrhea has crept up again, don't know why. Nurse practitioner doesn't want me to take this dose forever, but what can I do? Nothing else has worked this well for me. I would like to take this drug forever or until something else comes along. I don't like that even on the drug there are periods where there is an increase in bathroom trips. It has cut down the urgency and the occasional accidents. An aside: both of my children have GI problems....so heredity is a factor with this horrible condition. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great for me when nothing else does. Just way too expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More