Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I am still using the drug. The only problems are the itching it eventually causes while the skin is healing.

Shared reviews and ratings

John | 75 or over | Male | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spots on face, keep on doing it twice a day although it doesn’t seem to change anything.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Greg | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For those having issues or who may be worried about trying this drug cream, the main ingredient is diclofenac - same as Voltaren Emulgel. You can see how sensitive your skin is to a bit of voltaren, something I've used a lot in the past, so figured my skin would be fine. Solaraze is simply a higher % of the drug with a few factors added to try and keep it in the skin over being absorbed like Voltaren. Diclofenac is the first thing that has had any real effect on my AK, I have not, nor want to try the more aggressive AK drugs. It certainly dries out your skin, so expect flakiness etc. I am personally trying to limit my exposure to the drug internally, as it is a cox 2 inhibitor, with those potential downsides. I don't use it as a blanket cream, and instead spot it on my main AK lesions - takes some time, but this both lowers exposure and allows me to make the cream go much, much further. Just an idea for other people. The effect "seems" to be that it starves out the cancerous cells, although nobody knows the exact mechanism of action, and this takes exposure over time. No reason you can't drop to once a day or take a day off, it's just that the study was twice a day for 90 days. I have found a dramatic difference to my AK after just three weeks, and my arms and face are changing much more rapidly than my legs due to circulation at a guess. Anyway I will stick with this method till I get healing, and figure I will have to continue the longest on my legs. Some AK's react and will flare up and bleed, so skip that spot for a day or two and come back to it, but stay out of the sun and keep the exposure up and don't give the cancer any chance to start growing again. Be careful around lips and eyes, and drop the amount you use in sensitive areas. A little often is far better than a lot here and there. I'm not a doc or a derm so can't give professional advice, but did used to be a drug rep and Diclofenac was one of my products, so I'm pretty heavily trained in it. Awesome to come across it's use in AK. FYI normal Voltaren is approx 10mg/g, Voltaren Osteo 12 hour is over 20mg/g and Solaraze is 30mg/g diclofenac. So approx 1%, 2% and Solaraze at 3%. Voltaren is more readily absorbed than Solaraze, so you will have more in your system, but I've used Voltaren a lot in my sports in the past and have had no issue. Just a FYI for general information, what you choose to do is up to you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
redbackspider | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/1/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used it for 90 days so far and it seems to have worked. No side effects except my white hair has turned yellow blonde ... can't find any other similar comment so could be nothing to do with Solaraze ...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience using the cream made me anxious. Bad thoughts dreams. I stopped using before the recommended time as my mental health is more important. Anxiety disappeared after one day and returned to normal as soon as I stopped the medication Solarize.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mumbles | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2020
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not sure if it will work yet. I am only into day three of using it but do not think I can continue. I have only placed the cream on one half of my nose , part of my cheek and another patch near my ear. Half of my face is swollen and stinging. My face is constantly oozing yellow gunk. My eye doesn't even open properly. Maybe I am having a reaction to it. I don't know. If it doesn't settle by tomorrow I may have to go to the doctor. There is no way I can use this for three months, between work and motherhood.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sidug | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/27/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has cleared all rough patches of keratosis on full face after one month. I have done the 90 day treatment previously with equal success. Clear skin until sun damage reappears after a couple of months. Need to check with doctor how often I can retreat with this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Whole face had an alergic reaction. Nose and face was swollen with scabs and very itchy. Ended up in emergency

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mondrian | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/16/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 62 male bald with actinic kerotosis on bald head. The kerotosis has caused me trouble for more than ten years. Not deep lesions but surface roughness. The worst time was when I exercised and the front of my head would get red and be sensitive. The back of my head also had rough skin. Annoying and I picked it so often I had bleeding scabs. I had a dye, light sensitive treatment that flaked areas of this off on the back of my head and gave some relief to the front. Five years ago I tried solaraze for 30 days. It was a bloody (literally) mess and i stopped. Since then I ignored the clinical advice to use this in one hit and started applying the gel every few days. It has worked a treat now for more than three years. My process. I shower and thouh I do not use soap or shampoo on my head, the areas are rough when dry. Then I apply a thin film of solaraze and leave it to dry. The next day I resist the desire to pick at the now dry areas and at most rub my scalp with my hand. A few days (say 3) I apply again. This works well for me. The gel clears the rough patches. I am not sure about others but using this stuff twice a day for 90 days is not how it works best. Now, with most of my areas clear, I apply the gel when I feel the rough skin on my head (just to that area, which is often half my scalp. So I am using it probably once a week. And it has worked for me. And keep your head out of the sun at least for two days after using. This stuff really reacts to sunlight and creates sore spots.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maureen | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2017
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for the full 90 days as prescribed by my dermatologist on my face.100% success.Needed to take PIRITON tablets about half way through the treatment due to severe irritation.This sorted the problem.Looked awful for a few weeks but was worth it.Have just started to use SOLARAZE gel on my arms,chest and legs.Not looking forward to the next 90 days but if it works as well as it did on my face the benefits outweigh the drawbacks of irritation and unsightly sores.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnMc | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/16/2016
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this gel twice a day as prescribed for approx 60 days. For the first month I did not notice any improvement, the small area on my forehead kept scabbing up and scab was being pulled off when I washed or bathed. However I persevered and another month later the area appears to have healed completely. I will continue applying the gel for another few weeks just to make sure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/5/2016
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor advised me to use Solaraze for two - three months for sun spots on my temple's. After two months I had to stop use, red blistering rash appearing on my face, crazy itchy with increased redness and swollen rash. I was not advised about any complications, just told the active ingredient only activates on contact with solar keratosis. H'mm I do not believe the advise. Be careful and make appointments as you endure the treatment so your doctor can check every two weeks or so. Unsightly in the least but will have to wait to see if the product has removed my sun spots on the sides of my face.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
andp | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2014
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with actinic keratosis on bald scalp.1st.Dr.prescribed solaraze.Used it for 2 weeks,rash and dry skin area increased.Went back,2nd.Dr.said it showed it was working.1 week later developed blister on lip and lowered eyelid has ballooned up,eye almost shut and skin on scalp covered with dry crusty scabs.3rd.Dr.said stop using it and has prescribed a moisturising cream-thought I had reacted to something in it.Either be very careful with this or stay well clear of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2014
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2013
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using on both forearms I developed nickel size sores that lasted several weeks after application. The sores killed the pigment in my skin and now there are white blotches on both forearms. No prior warning from the dermatology clinic. Never again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/30/2013
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absurdly over-priced and completely ineffective .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2013
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this gel for 4 weeks now and have developed rough red patches and sores on my upper lip and nose area. It's itchy and stings. I will discontinue using in this area and hopefully it will heal and not scar. The other area on side of face and above eyebrows healed well by just flaking off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2012
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three weeks in I developed an intense itching rash swelling and pustules - could not open my eyes blood and puss on my pillow - had to go to emergency care and take steroids and antihistimnes - also needed an antibiotic for a developing infection...be carefull if you have sensitive skin - I was not warned by the physician

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I applied solarze for 6 weeks and started breaking out with large pimples and skin irritation. It also greatly increased the volume of my tinnitus which now will never go down. BAD STUFF

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
david h | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Itching, zits, pimples, this is the worst medication I have ever used

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using product for 40 days. The only problem that I have experienced is an INTENSE itching from overly dry skin. The solution so far: slather on Aquaphor cream after Solaraze dries. Keeping the skin moist with Aquaphor has greatly diminished the itching, without Aquaphor it has been a true misery. DO NOT USE any lotion that contains alcohol; you will feel like you stuck your head in an fire-ant bed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More