Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I suffer from menstrual migraines and this medication has brought much relief.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

BE CAREFULL. My nephew who is 11 had/has migranes from a fall he took in August 2009. He was given Frova for the migraine. When he took the pill on the onset of pain, in no time he became loopy but he snapped out of it with in a few hours. Later that night, on the on set of another pain, we gave him a second pill. The loopyness with the chance of harming himself/others came back but lasted for day...

Shared reviews and ratings

Migrainehead | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/31/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used Frova for several years with great success...it takes longer to "kick in" but also relieves migraine pain for 24 hours. Rarely do I need to take a 2nd one. The sooner you take it the better the result. It is super expensive and I have issues getting insurance to cover it as a first choice. Usually have to prove that I've tried others and they don't work. It's really frustrating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
texasm | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/27/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The one that works for me quickly and I take it just as I recognize a migraine coming on. I have used this drug for many years. Rarely have had to take a second one. Side effects are not noticeable or minimally so. It is expensive, but worth the relief and the ability to carry on with normal days and no migraine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KF | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/25/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been the last straw for me among many that I have tried. I very rarely have to take a 2nd dose in a 24hr period. As with other posts it is expensive, my insurance co does cover it but I have to pay $60 for 12 pills and I go through them like they are M&M's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/14/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find if I take Frova when I start to feel my migraine coming on that it works for me sooner but I find if I don't then Frova takes a lot longer to ease my migraines. So far Frova helps me the best however I wish it didn't cost so much to use!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wildjflippin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/6/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

didn't do a thing for my migraines, only thing that works at all is Imitrex...I might as well have taken a sugar pill than the Frova...very disappointing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisarb | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this med for migraines brought on by allergies. almost always works within 30 mins. No side effects. Its a miracle for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathythombs | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/13/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Frova is a lifesaver indeed, but is quite expensive. I'm bummed to see that many folks here are unable to afford it, or try it, because it is so effective. I've tried everything available, and this is my migraine med go-to, that I've been using for the past 10 years, or so. So much better than relying on Fiorinal, Torradol, etc. Frova works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is WAY too expensive I can't afford it works well used others and it's not covered by my insurance so I can't afford $536 for 12 pills so I have to suffer without it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/21/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Frova is the best medication I have taken for my chronic migraines; however it is $50 per pill. I can't afford it, I hope a generic comes out soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
des | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/2/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time taking this medication, it relieved a migraine that I had had for five days. It is quite expensive but I couldn't live without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/20/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Frova is an excellent medication for migraines, however the COST IS OUTRAGEOUS! There are other drugs that have generics and work just as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
standingstone | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Frova is fantastic, nothing short of a miracle drug for me! I've had migraines for most of my adult life and in most cases they have ruled the day with extremes in pain and vomiting for days once they arrive. Frova is taken at first onset and the reality of 'if I catch it in time' bites the dust! Yeah me! Yeah Frova! Migraines usually sneak up on me early early morning so I couldn't take a medication til now that could even touch an active migraine. I was down for the count for days. With Frova, if I can take it right away, the migraine never develops. If on the other hand I miss the boat (If I'm out of Frova or misread the cues) and the migraine begins, eyesight, vomiting etc. I take a Frova and within two to four hours all symptoms of the migraine are completely gone! Amazing! If it's a stubborn one a repeated dose is called for but that is very rare for me. Also, I stumbled upon a coupon for my Frova RX which has helped enormously with my cost. Even so, before coupon, I counted Frova meds in my budget monthly because it saved my life, literally and I carry it with me constantly. Simply an amazing medication with zero side effects except pain free relief!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
StephyJay | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/3/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to have to go to emerg for an iv bag and pain reliever when I got migraines. I tried a few different drugs with my family doctor before finding this one. It really works for me, it's very effective in relieving my migraine. For me, it must be taken during onset otherwise it is not as effective. It has prevented my hospital visits, I just keep one or two in my wallet at all times just in case. It may be expensive ($17/pill in ontario) but its worth the money as they aren't meant to be taken regularly. It has really changed my life. Side effects for me are minimal, I experience a sort of dizziness sometimes which worsens when I take the 2nd dose. (which i usually don't have to). I also can't really think straight/find it hard to focus while on this drug. At times, I still felt the effects of the migraine such as sensitivity to light and not feeling quite right but there was no pain so I was able to function. I rate it 10/10. I hope this is helpful to migraine sufferers.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fawnde | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/12/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from migraines since I was 30, I'm now 43. At 36 years of age my new doctor, at the time, prescribed me Frova. This was a life changing drug for me. I have not been to the ER, even once, since then. I take Frova within hours of having a migraine and within 30 minutes to two hours its gone. I was so extremely sick with migraines prior to this medication. I will feel sick to my stomach and hot for about the first 2 hours, however it's worth it, 2 hours of feeling ill compared to 24 hours of not being able to function is worth. I would recommend this drug to everybody! I feel for people who have not tried this drug. I could have saved myself many hospital visits and my insurance company thousands of dollars if I would have known about this drug 6 years earlier. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was too expensive (4 pills for $50) and did not provide any migraine relief. I busted my budget and deprived my children of a couple of decent meals purchasing this drug. It definitely was not worth the sacrifice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shellbug40 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had stroke when I was 8 and am 40 now have tried all the know rx over the years &was ethier elergic to them or had major side effects,tried frova for the first time today around noon and worked within 30min, no side effects so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/2/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for 15 years. This is the only Rx that has helped, at times I have needed the second dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robyn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/31/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I call this my miracle drug! It is so small but yet so effective. I have suffered migrains for over 15 years and this is the only medicine that works. I never have to take the second dosage, and it usually kicks in withing 30 minutes. Only side affect which I will graciously take is that if I take it too late then I am just worn out after its gone - but no pain! So definitly take it on the onset of the migraine - don't be cheap with the pill - it is expensive but it works so it's worth it to me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/17/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug has been most helpful in making migraines bearable, I can usually take the medication at the onset of the migraine and have it take effect. It does make me feel a little sleepy and I do have to urinate more, but I am not required to be in total darkness in bed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pczemerys | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/26/2011
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More