Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I use Vicodin HP 7.5-750 to treat all the nerve pain I have due to two liver transplants. Yes, not one but two!! This drug is the only pain medication that kills my pain and I mean kills it. I've been subsribed Vicodin since my first liver transplant in June 2004. They aboslutely kill the pain in my stomach, spine and pelvic areas. After all this time; plus three hernia surguries after the tra...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

sometimes it help with the pain other times have to deal with the pain

Shared reviews and ratings

CalifBeachGal | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/24/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I'm in a fibromyalgia flare up this is the only medication that really helps me out of the pain outside of ice packs on my back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
damon34 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/7/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug is very effective 4 my scoliosis but they refuse 2 prescribe me any, I wanna know what do I have 2 say 4 them 2 give me a script?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vandale | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/27/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometimes it help with the pain other times have to deal with the pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aglass | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/25/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this medication for 5 plus yrs off and on due to stenosis and a car accident. Already have had 2 back surgeries and am contimplating a fusion. along w/ the vicodin I also take curimin supplements which I have found relieves all my inflamation in my lower back to the point that I have been able to decrease the amount of vicodin that I take. My suggestion for anyone with alot of inflamation to go to a reputable health food store and take curimin it truly does work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pyper1 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/1/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed severe back pain after a car accident which aggravated an old injury to my back. I have been on vicodin now for about 6 mos. and have found pain relief to be sufficeint although there are those times when the pain stills expresses itself after taking the medication. I do not abuse my medication and often wait until I feel the first tendrills of pain before taking the vicodin. I believe that using the medication in this way has kept it effective for the long period that I have been taking it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
greatzoron | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/1/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Vicodin now for 10 years. Was in a car accident and my knee was crushed. The ONLY way I can work is to have some pain relief as I am in pain 24/7/365. That is reality. We are addicts but it is so we can function and work. I don't abuse any of the meds I take. Have severe high blood pressure, which goes through the roof when I'm in pain. And I work in health care and see the best Dr's. Hopefully I can last 10 more years and retire but I have to work. Vicodin HP has been a god send for me. Take it TID with Tramadol. Don't be afraid to take pain meds. thats what they were invented for, people!!!!! Plus my mood is so much better because I'm not focusing on the pain. I can function and concentrate on the task at hand. Please get the addict word out of your head. If you need to function, hold a job, be somewhat pain free (for chronic pain) this is a very good drug. Oh and I guess I'm addicted to Blood pressure meds. as I have to take them also. ;) Have also tried MS Contin timed release which was the best pain med ever but constipated me so bad I had to stop. OK story over.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe lower back pain and this medication helps me function throughout my day or helps me get to sllep at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lpolak | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have DDD,sponylosis,arthritis and scoliosis. I am also 7 months post op from a spinal fusion L2-S1. I have stenosis at L5-S1 that is causing nerve root impingement. thsi strength of Vicodin has allowed me to return to work-at least part-time. I have noticed that I am starting to build up a tolerance...hope this stops soon as I am on the max. doseage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/23/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed that someone else had sweats w/this drug. I do too. Also, I get heart palpitations for a time. They subsided after a while. Should I stop taking this drug because of the heart palps? I just had a complete heart checkup w/catherization. My heart is fine. Thanks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/15/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried some different pain meds to manage my chronic back pain, and Vicodin HP seems to be the most effective for me. It doesn't cause me any nausea or drowsiness, and it decreases my pain level enough so that I can actually work. It also allows me to continue running (which I really enjoy) and work out at the gym. The med also helps me sleep through the night as it prevents me from waking up in severe pain every two hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | Patient
4/30/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug stops working afrter using over q period of time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dlew | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/1/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Vicodin HP 7.5-750 to treat all the nerve pain I have due to two liver transplants. Yes, not one but two!! This drug is the only pain medication that kills my pain and I mean kills it. I've been subsribed Vicodin since my first liver transplant in June 2004. They aboslutely kill the pain in my stomach, spine and pelvic areas. After all this time; plus three hernia surguries after the transplants vicodin still very effective medication. it's the best I've found except for the injections and my labs continue to be perfect! But ask if I could quit taking them, honestly I don't know. They are very addictive!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAD SURGERY AND WAS IN EXTREME PAIN I TOOK MY RECOMENDED DOSAGE AND FOUND THAT IT WAS MUCH EASIER AND LESS PAINFUL TO CARRY OUT WHAT MINESCULE TASKS I WAS ABLE TO INMY CONDITION. OVERALL I AM COMPLETELY SATISFIED WITH MY EXPERIENCE WITH THIS DRUG.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jl | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/8/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was started on 5/500 and after a year or so was switched to 10/325 which worked right away and gave no side affects, was nearly pain free with 2 to 3 a day, my doc has now switched me to fentanl patch and vic 5s, which does not work and has made me sick. i have a bulged disc and bone spur and base of my skull, also some scoliosis, also what started it all was , 2 bulged disc at L4-L5 , area with stenosis, which is causing severe lower back and leg pain and problems, also because of that i now have plantarfleciitis in both feet and tarsel tunnel in my left ankle , and last year ruptured my right calf muscle due to the severe tightness in my legs due to my back problem. the vic 10s have helped greatly for me to keep working, if my doc doesnt stop screwin with my med i will need to go on disability Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spanky0101 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/13/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

use as needed did not use unless there was pain it helped alot

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dave | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/9/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have 2 thoracic herniated discs. Since they are herniated towards the front, surgery is not an option. They went untreated without healing themselves for 3-5 years so it has damaged my spinal cord. When I complained to my Dr. about the pain, he treated me as if I was "drug-seeking". Years later an MRI revealed the damage. About 8 months ago I was given Vicodin 500 which was useless for a 225 lb man. My Dr. switched me to Vicodin HP and it has helped a lot. One thing I will say is it went through steps. For the first 3 months it took the pain away and I felt a "buzz" which I didn't like. The 3rd - 6th months it took the pain away without any side effects. Now It doesn't seem to help nearly as much but I fear increasing to anything else because I don't want to build to much of a tolerance at 35 yrs of age. I have faith that my discs will heal themselves, but if they don't I fear living life without medication to mask the pain. When I have a good day now and I don't take the Vicodin, I feel my pain intensify greatly. This is a good drug but you can build an immunity to it quickly which can lead to stronger things without willpower. I reccomend not taking anything unless you absolutely need it. I had severe pain before, nut not everyday. Now that I've been treated, rarely does a day go by that I don't experience severe pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MICHAEL C. | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/13/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I INITIALY STARTED WITH VICODIN 7.5/750mg. 5 TIMES A DAY FROM A HERNIATED DISC, THAT I HAD SUFFERED FROM AN INJURY AT WORK. I THEN DEVELOPED SPONDYLOSIS OF THE LOWER LUMBAR SPINE, (3 VERTABRAES)RESULTING IN 4 HERNIATED DISCS. AT WHICH THEN I WAS SWITCHED TO VICODIN H.P. 20mg. 3 TIMES A DAY FOR THE PAST 10 YEARS. JUST OVER A YEAR AGO I WAS INVOLVED IN A SEVERE MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENT, THAT RESULTED IN MANY BROKEN BONES,INCLUDING 2 FRACTURED NECK VERTABRAE'S,CRUSHED EYE SOCKETS,AND MULTIPLE ROAD RASH SKIN REMOVAL. I ENDED UP WITH A TOTAL OF SEVEN SURGERIES, INCLUDING FACIAL RECONSTRUCTION,COLLAR BONE TITANIUM PLATE INSTALLATION, AND RECOVERY FROM 4 BROKEN RIBS. ALONG WITH CHRONIC PAIN MANAGEMENT THAT INVOLVES TAKING MS CONTIN.(EXTENDED RELEASE MORPHINE SULFATE)100mg. 2 TIMES A DAY. THE VICODIN H.P. PROVIDES ME WITH WONDERFUL BREAK THROUGH PAIN MANAGEMENT.AS I HAD SAID, I TAKE 20mg. OF VICODIN H.P. EVERY 4-6 HOURS AS NEEDED. ALTHOUGH THE MEDICINE DOES PROVIDE EXCELLENT PAIN REDUCTION FOR BREAK THROUGH PAIN, IT DOES NOT GIVE ME THE "DRUGGED UP" DIZZENESS THAT OTHER BREAK THROUGH PAIN MEDICATIONS CAUSED.I.E;ROXICODONE OR PERCOCET. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE VICODIN H.P. FOR EITHER BREAK THROUGH PAIN MANAGEMENT, OR COMPLETE PAIN RELIEF MANAGEMENT ON IT'S OWN, TO ANYONE WHO IS SEEKING PAIN RELIEF, WITHOUT THE "DRUGGED UP"FEELING THAT OTHER MEDICINE'S MAY CAUSE.IT IS SIMPLEY A WONDERFUL PAIN RELIEVING MEDICATION.............Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/30/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been using vicodin for disc pain for about 6 years and i am now on vicodin HP and it has done wonders for my back! I can move without all the pain and pick my little girl up again pain free! Thank god!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
terry4 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/5/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The one thing I don't like about this drug is the drug tolerence seems to build fairly fast. And the guilt I feel to need it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reddocdan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication has brought my pain from a 5 on a 5 scale to a manageable 2 on a 5 scale. I have two ruptured disks L4,L5 and this helps me tolerate my day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More