Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I have used this drug for about 5-6 years. Very expensive but works wonderfully. I suffer a lot since everyone has a wood burning stove or fireplace so I use all year around. $75 copay. Pharmacist just recommended Zaditor which cost me about $11.00. Use to be perscription, now OTC. Works well but not as well as Patanol. Am using Patanol only when eyes are really, really bad. Also take OTC Claritin...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

My Doctor recommended Patanol because he said that my eyes looked red. It is too expensive. My co-pay was $50.00 This medicine caused blurred vision and also my upper eyelids were puffy. I had much whether have slightly red eyes than have blurred vision and puffy lids. I did not like Patanol and thought it was a waste of money!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2020
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It sucks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raj | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2019
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Let me tell you the secret how it works, I am sure it will work for you as well if you follow it. I am in terrible category of seasonal pollen allergies and this medicine came as miracle where I don't suffer with itchy and watery eyes any more. The secret is that it takes about 1 week to completely take effect and I starts it on first symptom of allergy which is usually near last week of march here in east coast. hope you all feel better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No longer happy with Patanol | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/3/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been using these eyes drops for the last 5 years. They seemed to work well. Then I had Lasik surgery. I started having issues with my vision and feeling like something was in my eye. I have read other reviews and it seems some users have trouble getting a good night's sleep if they use this twice a day. I now know why I have sleepless nights. Now, the price is over $1000 for a 90 day supply or $246 for a 20 day supply. Robbery by the drug company who makes this. Yes, I have a high deductibile but that price is abhorrent!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike S | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/17/2016
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They now have a generic solution rather than the brand name Patanol. I know it was very expensive at one time but it was the only thing that would stop the random allergic reactions I would have due to sporadic environmental events (wind or sand storms, tree pollen etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shelly | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2016
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

cant sleep, so have cut back to once a day in the am

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandyg | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2015
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using patanol for the last 3 months works really well only drawback is the price even with ins I have to pay 120.00 copay really for a little 0.01 oz bottle come on novaritus give us consumers a little break! great product TERRIBLE PRICE but in the long run worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2014
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

did not help much with my pollen allergy, my eyes are still very itchy and swollen

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JMS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/3/2014
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been using for a long time with total relief of all symptoms and without any side effects until recently. I had been taking year round for various allergies then with insurance change and expense, I stopped it during off peak season. Just restarted and now I am having trouble sleeping so I'm cutting back to 1time a day to try to take some but still be able to sleep. I just found this listed as a less common SE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JLM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/2/2014
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband, son, and I all suffer from allergies. We have been using Patanol for years. It's the only thing that really works well for us for burning and itching from allergies. My insurance plan no longer covers Patanol and told me to 'just use an OTC'. We've tried virtually every OTC drop for allergies and none can compare to Patanol. We've taken to ordering it online because it's so much less expensive than the cash price at the pharmacy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bgbgrigg37 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/16/2014
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2013
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from red, scratchy and/or watery eyes. I used only one drop, per eye, per day, rather than 2, due to the cost. I probably would have had better relief if I'd used the drops as prescribed, but I wanted to stretch out my $133 (after insurance) for as long as possible. I'm searching for something OTC because I'm not getting a refill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2013
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best eye drops for allergic conjunctivitis. Others I tried just don't work like this one. Worth the extra cost.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/24/2013
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great relief but my co-pay doubled recently so I intend to use it as little as possible and see if I can find some other medication to help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/23/2012
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used the medication during allergy season for many years. It works great. I tried OTC first and had no relief. The only reason that I did not give it 5 stars for overall is because of the expense. I have excellent insurance and my copay was $50.00 but it has been worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lovie65 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/26/2011
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

allegies

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
taralynn | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2011
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

suffer from allergies and once i put the eye drops in it was like a instant relief with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JKep | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/5/2011
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works everytime I need it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginas | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/19/2010
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this drug for about 5-6 years. Very expensive but works wonderfully. I suffer a lot since everyone has a wood burning stove or fireplace so I use all year around. $75 copay. Pharmacist just recommended Zaditor which cost me about $11.00. Use to be perscription, now OTC. Works well but not as well as Patanol. Am using Patanol only when eyes are really, really bad. Also take OTC Claritin and I get by.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrWestie | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/20/2010
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My normally bad, allergies have been greatly reduced this spring, especially when most people have said it is the worst they have seen it. Only drawback is the price, even with insurance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More